? Hi, I need some help with dosing.

SidneysMom

Member Since 2019
I don't post in here very much because I'm fairly new at this and a little intimidated. We are just getting used to home testing, and I've had an uncooperative cat trying to get nadir cycles. It's going a little better and I've got a few.
If someone can look at my spreadsheet, I'd appreciate it. Sidney had a urinary infection back around Christmas. He completed antibiotics and it's been an utter hell trying to get him in to get retested with my husband's work schedule and mine, a snow storm, and our vet is a bit far away. We decided we are going to get a container from the vet and then I'm going to have to cab it out to the vet and drop it off for them to retest.
Anyway, back to the issue, the vet had me not dose 1u of Lantus under fifteen during Sid's infection. When he completed the antibiotics after the holidays, I started the SLGS method and pulled him back to .50, with the intention to move him up if needed. I moved him up eventually, but he is all over the place at 0.75. I think I'm not giving a consistent dose of this. It's really hard to measure. I started today to move the bottom of the black stopper JUST above the 5u mark.
I'm going to get another midpoint test tonight (days are impossible for me to test other than twice a week when we're off), but do you guys think he's ready to move up to 1u?? Or do I need more data? I'll feel better once I get the urine tested again and I know for sure his infection is gone, because I'm not sure if he's all over the place due to inaccurate measuring, the fact it's not enough, or if he has a lingering infection. Yes, I am testing for ketones, btw. I *know* I don't have a lot of mid cycle data, but we are working on it. I wake up at 3:00 to test now.
Thanks for any input. I'm just worried.
 
Hi Jen , glad you are here:) If you will add a question mark icon to the beginning of your thread title it will draw more attention more quickly. Your Sydney is a cutie !
 
click on THREAD TOOLS to the right and the EDIT TITLE and add the "?" from the drop down menu so folks know you are still waiting on an answer.
 
Hi there,

I don't think the SS looks like it is all over the place. The BGs for the last week range from 224-394. For exact dosing problem, some folks here use calipers to measure doses in mm equivalents. When I tried to give 0.75, I had to buy magnifying glass and adjust the skinny ( right under ) 1 unit dose line.
I am not sure if you should move the dose or not...since dosing is based on the lowest number a dose takes a pet and not the AM/PS preshot numbers. Usually under SLGS, you hold a dose for a week and then perform a BG curve to see where that dose takes them. Would it be possible to get a +4 before bed some night?
It looks like on the 18th, you skipped the AM dose and then gave a half unit dose in the evening before returning to the 0.75 the next day. Changes in the dose can cause some disturbances in your numbers since it affects the depot.
It does look like the 1 unit was giving you some nice blue numbers midday - just like the 0.75 did on 12/27 and 12/28, but then you skipped the PM dose. Since going up might give you lower numbers than you are used to , do you know how you will handle lower numbers? Do you have a number now that you feel comfortable shooting a full dose on?
 
Last edited:
I’m not sure how I will handle low numbers to be honest. I don’t feel like I am there yet. It’s one reason i have been hesitant because I’m scared since I can’t test during the day. But I am at the point where I will do whatever he needs.
 
Hiyas Jen! Please don't be intimidated. Everyone is here to help. Even the "critiques", by the experienced folks, are intended to benefit Sidney's Lantus experience, not embarrass or criticize. I look forward to getting the advice from all members, as will you. My boys would not have been successfully managed w/o the help of the FDMB L&L forum. Post as often as you can and ask questions. Knowledge is power!:smuggrin:
I can't wait to see Sidney's progress!
Have a great evening:)
 
I’m not sure how I will handle low numbers to be honest. I don’t feel like I am there yet. It’s one reason i have been hesitant because I’m scared since I can’t test during the day. But I am at the point where I will do whatever he needs.


I don't mean low numbers ( like 40-90)...just lower numbers like the ones you had made dosing adjustments for in the past. I think maybe if you aren't comfortable shooting a full dose on numbers from 180-250 right now then raising the dose doesn't seem like it would be the best thing at this time. 1 unit is more likely to give you lower preshot numbers than the 0.75 dose currently- and we don't know how low that dose is currently taking Sidney overnight. I held 1 unit for a loooong time when I first started because and wasn't testing enough overnight to see what it was really doing. Then, I increased it and had to go right back down a dose...and then down again.
You will get there- it's a process.
 
Hi Jen, sorry to hear you got hit with the snow storm too.

I think you could use a bit more data. You have two options. The first is to get a curve this weekend if possible. The second it to get a few +3 or +4 at night before you go to bed. That'll give us a better idea what is happening mid cycle. How is his pee output? I rather suspect he needs that increase, but would like to make sure first.

it's likely Sidney is "all over the place" (most common comment made by new members ;)), is 1) he's new and learning how to work Lantus, 2) his dose is too low.
 
Hi Jen! Looks like you work outside the house? If you could get a few more test in during the PM cycle around + 4 or so , it could help shed some light on whether a dose increase is needed or if he could be going lower and bouncing up the next test.

Keep posting and asking questions. That is how we all learned. And read other peeps post which will help you learn too. If you don’t understand something , ask , we are here to help each other.
 
Back
Top