JanetNJ
Member Since 2016
Man when this cat bounces she really likes to stay up there and look at the clouds!Molly has dropped out of the bounce. Great. It'll be interesting to see how the numbers settle out now...
.
Man when this cat bounces she really likes to stay up there and look at the clouds!Molly has dropped out of the bounce. Great. It'll be interesting to see how the numbers settle out now...
.
You know Janet I am no expert at dosing but my gut feeling also said maybe start all over again from 1u as the right dose might be actually lower than we think..Yes... It's her body's way of keeping her safe. I say get a few tests today (no need to worry about a hypo this morning. The insulin is worn off by now so just test whenever curiosity strikes). and then maybe start all over at 1 unit tonight depending on the preshot.
It's a good feeling to not feel alone.... And wonderful to have a community where you can work out problems by bouncing (sorry there's that "b" word again) ideas off each other.This group chat thread, is literally saving my sanity, I really appreciate all your help and patience, and so does Molly I'm sure, as I'm beginning to feel much calmer about the whole thing x
I made it till 4am to do another test, then couldn't stay up any longer, so called it a nightSue, you stayed up all night? Life is grand! I was also up with my head between two pillows, Noah missed his shot because I don't have a back-up human. The rest of you are wonderful for staying with a friend all night.
It's my duty as a loyal subject of the Crown to help you! My wife is Scottish-Irish and we had a Border Collie. Thinking about changing my last name to hers. I feel no cultural connection to wooden shoes or Lederhosen, I know where and what Sandhurst is and I've owned 4 Minis, the real ones. Watch this; sacked, nicked, lorry, torch, tyre, aerodrome! I spoke English!
Molly's +5 bg is 9.2,. Was 5.4 pre shot this morning, and she's eaten since breakfast about an hour ago[/QUOTE
I say that’s a pretty good going so far...
Wow not bad! Go MOLLY!Molly's +5 bg is 9.2,. Was 5.4 pre shot this morning, and she's eaten since breakfast about an hour ago
I live in hope, but nothing would surprise me, it's certainly much harder to control than human diabetes which my late husband had, that's for sureLooking good! She might need a dose this evening but let's wait to see how the rest of the day pans out... she might stay in single figures but she might shoot up again... be prepared for anything with this game!
I was going to say exactly the same! Things are looking promising but please be open for anything because it might happen and will take you back to square one..Looking good! She might need a dose this evening but let's wait to see how the rest of the day pans out... she might stay in single figures but she might shoot up again... be prepared for anything with this game!


I'm prepared Monica, nothing will surprise me with this horrible illness...Fingers crossed it ends up a good day xxxI was going to say exactly the same! Things are looking promising but please be open for anything because it might happen and will take you back to square one..
We are all rooting for you and Molly of course.!![]()
I was going to say exactly the same! Things are looking promising but please be open for anything because it might happen and will take you back to square one..
We are all rooting for you and Molly of course.!![]()
I'm living in hope it turns out to be a good day, but also prepared for it not to be, fingers and everything else crossed xxLooking good! She might need a dose this evening but let's wait to see how the rest of the day pans out... she might stay in single figures but she might shoot up again... be prepared for anything with this game!
Well there must be something in the air today Sue, we finally got some yellow numbers ourselves as well which I’m quite pleased about..I'm living in hope it turns out to be a good day, but also prepared for it not to be, fingers and everything else crossed xx
That's great Monica, let's hope it stays that wayWell there must be something in the air today Sue, we finally got some yellow numbers ourselves as well which I’m quite pleased about..![]()
Yeeeeeeesssssss! See, I thought you two would be a good influence on each other lol!Well there must be something in the air today Sue, we finally got some yellow numbers ourselves as well which I’m quite pleased about..![]()
.That's very kind of you, thank you so much for your help xxxAlrighty Sue, you have the dark green section now and less lime green covering your SS unnecessarily. Fixed a couple tiny formatting details too so everything should work fine now
. I removed myself from editing abilities too. If you need help again, I can always request access again
.
No insulin if she's below 10! But post again with her 9pm number and we'll see what's what then.If Molly's BG stays below 10, should I not give any insulin....It's been in the 9's the last two tests, she's due her shot at 9pm
I was expecting a higher number tbh, just hoping the 9pm one is low tooNo insulin if she's below 10! But post again with her 9pm number and we'll see what's what then.
