Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home testing!

Status
Not open for further replies.

KolbiesMom40

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone!

I am just about to start home testing on my baby boy Kolbie. I came here back in January and you gave me a shopping list. My VET discouraged me from doing home testing so I never did it. But things have changed and I will be starting on Tuesday with the help of a fellow member form here. I am very scared, lost, confused, overwhelmed and very doubtful. I am full of worry that I will fail my Kolbie. He is my little guy that I love ore than anything in this world. But he has caught on to every trick I have used to give him his insulin so he has become feisty and I am now sticking myself. : /

Little background: Kolbie was diagnosed in January. We have had a lot of changes in the past 2 months that had added stress on him which I know is not good for him at all. My step dad died in a blizzard in February so my mothers 2 dogs now live here as well. Kolbie already lost his inseparable brother a year ago to cardiomyopathy and that was a major stressor. Both my cats are rescues. The dogs are also rescues but Kolbie has been the king of the household and the only one for over a year. Even when is brother was alive it was just the two of them and Kolbie was still the king. Having the 2 dogs here now has really been a huge adjustment. He still has not adjusted to it. The one place that is Kolbies place only is my room. He goes in there for the quiet and to get away from everyone. I go in there with him to give him lovings and to let him know he is still the king. : ) We have a nightly ritual as well where I now go upstairs early and will either read, watch TV, write or be on my IPad just so he can lay with me and relax like we did before the dogs. I am hoping this helps him. I know the stress will elevate his sugar.

So back to starting the home testing: I have the supplies...just not the things like rice and the other things. Oh and I need to get neosporin??? Is my kitty going to bleed a lot???? Is this going to really hurt him???

He had 2 curves done at the VET and he was so stressed out that they were most likely not accurate. He has never ever been away from the house before other than the VET. So he knows as soon as his carrier comes out days before that it is coming. He has had to have surgeries due to cancerous MAST cell Tumors. He was at the VET for constipation and had to be treated all day in order for him to be able to produce stool. He then was on medicine for that.

So I don't want this done at the VET and also I know from hearing from Venita and people like you that the only way to know how much insulin to give him is to test him on a regular basis. I have no idea what his sugar is right now. I'm hoping the readings will be lower.

I am wondering when you all first started...how hard was this? How long did it take you to get a hang of this? If you had a cat that was like mine who is not going to cooperate...do you have any tricks? This seems so hard to do...sometimes I have to practically sit on him ...really over him to give him his shot. : (

Any help or thoughts are so appreciated! I do not know what my old user name was to be able to log in with it!

Thank you so very much!

KolbiesMom
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

I just got locked out of my name from trying to sign in too many times. So I had to create another name with a new email just to get back here. UGH! So this is my new name on here but I am not going to do over the entire post. It would be nice to connect with some people on here.

Thanks!
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Hi Kolbie's mom and welcome. We have been home testing since the end of August 2012. There is a learning curve but it's a short one. I would recommend the larger size lancets to start, say a 26 or 28 gauge. Kolbie's ears won't bleed as readily as they will after a while of testing. Make sure his ear is warm. The rice sock works well for that. We modified it a bit by cutting the toe from an athletic sock and sewing it into a tube about the size of your pinky finger, filled it with rice and then sewed the final end shut. It fits his ear nicely. Once you begin to draw blood fairly quickly with one stick you can move up to thinner lancets. We use a 31 gauge now. Always give Kobie a treat after each test, whether it's successful or not.

You'll do fine and again welcome.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Hi Kolbie's Mom,

Do you have a place like a bathroom window that you could test Kolbie in? I always test my cats after I open the inner window, and put a towel on the windowsill, and the storm window is closed, so they are safe. I am able to keep them more confined that way, but if you don't, just try to do the testing in a spot that Kolbie won't get scared and jump around while you are trying to test his blood.

It gets really easy after a few days or weeks, and I always use a small sock with regular rice in it, and just tie the leg of the sock shut. You really don't need to put much, if anything on his ear after you test it. I used to use hydrogen peroxide, but then found out that was not good to use, as it made the skin get thin, and the fur would change color.

Also, it is good to keep a small notebook with you and write down what the time is and the blood glucose numbers. Plus I would write down how much insulin I would be giving in the same book.

Hope all works out well for you and Kolbie. I am sorry about your stepfather dying.

Jean and Charcoal (GA)
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Hi Kolbie's Mom and of course you too extra sweet Kolbie.

