Hi I'm new

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nadine

Member Since 2014
My baby Boo Boo was diagnosed yesterday. I had noticed increased thirst and urination and wanting to eat all the time. He started pottying on the floor next to the litter box. Boo Boo has lost about 2lbs. He was a big boy at about 19 lbs. We started on Lantus last night. His blood work showed his glucose to be at 478. Dr. Rxd 1 unit twice day. I gave Boo Boo his first shot last night at 6:00pm. I should have tested throughout the evening but did not... Bad me. I got up this morning and tested...his readings at 6am were 310 prior to feeding. Fed a can of FF classic and then injected with 1 unit. A half hour later he was not wanting to move. His head was tilted sideways and when he tried to walk he stumbled. I was freaked out so I pulled out the Kayro syrup and rubbed it in his mouth. He's been lethargic all day. Post +2 was 203, +4 152, +6 110. He certainly doesn't system to be feeling better at all and I feel awful. Will do another check shortly. I want my Boo Boo back. Any one know what may be happening? To much insulin?
 
Back up to 301....I've been using my sisters Accu-Chek monitor. Going to go out a buy a new one. It just seems that the readings are inaccurate.
 
hi Nadine,

I'm fairly new too, but it sounds like he did have a mild hypo, it might be an idea to call the vet and take him in, and also see if they can do a reading with their glucometer and immediately do one with yours to test it?

If you have a look at my cat Angel's spreadsheet, you can see his numbers have been all over the place too. Angel had his first hypo today (and hopefully last), low no's mild symptoms, he is at the emergency vets (better safe than sorry) and doing well.

Hope Boo Boo is doing well,
x
 
With a human glucometer, we consider anything below 50 mg/dL possible hypo.something else may be going on. Get to the vet in case it is diabetic ketoacidosis or hepatic lipidosis causing the lethargy. Both are potentially fatal complications of uncontrolled diabetes and can be expensive to treat.
 
Hi Nadine and extra sweet kitty Boo Boo and welcome to the message board!

Now you know why we recommend that you test before every shot, just to make sure the BG (blood glucose) levels are high enough to give the insulin. We don't recommend shooting if the BG is <200 at the beginning of this journey. As you gain experience, and learn how your cat reacts to the insulin, you lower that shoot/no shoot threshold number.

The numbers were not in hypo territory. Panicking is understood, and giving the syrup probably contributed to the symptoms you were seeing. I know when my BG is a bit high, I'm very sleepy and lethargic myself.

For safety, you might want to print out this info on Dealing with a Hypo, symptoms are listed too.

Did the vet recommend checking his urine at home for ketones? That's another great way you can monitor your cat's health and help keep him safe. Just look for urine ketone test strips at the pharmacy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top