boobookins
New Member
Hi There FDMB!
I have been reading this board for about 1 week now. My kitty Titus (He is 10 and 14.4 lbs) I noticed the last 2 weeks he has been acting strange, drinking a ton therefore urinating a ton and eating things he never would have normally ate (Titus is one of those rare kitties who hates human food usually). We took him to the vet (because I knew these were signs of diabetes) and Titus is the type of kitty who usually has to be sedated for any procedure (but we fasted him before the test for 12 hours but left water out) but he was a bit tired that morning and even though he was a fur-ball of fury they were able to get the blood test done without sedation (this was a first haha) I call back the next morning and they said everything in his blood-work looks fine (they did a blood panel) except his BG was at 511, so I have myself a sugar-kitty. We made an appointment to learn how to administer insulin (they let us try on a boarder cat the vet, but we injected water into him not insulin haha) and I also went and bought ReliOn BG monitor/test strips and lancets.
Now my boyfriend and I watched about 500 youtube videos on how to home test, because Titus is a fiesty one (don't get me wrong he is the biggest sweetheart in the world, he even does kitty kisses where he tilts your chin with his paw and licks your lips...it's the sweetest thing in the world, but he refuses to give up if he doesnt like something or want it to happen...and i cant help but love that about him too) I adopted him when he was 2.5 from an old friend, how she ever gave him up is beyond me, he's been my heart for 8 years now.
So now the current situation...
The past few days we have tried doing home testing and were unsuccessful at getting any blood, until yesterday (we learned we have to use the lancet alone, not the device as it doesn't prick enough to draw blood...so we prick his paw because he hates having his ears touched) and he was at 306. Our vet prescribed us Humulin N (I have read on these boards it's fast acting and sometimes it may be better to start with a lower dose etc) Maybe our vet isn't as good as I thought or maybe I'm reading into it wrong, but they want to start him off 4 units 2x a day, that seems high right? Last night when we finally got our first at home test done we only gave him 2 units because it was his first time on the insulin and I wanted to see how he would react (this is before I knew it was fasting-acting...I stayed up all night reading about the NPH vs Others)
Titus wasn't happy after the insulin shot but he didn't act weird, he wouldn't let us retest him, he went under the bed and hid there and we would throw (5 treats total) at him and watch him eat them to make sure he was okay...and we stayed up for an hour afterwards and kept checking on him and he seemed fine...upset with us but fine...)
Then this morning at about 5 a.m. (we gave the insulin @ 11 p.m.) he threw up a lot for him, now it can be the change of diet, we are trying to do an all wet food (Wellness pouches) and a little dry food (Evo) and it could be him adjusting to that as well.
I am just scared for him, because he isn't acting like his happy self....and it breaks my heart to see him miserable....
is NPH 4 units 2x a day safe? I want to switch over to Lantus because of all the good things I've read about it....but I don't even know how to bring that up to my vet, I feel like it's not my job to tell them what medicine my cat needs but I really truly feel deep down inside Lantus will be the most ideal for him....but maybe I am wrong?
Any advice you can give would mean the world.
I am going to start a spreadsheet for him today and try and take a curve test eventually...but Titus is making it hard to let us even touch him right now, he's being very lazy but very distant....
I refuse to give him any insulin unless I know his numbers prior and then I'd love to check his numbers afterwards as well, but how long after do we check and then when again?
Any help would be amazing. Thank you!
Titus (we also call him boobookins or tightass on his naughty days LOL) & Rachel(that's just plain 'ole me)
I have been reading this board for about 1 week now. My kitty Titus (He is 10 and 14.4 lbs) I noticed the last 2 weeks he has been acting strange, drinking a ton therefore urinating a ton and eating things he never would have normally ate (Titus is one of those rare kitties who hates human food usually). We took him to the vet (because I knew these were signs of diabetes) and Titus is the type of kitty who usually has to be sedated for any procedure (but we fasted him before the test for 12 hours but left water out) but he was a bit tired that morning and even though he was a fur-ball of fury they were able to get the blood test done without sedation (this was a first haha) I call back the next morning and they said everything in his blood-work looks fine (they did a blood panel) except his BG was at 511, so I have myself a sugar-kitty. We made an appointment to learn how to administer insulin (they let us try on a boarder cat the vet, but we injected water into him not insulin haha) and I also went and bought ReliOn BG monitor/test strips and lancets.
Now my boyfriend and I watched about 500 youtube videos on how to home test, because Titus is a fiesty one (don't get me wrong he is the biggest sweetheart in the world, he even does kitty kisses where he tilts your chin with his paw and licks your lips...it's the sweetest thing in the world, but he refuses to give up if he doesnt like something or want it to happen...and i cant help but love that about him too) I adopted him when he was 2.5 from an old friend, how she ever gave him up is beyond me, he's been my heart for 8 years now.
So now the current situation...
The past few days we have tried doing home testing and were unsuccessful at getting any blood, until yesterday (we learned we have to use the lancet alone, not the device as it doesn't prick enough to draw blood...so we prick his paw because he hates having his ears touched) and he was at 306. Our vet prescribed us Humulin N (I have read on these boards it's fast acting and sometimes it may be better to start with a lower dose etc) Maybe our vet isn't as good as I thought or maybe I'm reading into it wrong, but they want to start him off 4 units 2x a day, that seems high right? Last night when we finally got our first at home test done we only gave him 2 units because it was his first time on the insulin and I wanted to see how he would react (this is before I knew it was fasting-acting...I stayed up all night reading about the NPH vs Others)
Titus wasn't happy after the insulin shot but he didn't act weird, he wouldn't let us retest him, he went under the bed and hid there and we would throw (5 treats total) at him and watch him eat them to make sure he was okay...and we stayed up for an hour afterwards and kept checking on him and he seemed fine...upset with us but fine...)
Then this morning at about 5 a.m. (we gave the insulin @ 11 p.m.) he threw up a lot for him, now it can be the change of diet, we are trying to do an all wet food (Wellness pouches) and a little dry food (Evo) and it could be him adjusting to that as well.
I am just scared for him, because he isn't acting like his happy self....and it breaks my heart to see him miserable....
is NPH 4 units 2x a day safe? I want to switch over to Lantus because of all the good things I've read about it....but I don't even know how to bring that up to my vet, I feel like it's not my job to tell them what medicine my cat needs but I really truly feel deep down inside Lantus will be the most ideal for him....but maybe I am wrong?
Any advice you can give would mean the world.
I am going to start a spreadsheet for him today and try and take a curve test eventually...but Titus is making it hard to let us even touch him right now, he's being very lazy but very distant....
I refuse to give him any insulin unless I know his numbers prior and then I'd love to check his numbers afterwards as well, but how long after do we check and then when again?
Any help would be amazing. Thank you!
Titus (we also call him boobookins or tightass on his naughty days LOL) & Rachel(that's just plain 'ole me)