Well of me it was a little different as my two present sugarkitties were adopted after they were already diabetic so not only did they have to get use to the new routine they had to learn to love and trust me. Luckily I have plenty of civies (non-diabetics) around here to practice on (12 to be exact). Yes there is a learning curve but it doesn't take long to get the hang of it, and it really doesn't hurt them at all. The biggest help is a really yummy I'll do anything you ask for it treat that is reserved from just test time. With my Maxwell that was a good brushing, for Autumn it was either bits of raw chicken or tuna.

Also in the beginning using the 3 strikes and you're out rule...or 3 pokes, blood or no blood and hand over the treat, give some lovings and let it go for awhile. If you look at my Autumn's spreadsheet in my signature for every number you see there, she was poked in the ear to be tested. Not only does she now tolerate testing she will actually come looking for me if I'm running late on a test or if she thinks I need to see where she is at. I think she just likes to show off when she is having nice low numbers and wants to be rewarded from them with her treats. :lol:

Unless you hit the vein Kolbie isn't going to bleed a lot in fact it isn't going to be more than a bead about the size of a large pencil lead. In fact one of the best ways to figure it all out is to try out the meter and lancing device on your own finger. That way you will know exactly how big of a bead of blood that you are going to need for your meter. And also see how very little it hurts and your finger tips have a lot more feeling in them that Kolbie has in his ears.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Welcome, Kolbie's Mom.
So sorry for your step-dad's passing and the additional stress of having the new dogs. Sounds like you already know how to give Kolbie's the extra attention he needs and like the others have said you won't be hurting him with the testing. At most, my cat sometimes seems mildly annoyed for about 5 seconds. The testing seemed really scary to me at first as well but it's amazing how quickly both you and your cat will fall into an easy routine.

You have access to some amazing knowledge and experience on this support, not to mention the incredible caring and generosity of the members. Hang in there and let them help you. I bet Kolbie already knows that you're trying to help him.

Take care!
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Hello :)

I'm new to the board but I have been home testing since kitty was diagnosed in November. I just wanted to let you know that the first is the worst and once you've done it a few times you get over the 'I'm hurting my baby' bit and it's all OK. I cried buckets the first day I did a curve on him (testing every 2 hours) as it was so frustrating and I was so clumsy over it. Now he jumps onto the stool in the kitchen and lets me squeeze his ear no problem. I am very lucky though- he is a very chilled out kitty. (However he will bite if he has had enough of stroking - but he lets me test OK, so you might be surprised!)

Best of luck - stick at it and it will get easier.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test


Thank you so much everyone. I am a little confused on something a couple people said. You mentioned the word
"learning curve"? I don't remember asking about that but I may have worded it as if I was asking about that.

We are not doing a full day curve with him Tuesday... She is going to show me how to test him and use the meter too. She said she wants to see how I use the needle for his insulin too? I think to make sure I am doing it right and that is perfectly ok with me.. I don't want to be hurting him. I know at times I have... And since he is ready to bolt on me it makes it so much harder. I hope he does settle down one of these days.

He has had 2 all day curves at the VET already... I hate giving him insulin blindly like this...because his sugar was still high the last time he went...that VET on that day just increased it by 2 units a day.

Anyway, I know I am going to have a lot of quests before I start tomorrow. I am so anxious about all of this. And I will pass it on once I have a handle of it... I especially want to thank a newbie helping a newbie...( sorry it won't let me see your name right now). WTG on passing it on... : ) Big thanks to you!

Ali and Kolbie Maximus
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

The "learning curve" is YOU learning to test the BG. After you do it more times it get easier. It has nothing to do with BG curves except when do a BG curve it gives you experience BG testing.
Just come back with any more questions
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Thank you for explaining what learning curve meant. And Deb I am so glad you responded as well. Now I know this seems like a real stupid question so please bare with me...but what do you mean when you say BG?

Deb, I am so nervous. I did rub Kolbies ears last night and he did like it at first but then it was soothing to him so I was happy about that.

I have gotten some difference advice on the rice sock? Do I just put dry rice into a sock and twist the end? I have no way of sewing it. Will that be efficient? And then I heat that in the microwave? For how long.....?

Do you all use neosporin pain reliever ointment? That is what my trainer buddy has told me to get. And if so...do you know the cost? My financial situation is really poor at this time.

Thank you again! I appreciate all that have answered and even those that have just taken the time to read it.

I am so sure I will have many more question! Thank you in advance for answering the ones I have put here!