This is a great run - either the previous dose has lasted a nice long time, or Molly only needs a small dose in future... or, as we've said, everything could change, so it's a matter of taking one cycle at a time.
Damn!Gutted, her 9pm BG was 24.2![]()
Oh dear. She finally ran out of insulin..but take heart, that was a really good run. Looks like she needs maybe 1.5u tonight - tempted to say 1u but that may not do enough at this number. @JanetNJ @Yong @Elizabeth and Bertie any thoughts?Gutted, her 9pm BG was 24.2![]()
I was thinking 1.5 as wellOh dear. She finally ran out of insulin..but take heart, that was a really good run. Looks like she needs maybe 1.5u tonight - tempted to say 1u but that may not do enough at this number. @JanetNJ @Yong @Elizabeth and Bertie any thoughts?
On the other hand maybe she could start afresh from 1u and take it from there higher or lower if needed?Oh dear. She finally ran out of insulin..but take heart, that was a really good run. Looks like she needs maybe 1.5u tonight - tempted to say 1u but that may not do enough at this number. @JanetNJ @Yong @Elizabeth and Bertie any thoughts?
You can only try either 1u or 1.5u and see what they do. It's true, starting afresh at 1u would give us a clearer picture and the results would determine what direction to go in. Countering that is that 24.6 is pretty high and 1u might not last long... although it could. It is all pure trial and error. Even if you fed your spreadsheet into a computer and asked it what to do, the amswer might not turn out to be correct. Bear in mind that these are still early days -it might not feel like it but you have to be prepared for the long haul... but with luck you'll start getting somewhere soon.I was thinking 1.5 as well
Yes she had a little food...shall I give 1u then and see what tomorrow bringsYou can only try either 1u or 1.5u and see what they do. It's true, starting afresh at 1u would give us a clearer picture and the results would determine what direction to go in. Countering that is that 24.6 is pretty high and 1u might not last long... although it could. It is all pure trial and error. Even if you fed your spreadsheet into a computer and asked it what to do, the amswer might not turn out to be correct. Bear in mind that these are still early days -it might not feel like it but you have to be prepared for the long haul... but with luck you'll start getting somewhere soon.
BTW did Molly eat between that nice yellow number and the 24.6 two hours later? If so could be a food spike.
Whatever you feel happiest with. 1u should be safe and let you get some sleep tonight!Yes she had a little food...shall I give 1u then and see what tomorrow brings
I'll do 1, and see the results tomorrow morning, thank you for your helpWhatever you feel happiest with. 1u should be safe and let you get some sleep tonight!

I think one unit is the right choice. A lower dose may stop those numbers bouncing around. And hopefully you'll get some good sleep....I'll do 1, and see the results tomorrow morning, thank you for your help
No she went back to her usual ps number but at least went down daytime so that’s an improvement for us right now, although still didn’t go low enough. I think it’s time for another increase tomorrow if the ProZinc experts approve ..@Monica Lewis did your kitty stay lower today ?
She's having Mac's, very low carb wet foodDon't be discouraged by the high number, Sue. It happens....
What exactly are you feeding Molly at the moment?
.
Oh no, that's a shame, but like you said, we both had pretty good numbers today up until tonight xNo she went back to her usual ps number but at least went down daytime so that’s an improvement for us right now, although still didn’t go low enough. I think it’s time for another increase tomorrow if the ProZinc experts approve ..
We use Accu-Chek Performa Nano - quick reliable and small blood sample needed. So far it's been ok although I get annoyed with it often as it doesn't show the numbers I want to see!Molly's BG this morning 24.9 , so given 1u to see how she goes, I have to go out so can't do another test until late...Just wondering what bg test kit you all use, I use a human one, I just wondered if alphatrak pet one is better, or more accurate x
I'm thinking about buying a new one because I've heard the pet ones are more accurate, and also the test strips for the one I have at the moment are getting harder to find, as it's quite old, it was my late husband's, and he had it for yearsWe use Accu-Chek Performa Nano - quick reliable and small blood sample needed. So far it's been ok although I get annoyed with it often as it doesn't show the numbers I want to see!
Never wondered about changing it to a pet one, will be interested to hear what the others will say..
I'll have a scout round for the one you use xWe use Accu-Chek Performa Nano - quick reliable and small blood sample needed. So far it's been ok although I get annoyed with it often as it doesn't show the numbers I want to see!
Never wondered about changing it to a pet one, will be interested to hear what the others will say..