Moula
Member Since 2017
My cat Moula was diagnosed with diabeties in Feb. He is 8 years old. He also has FLUD, he gets struvite crystals if he is not on his prescription food. With his diabeties and being on the CD Hills Urinary Care food (wet) it is high in carbs. His BG was not going down it started at 600 (24) and with being on the food with high carbs was not controlling his diabeties well. We have tried in the past to change his food and he always formed crystals. Vet figured it was in his best interest to keep him on RX food. He is currently on 3 units of Lantic morning and evening (2 x a day). I told my vet this food was not working so she did research and found that prescription food (purina diabetic food) was a good choice as it is more than 1/2 of the carbs as CD and it is OS which he needs for the type of crystals he gets. We have transitioned his food in 2 weeks he will be on the purina food only. Did his BG on Wensday and it was 15.1 did another one today 6 hours after his morning shot and he was at 6.7, this is a huge drop. I was concerned and called the vet, I thought for sure she would have said lower the dose she says to keep it the same, well I think that he will go hypo if I do this as his BG dropped so much in 3 days. Any advise, I know the Purina food is not the greatest, however he is doing well with it and he hasn't had crystals yet. Any advise or anyone else have this same issue?? I am very worried that he will go tooo low if the dose stays the same 