Oh! BTW, does anyone know how to get your old name back after you have been locked out for trying to get in too many times? It kept saying it did not recognize my email address yet I could not use it to register because it was already in use? It was in use by me... : /
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

It's normal to be nervous. It wasn't long ago (maybe a month) that I sat at my computer just sobbing and writing a post similar to yours. But it got easy very quickly and you are so lucky to have a local expert (who from what I've read on this board appears extremely kind AND patient!! *Hi Deb*) coming to help you.

Also, I haven't found it to be too much of a problem to warm my cat's ears just by rubbing or even breathing on them (yeah, that feels funny and looks pretty funny!) b/c we don't have a microwave. Once when it was a particularly chilly morning, I used a wet warm towel wrapped in plastic. It's true what they say about the ears "learning to bleed". You'll do awesome!!! Good luck.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Deb and KJ and Alfred: Thank you for saying all you said. I think I am ready for tomorrow as far as things... But I am a wreck since I do not know how my baby will react to all this. He can be a feisty little guy... And I just don't want to hurt him. : (
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Hello there!

Here are some home testing tips and videos. You wont hurt him, if you test it on your finger you will see how much it hurts you. then divide that by 10 because cats ears have less nerve endings than your finger! And if you had a diabetic child you wouldnt think twice even about that amount of pain. If he objects at all ist just because he has had enough of the attention to his ears. Just remember the low carb treats! I would give him one every time you stroke his ears, even when not poking!

Remind me, what kind of food are you feeding? You are in great hands with deb & wink.

Wendy
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

My home test helper is here now. We are getting ready to do my Kolbie! I have been a wreck all day! Will post tomorrow! Thank you everyone!
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

I am so exhausted from my first time testing. I feel terrible! My poor Kolbie! The second time she wanted me to do it again I poked him twice and did not get enough blood. I stopped after that. I could not keep poking him while he was growling and crying when I kept messing up. I poked myself instead of him...or maybe both of us at the same time. Except I was bleeding and not him. Poor little guy. After over 2 hours of going over the testing and doing it I am so exhausted. And I found out I am not doing as good as I thought with other things so I feel like a really bad mommy. : ( PLEASE tell me that this gets better?
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Kolbie is on fancy feast to answer your question. He also eats some friskies.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Deep breaths.. It does get easier! Kolbie is just picking up on your stress so relax and cuddle him and give him low carb treats to calm both of you down!

Many newbies have issues at first but you do get over it and it becomes very routine. It will get better. You are doing the right things and soon you will have a happy healthy kitty again and you will be advising newbies of your own!

Wendy
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

It absolutely does get better. The more you learn, the more confident you feel.

We spent a whole weekend poking poor Oliver. It takes a while for some cats. I'd start conditioning him. A couple times a day, go to your testing place with him. Mess with his ears, warm them, lots of praise and a treat and let him go. When he becomes used to the process, add the poke.

The magic for us was a very warm ear (heating for several minutes) and a 25-27 gauge lancet.

Have you seen this?

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=33671
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

I hope so. It seemed like everything I was already doing was wrong. My Vet taught me to do certain things and to not do certain things. So I felt like I was doing the right things. Now I feel lost.... : ( I will look at that link tomorrow. I am so tired. Thank you for answering.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

This morning was bad. I assume is has to do with last night. He never forgets anything! He absolutely refused to let me even give him his insulin today. And believe me I tried... I tried different positions, spots, treats and after the 8th or so time that was it. He was actually smacking me with his paw over and over again. He has never ever done this to me. I knew I was getting upset and left the room because I cried. He got his treats anyway just for the many times of trying but then I left so he would not know my emotions. I am still so upset that he was that upset to be hitting me over and over again. He does not have front claws (came that way) so he didn't hurt me but it was knowing he was that upset with me and that defensive. I knew I had to stop.

I don't know how this is going to work with him being this upset. Or me? Do some cats just not let you do this? He has never ever been easy ith medication. When I first got him and his brother they were on oral MEDS and his brother was no problem and Kolbie fought me the entire time even at 7 months. They were abused before I got them and I am not sure what they really went to.

Anyway, I am trying to calm down. He has calmed down. He is laying on his plastic bag and his blankey with is pillow. I want to ask you guys a question and this may be weird..

Kolbie poops bigger than my dogs and the smell is soooooooo bad. It was ot always like this. He does eat more now but he is a grazer so if I really added up what he ate it isn't that much more. Anyone relate? Also another question...

My Vet told me it is ok to feed him a bigger meal overnight... It is the only way he lets me sleep through the night. Do you think his is ok as long as it is part of his meals? And when I say bigger it is maybe a can and a half of fancy feast and 9 out of 10 times he never finishes.

