Hi! I'm new. :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meowluv

Member Since 2013
Hello everyone! I am a newbie here and am very thankful for your site. My 10 year old cat Ferdinand was diagnosed with diabetes in March. I have read lots and lots of posts and information on this site that has really helped us in this journey. We are making the switch to wet cat food and thanks to that great list of wet cat food nutritional info I know which ones have the lowest carbs! The switch is going very well.:)

Ferdi is on ProZinc 4 units am and 5 units pm. Really hoping to be able to get this dosage down as hopefully his numbers will go down after the food switch.

Looking forward to posting more and making new friends. :)
 
Welcome. You are the right track with the low-card canned food.
Have you considered testing his blood glucose level yourself? Most of us here do.
The dose of 4 AM/5PM seems high for newly diagnosed. How was it arrived at?
 
Hello there! Welcome to the board.. What's your name?

It's great you made the switch to wet low carb and he is on a great insulin too.

Are you home testing yet?

Wendy
 
It is wonderful that the food change is going well; it is difficult for many people. But changing the food and not testing on a regular basis can be dangerous. When Oliver switched from dry to wet, he went down 100 points overnight. If we had given the usual dose the next morning, he would have hypoed.

4/5 units is a lot of insulin for a fairly new diabetic. Most people here are dosing under 2 units. We suggest starting with one unit. Was there a reason the vet started so high or has this been a gradual increase?

Can we help you learn how to test at home?
 
Yes I do test at home. I test Ferdinand multiple times throughout the day. His bg levels were in the upper 500 -600 range and the vet started him on 2 units but gradually increased when the levels just weren't going down. The vet refused to even allow me to administer insulin without home testing. She has been a wonderful, helpful partner in all of this.

Now that we are making the switch to canned food I am hopeful that his levels will start to go down and we can decrease the dose. Vet isn't happy we are giving this much either.

Oh and my name is Melody.:)
 
Good job on the SS although its not the normal format we are used to seeing. Are you posting on the PZI board now for dosing advice?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top