Hey everyone :-) Would like your thoughts here... low-ishh preshot with complications

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy & Pimp

Member Since 2015
Hello to all! Been super busy with new house and everything else crazy in my life right now, so sorry I haven't been around at ALL! Long time no see!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I thought of the Board today because I'm looking for your THOUGHTS, from you EXPERIENCED caregivers, WHAT WOULD YOU DO??? I DO NOT want advice that follows any protocol. That's why I'm posting here instead of L&L. I want your honest opinion in my shoes.

NEWBIES DO NOT FOLLOW ANYTHING POSTED IN THIS THREAD (condo for my L&L friends!)
I AM A VERY EXPERIENCED CAREGIVER THAT KNOWS MY CAT.

Pimp has been doing OK had some high numbers for a month after Christmas but don't we all stress around the Holidays? LOL

Dosage increased slowly and he's been getting decent lows the last week or so. He was 60 at +11 and 2 out of the last 3 shots have been an hour late (can act like a slight reduction).

When I can be home in the winter I follow the guidelines for long term diabetics as far as low numbers. He has only had MC or HC food once in the last 6 months, and that was for a suprise 30's right before he ran down the dosing ladder. Increases and reductions are done on 0.1u for dosages under 1u. I can accurately titrate .05u.
Currently shooting .3u for about a week now.

The big question....

Shoot .3 or reduce to .25? If there hadn't been late shots I wouldn't even think about reducing. I'm not going any lower than that or we'll lose momentum.

Shot time in 30 minutes....(ETA) 74@ +11.5 no food in last 1.5 hrs




If I don't get any answers because no one is comfortable giving their opinion instead of worrying about liability, that's fine...I understand. I'm hoping the Board has changed a bit in the last year. If Trump's president, anything can happen....


ETA: sorry, his SS is going to load on the 2016 tab, I think. You'll have to click over to 2017.



 
Wow only one view in 20 minutes? Dead here apparently.

If anyone has thoughts feel free to PM me as well. ...long as it's not berating me for thinking outside the box.
 
Andy, I might just stick with the .3, it seems to be working. You monitor enough or worse case try the .25 and go back up if needed. Sorry that probably isn't much help.
 
If it was me, I'd hold the dose since you haven't seen much green and his shots have been slightly off schedule. I'd hate to see you lose momentum.
 
I did shoot .3 as he was AMPS 74. I'll catch it the next time he comes down if its too much.

You rock Karen:bighug: @Doodles & Karen and Carla:bighug: @carfurby

How is Doodles, and Furball??
I'm glad you held the dose. Surf safely Pimp. By the way, I don't look at Health very often. I saw your post in L&LL. If you post again, please post another message in L&LL too. That way I'll know to look for your post in Health. Furball is doing very well. She's still staying in good numbers and feels good.
 
Guessing you shot 0.3u the last three times, there's nothing on the ss:p, for a minute there I thought he was on no juice for a couple of days.

I'm late to the party:rolleyes: but.

He seemed to come up easily enough last night, so holding seems a reasonable option, seeing as you have been able to monitor more in these winter months and I know you know to keep a close eye on him, perhaps this will see him surf more greens for you, would be nice to see his ss change color.

Like Carla I don't often come across to health glad to see your post on L&LL
 
Guessing you shot 0.3u the last three times, there's nothing on the ss
I am super lazy with the SS now. That's the readings I just entered so I could figure him out for today. Sometimes I have to remind myself the meter only holds so many readings, lol. There was a week or so in Dec where shot times were all over the place due to working schedule and I couldn't make sense of it (didn't know what was preshot, etc).
 
:confused::confused::confused: LOL I can imagine.

I still test George every day, but I've become lazy at updating his daily ambg, that can get confusing sometimes and that's only one reading per day.
As my DMIL would say 'You need to buck up your ideas and get organised!' :pLOL
 
90-something at +2, so shouldn't be any funny business.

Thanks all for popping in, I'll try to visit a bit more often.

Until then....
:bighug::bighug:
 
Hey, Andy.

Like the rest, I don't check the Health forum much - my hands are full enough on L&L. Feel free to post there - you are still family, after all. No one will berate you, but there are some that might tell you they can't offer dose advice without an updated spreadsheet. ;) Honestly, we just don't want to take a chance that something we recommend could end up harming Pimp.

Something my DH and I did that might help you - we kept a little spiral notebook with our testing supplies, and as as soon as we shot or tested we wrote down the date, time, PMPS/AMPS/+# (whichever was appropriate) and the reading. That way we always had a log, even if the computer was down. When I went to do the condo, I'd transfer the data to the SS. Don't know if that would work for you, but we sure found it helpful for us, and we didn't have to depend on the meter's memory.

FWIW, I agree about holding the dose. Come back and see us again soon! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top