Thanks for any input...

Ali and Kolbie
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

I forgot to mention Kolbies numbers:

4/2/13 @ 6:20 He was 352

I am very concerned. Do you think I can really get him insulin free?
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Just read another post when someone was starting out and can you please tell me what is a good number? I saw responses say that 200 was good? Is this correct? I am not even sure what his sugar is supposed to be!

Thank you!
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Normal BGs for a cat on a human meter is between 40-120....which of course is ideally where you want to get Kolbie at to give him the best chance of going into remission and off insulin. A well regulated diabetic cat on insulin is between low 200s at preshot and around 100 at nadir but not below 40. Renal threshhold is right around 240 above that they start spilling sugar into their urine and organ damage can occur.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

I am sorry you and Kolbe had a tough morning. I would really start over with the process, warming the ear with no poke, giving treats and praise. For the shot, I do think you have to force the issue, though. Do you give the shot while he is eating? Sometimes, they don't notice.

In general, we ask new diabetics not to shoot under 200 but wait 20 minutes, without feeding and retest. You want to make sure the number is rising and high enough for the dose you had planned. A regulated cat is in the mid 200s at preshot and below 100 at midcycle, but not under 40 (which is hypo territory). A cat is in remission if he ranges between 40 -120, off insulin, for 2 weeks.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Hey - I am still pretty new at this too. My Jupiter was diagnosed on 3-14-13. 2 very kind ladies that I met on this board came here to teach me how to home test. I was so scared at first and I didnt want to hurt my cat. Call me crazy - but I wanted to see what it would feel like when I pricked my cats ears - so I actually tested myself. After seeing that it really didnt hurt at all - I felt much better about having to home test my cat.

At first Jupiter didnt really like it - I was so scared and nervous - and I think that also made Jupiter feel scared and nervous. As I got a little more comfortable doing it, I think he became more comfortable with it too. He also really enjoys that I give him a treat and lots of petting and love afterwards. I have had a little bit of problems with him moving around when I try to give him his insulin shot - but as long as hes eating while I am giving him the shot - he doesnt move around at all - he doesnt even seem to notice sometimes.

It will get easier - Its all about learning the tricks that work for your cat. Hang in there - just takes a little practice.

I have Fancy Feast coupons that I am mailing out to other members for free!! I am going to send you a message and if you want some you can let me know and I will mail some to you. Saving a little money here and there does add up!

And most importantly - dont be afraid to ask for advice and tips when you need help. You have a ton of people here always willing to help! =]
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Ali

Welcome. I just want to tell you about my cat Lilly. I had her since she was 8 weeks old, she did not like to be tested, given the shot to or messed with in general. I used to have to dig from under the bed or move furniture around to get to her. I would get so upset. I then began to think about it in a different light after what someone here told me. I was saving my cats life. She needed this life saving insulin and I needed to just calm down and give it to her. She did not know she needed it.
So what I would do is get all supplies ready and and go get her and take her into the extra bedroom I had I would let all the other cats come in as well for her testing and shot, that seemed to calm her a bit. After awhile she got used to it a little bit more each time but never like it much but I was able to give her the shot that I needed to give her. Oh I would get down on all fours and get her under me and I would kiss her and kiss her which she hated, then get my lancet ready, test, then have my shot ready, then the shot, I used Lantus so I already had the shot drawn up.
I was also told by someone here they can feel your tension and nervousness and its best to try to stay calm and take some deep breaths. I wish you and Kolbie the best of luck. There are a lot of good people here so don`t hesitate to ask for help.

Terri
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Thank you Terry for sharing with me. Kolbie took his insulin tonight as if nothing had happened last night so I was so happy. He calmed down from last night and my Vet advised me not to test him today. I really have a great Vet who talks me through things and even thinks about my Kolbie when she is away from work. I have had some bad experiences with some other Vets in the past so I am really grateful. I have Kolbie some treats in order to give him his shot and he didn't even flinch let alone dive head first away from me. I really am feeling a lot better about testing him.

Knowing my Kolbie and how he is I think he will do much better when it is just the two of us. He does not do well at the Vet with other people or really being touched by anyone when forced into something. He may be better with me by myself. Dont get me wrong, I was grateful to be taught by someone else.

He is a real mamas boy though. Always has been since I took him home. He would not leave my side ever and his brother would not come to me ever. They were opposites. It took a year for the two of them to be able to trust and learn I was not going to leave them or hurt them... So Kolbie finally felt ok to leave my side and Jack was on my lap. We have a nice little family story.

