High 500 BG won't come down even with insulin, No Appetite, Need Help!

Naomi and Pumpkin

Member Since 2018
Hello
My cat Pumpkin was diagnosed with diabetes when he was 8 years old. He's now 15, and his Insulin became uneffective which we didn't realize until it was too late, and he had to be hospitalized for 3 days with over 600 on his glucose.
He is on a Raw low carb food diet with snacks of cooked chicken and raw hamburger.
We've since found the FDMB and have begun doing Glucose tests. For the past 5 days, we've had him on 2 U, and the previous 3 days he was on 1.5 U. Pumpkin has always had very high BG, and we didn't know that regulating him was an option until we found here.
At the Vet he had a full check up with all vital signs good, no ketones and even his potassium was good! The only thing the blood test showed, was very high BG and that he was anemic.
Since we got him home he has been stable, and eating very well with his BG between 260 and 370 although, just yesterday he refused to eat and we tested him. He was 425 so we gave him the 2 U anyway and let him be, +5 he was 370 then +9 he was 490 still with no food. We gave his Lantus insulin early at +10, 2.5 U. +2 he was 401, we were able to get him to eat half a teaspoon of food, +4 450.
We read the forums here and thought it might be a bounce, so we decided to wait until the morning and reduce his dose to 1.25 U. At 9 AM, His AMPS was 471 +2 497 and now at +3 he is showing over 500, he has only eaten a little this morning,we are unsure as to what we should do next.
Any help would be very much appreciated, as we're very concerned about him. Do we need to take him to the vet again?

P.S.
He has been home only 8 days andis on Clavamox since he returned from the vet.

P.P.S.
He also just got a new bottle of Lantus Insulin on 11/19/18.
 
Last edited:
Which raw food diet are you feeding? How much did he eat this morning? Do you have any food alternatives around you can use o tempt him to eat? Is he sniffing his food and walking away or licking his lips? Those are signs of nausea.

Any chance you could put together a spreadsheet of his test data? We are very data driven here and the spreadsheet helps us help you. The link to making a spreadsheet is in the New to the Group Sticky Note.

Lastly, are you testing his urine for ketones?
 
Back
Top