Hi everyone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue Hammond

Member Since 2017
I'm Sue, and this is my Molly, recently diagnosed with Diabetes and on Caninsulin twice day....Her BG results are up and down, and it's still very overwhelming to me ...Sometimes her BG is as low as +6 2.8, sometimes as high as 27 ( early morning pre insulin test) my Vet says she should be having 2u morning and night, despite the up and down figures...she was fairly steady a while back with BG of 10 throughout the day and being on 1.5u twice a day...she went for a curve test last week and since then has gone haywire again, that's when I was told to give 2u...TO be honest, m not sure what I'm doing, I phoned the vet yesterday as was worried, and he stillness given her 2u twice a day...She is on low carb food (Mac's)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170712_104056355.jpg
    IMG_20170712_104056355.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 120
If it's going to 2.8 you need to reduce your dose!!! That's the take action number.... Close to a hypo.
 
What's happening is called a bounce. The number is dropping way more than 50 percent from the preshot, causing the body to try to protect itself by releasing stored glucose resulting in a high bounce back up. Lowering the dose is the way to go.
 
So should I now be giving 1.5u I'm so confused with all this,
I do test regularly throughout the day using ACU human tester, which was my late husband's, that thank goodness I kept...Why does my vet tell me to continue with 2u...I really don't understand
 
Do you mean 0.5 or 1.5, sorry for all the questions, but this is all so confusing
Can you post your spreadsheet data that you have so far? If you post your spreadsheet that would be helpful. If it's a Google Sheets spreadsheet then you can add your link to your signature and we can see it live update. We aren't supposed to give dosing advice in the welcome forum. Can you repost in the main health forum? If you already did I'll write there.
 
Can you post your spreadsheet data that you have so far? If you post your spreadsheet that would be helpful. If it's a Google Sheets spreadsheet then you can add your link to your signature and we can see it live update. We aren't supposed to give dosing advice in the welcome forum. Can you repost in the main health forum? If you already did I'll write there.
Can you post your spreadsheet data that you have so far? If you post your spreadsheet that would be helpful. If it's a Google Sheets spreadsheet then you can add your link to your signature and we can see it live update. We aren't supposed to give dosing advice in the welcome forum. Can you repost in the main health forum? If you already did I'll write there.
 
Can you post your spreadsheet data that you have so far? If you post your spreadsheet that would be helpful. If it's a Google Sheets spreadsheet then you can add your link to your signature and we can see it live update. We aren't supposed to give dosing advice in the welcome forum. Can you repost in the main health forum? If you already did I'll write there.
Can you post your spreadsheet data that you have so far? If you post your spreadsheet that would be helpful. If it's a Google Sheets spreadsheet then you can add your link to your signature and we can see it live update. We aren't supposed to give dosing advice in the welcome forum. Can you repost in the main health forum? If you already did I'll write there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top