Anyway, I am way off here. Just wanted to say that I think the testing might work after all. I have my own health problems that I need to take care of the next couple of days as well. So hopefully this will go well.

Thank you again!
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Deb, I did not see your post. You must have been writing when I was?

I cannot see your post now so I will try to think of what you asked. As far as the football approach? Believe me when I say that I was in every position possible and tried holding Kolbie also in every position. Yesterday morning he was just absolutely not going to have his insulin. It was not me at all. He was overhwelmed from the night before and he gets like that when people at the Vet poke and prod him too.

What DOES work is the new treats. As I mentioned my Vet wanted to make sure he was first and foremost going to get some insulin into him. Last night he was a whole different kitty as well as ths morning. So happy about this.

Um...not sure what else you asked? I can look after I submit this...

There is another woman who really wanted to come meet Kolbie who knows Venita. I am very grateful to have 2 people who have wanted to help. It means so much to me. I am so grateful to have 2 people volunteer their time and a wonderful Vet.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Ok... Regarding his shot? Nope he has never missed it UNLESS it has been a through and through and then I know I cannot risk overdosing him. But he has NEVER not let me give it to him like yesterday morning. That behavior was not him at all. And I do not know what you mean by droolers...what do you mean by dog dry food? He does not eat dog dry food? I think you'll need to clarify that with me.


Anyway, thanks again for coming over. I cannot get my heartbeat up any higher than it is. So I have to remain calm and not get anxious. : )
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

I didn't see the food question but you asked me that here too. I had told you he grazes. So he might eat 5 small cans of fancy feast a day. It also depends in the day...and how much he sleeps during the day and my schedule. Like I said to you though, he does not eat a whole can at a time so it could be less than that.

As far as the treats, I already only give them after his shots.

Thank you for thinking of me while shopping. I am not up for company but if you want to drop them in the mailbox that would be ok. Please do not think I am not being grateful, I have to have some tests done so I am not up to par. And I am still very sore from the other day. You can let me know through a PM and I can let you know where. It is up to you!

Kolbie gets tons of praise and lovings from me. He had a big day today with a meet and greet of a new friend. But I will be testing him on my own so he will be less stressed.
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Kolbie won't take his insulin! He has been giving me a hard time ever sincE I home tested him but today he said NO WAY! I even had someone help me and I missed! I was always taught from my Vet to never retry but I knew I really missed and this is his 3rd dosage that he really has not gotten so I put half his dosage in there to hopefully get anything on him. I got that in and we all were ok after that. He got away from me many times during this process...hurting me one of the times. This NEVER use to happen. I am waiting on a call from my VET to ask her what to do! :sad:
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Ok but because you are having issues home testing you need to keep a real close eye on him in case any did get in.

When you go to shoot the insulin you might be better waiting till he is eating, or even better snoozing and calm. Go up and stroke him like you would normally. Talk to him. Relax yourself. Dont restrain him. Then gently lift the skin using the fur and inject at a 45 degree angle or so - calm and slow. If someone else can continue to stroke his favourite bits at the same time even better. I go for a spot towards the back or on the flank. Then keep stroking after like nothing happened.

Are you working on stroking his ears outside of testing? and giving treats?

Also how is he about having his feet touched?
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

I always gave Honey her shot as she ate - I'd put her favourite treat (freeze-dried chicken sprinkles) on top to keep her distracted.
But, if she saw the syringe she'd run.

So, I would hide the syringe behind the treat bag and then if she looked up, all she would see (and hear, as I would give it a little shake), was the treat bag.
I'd then stroke her and stick the syringe in quickly - she never knew what hit her :-D
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Sue - what do you think?.. if she is using short needles and goes in at a 45degree angle does she even need to tent? Trying to come up with a quick and easy way to inject without fuss...
 
Re: Hi...I am Kolbie's Mom and just about to start home test

Ok...thank you. Very helpful. I am so glad you guys are here. I told my vet how I gave him insulin when I knew I missed. So at least a DR knows too. She wants to see him in a week or two. I am also doing a walk to raise money for ill and injured cats. I cannot really walk due to my injuries but with the help I have received I feel I want to pay it forward. I know this may not be appropriate here... But if you know anyone that likes to donate to these causes I have the website to my page which goes directly to the non profit organization. Like I said, I am only mentioning it since it has to do with cats.

Anyway, I will keep an eye on Kolbie today. Thank you for telling me and showing me the different ways I can give him the insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top