Hi there, I am new here. My cat Moula was diagnosed with diabeties in Feb.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moula

Member Since 2017
My cat Moula was diagnosed with diabeties in Feb. He is 8 years old. He also has FLUD, he gets struvite crystals if he is not on his prescription food. With his diabeties and being on the CD Hills Urinary Care food (wet) it is high in carbs. His BG was not going down it started at 600 (24) and with being on the food with high carbs was not controlling his diabeties well. We have tried in the past to change his food and he always formed crystals. Vet figured it was in his best interest to keep him on RX food. He is currently on 3 units of Lantic morning and evening (2 x a day). I told my vet this food was not working so she did research and found that prescription food (purina diabetic food) was a good choice as it is more than 1/2 of the carbs as CD and it is OS which he needs for the type of crystals he gets. We have transitioned his food in 2 weeks he will be on the purina food only. Did his BG on Wensday and it was 15.1 did another one today 6 hours after his morning shot and he was at 6.7, this is a huge drop. I was concerned and called the vet, I thought for sure she would have said lower the dose she says to keep it the same, well I think that he will go hypo if I do this as his BG dropped so much in 3 days. Any advise, I know the Purina food is not the greatest, however he is doing well with it and he hasn't had crystals yet. Any advise or anyone else have this same issue?? I am very worried that he will go tooo low if the dose stays the same :(
 
Changes in food can have a big impact on BG. It's so good that you're testing at home and can see that change happening!

Is there any way you could setup a spreadsheet and input your data and dosing so far? That would really help people to get a clear picture of the numbers you're seeing. Here is a link to information about setting up the spreadsheet that we all use. You need a google account, and then the color coding all happens automatically. Make sure you do the one for international numbers.

Spreadsheet

Vets try really hard, but they typically only have general knowledge of feline diabetes. It's good that you're questioning what you've been told there, and are able to take charge of Moula's care. There are some very wise people with Lantus around here who I'm sure can help you find a good, safe dose!

When is he due for the next dose?
 
Thank you! I will look at the spread sheet, I am from Canada, I don't use an alpha trak I am using Contour Next Glucose meter. How often do I take his BG to do the spreadsheet? His next dose is at 6:00 AM.
 
Thank you! I will look at the spread sheet, I am from Canada, I don't use an alpha trak I am using Contour Next Glucose meter. How often do I take his BG to do the spreadsheet? His next dose is at 6:00 AM.
Definitely right before his shot and then most ppl will say every 2 hours on. Some ppl do every hour at the low mark. Usually 4-6 hours after the shot. I'm new here. And this was all completely overwhelming just a week ago. The spreadsheet gave me an anxiety attack. Well, now it's easy. Really easy. I was just being a loon :) Good luck.
 
Most of us here use human meters, so no problem there. The link for the spreadsheet will give you four option. One of them is an international spreadsheet for human meters. Make sure you click on that one. It will also "translate" the numbers into US numbers so those of us in the states don't panic when you say your cat is at 6.7 (that would be nearly dead in US numbers). :nailbiting:

You can input any numbers and doses you have so far into the spreadsheet. Going forward, we recommend testing just before every shot. Typically we say to test/feed/shoot. So first you do the test, then you feed the cat, then after the cat has had a bit of food, you give the injection. In that order.

In addition, if you can, it's very helpful to get some mid-cycle tests such as the +6 that you mentioned in your original post.

As far as dosing, if you go to the Lantus forum and post there with your most recent tests, they should be able to give you some guidance. I use a different insulin, but I'm guessing you're right that a reduction in dose would be a good idea. Here's the link:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

That forum is busy, and it's easy for your post to quickly get lost in the traffic, so make your subject line clear....something like: New and need dosing advice.
 
Thank you so much for the information this is very helpful. I will definately do this. I will be calling my vet again on Monday (we communicate every Monday) and I will let her know of the numbers we get for tommorrow also. I will also be doing this spreadsheet, this seems like a very good tool. :)
 
Pia is looking very good, Ginny!

Moula, home testing is definitely our best tool in the FD kitty tool belt! Since diagnosis, what have been his doses? Like Djamila said, Vets try but aren't well-educated on feline diabetes. Members here live and breathe FD 24/7 so have much more real experience :). Because of Vets limited knowledge, they tend to increase in whole units, thus resulting in the possibility of missing his ideal dose. The two mandatory tests are AMPS and PMPS to make sure kitty is safe to get insulin, any extras during mid cycle are very helpful as well. The every 2 hours Ginny is talking about is for glucose curves, you don't have to do these daily :)
 
Definitely right before his shot and then most ppl will say every 2 hours on. Some ppl do every hour at the low mark. Usually 4-6 hours after the shot. I'm new here. And this was all completely overwhelming just a week ago. The spreadsheet gave me an anxiety attack. Well, now it's easy. Really easy. I was just being a loon :) Good luck.
So great to read this, Ginnie!! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top