Hi! Newbee here...

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
I introduced myself and my boy Lucian, on the 'relaxed Lantus' board, but it is very quiet there.
I am planning to try to do a curve on him this weekend and I'm hoping someone might be able to help me with dosing. He's on 1 unit bid now. Was on 3 bid when I brought him home from the vet hospital, but because I changed his diet to low carb and because the vet had upped him every other day,( he was very stressed, at 700 on the 5th day at the hospital), I felt it better to drop it down some and give it a chance to work, adjust to the diet and relax at home for a week. Then do the curve and see what I needed to do.
So if any of you might have a chance this weekend to go over his SS and maybe give me some advice, I'd really appreciate, even though he isn't on TR. I thank you very much.

=Debbie and Lucian and my other 2 fur babies.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

You are welcome to post here even if you are using the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) approach. There are several people here who use that method of dosing but post here since it is a busy board and there is usually someone around if you need a hand or some support.

Right now, it looks to me like Lucian is bouncing. He sees a yellow number, his body panics and his pancreas and liver release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones and his numbers spike to red. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. With SLGS, you will want to evaluate Lucian's dose after a week.
 
Thank you.
I was going by all I've read and expect to do his curve Saturday. That will be a week on this dose. I'll also have syringes by then and not have to deal with injecting with a pen that only has full unit dosing, in case he needs something in between.

Thanks again.
 
Welcome to LantusLand, the greatest place you never wanted to be. It is the best place to get advice on dealing with a sugar kitty, that's for sure! :-D It's a challenge to learn how to test and shoot. You're doing a great job! Any chance of posting a picture of Lucian?
Liz, Zener's other mom (I sign my posts and Anne doesn't)
 
Hi Debbie and welcome to LL. You are in the right place. Everyone here will help you.

Welcome again.
 
Nice to see that you came across! Are you planning to post every day like a lot of us do(or at least often?) that way we can see how it's going on a daily basis..
 
My avatar is my Lucian, he's a pretty boy, but a little rough right now. He's lost weight and somewhat dull, instead of his normal silver. I did see him wash his face tonight after dinner though.
I'm not real sure how to do the post like the rest of you, but will figure it out - I'm doing good to get it on the SS.
I'm sorry, I'm exhausted, he wakes me every 4 hrs, like having a newborn and I've been really stressed since I brought him home. He just woke me up to eat.
Going back to bed, thanks everyone.
 
I get up every three hours some nights so I know what you mean... and thats just to test! He looks like a lovely cat - cant wait to see how he looks when all shiny!

Heres how to post

- every day (or so) you start a new post on the forum

- subject line is structured like this - date cat name AMPS # future tests #s . So for example 1/15 Lucian AMPS 321 .Then when you do a future test you update it i.e. 1/15 Lucian AMPS 321 + 4 290.
You can add various icons to it like ? for a question. the candles and rainbow are for cats that have passed and 911 is for a life threatening urgent emergency. Green smiley is for a cat in green numbers that day.

- in the body of the post you give us a quick update on how he is doing esp around the 5Ps and ask any questions i.e. Lucian drank more water than usual last night but he came to bed and purred with me. Looking at his SS do you think I should increase the dose tomorrow?

- add a link to the previous days post too

Have a look at a few other peoples to see how they do it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top