Hershey +6 (404) - how much does vomiting impact #?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I encouraged you to post here, so will give you my thoughts. As you have probably seen PZI is busiest in the early morning and evening. (most posters are East Coast). Usually you won't get much dose advice in Health as most PZI people post here, and health posters who don't use PZI are reluctant to give dosing advice.

I like your numbers on one unit although the 50s are a little low at nadir. Your numbers at .75 and .8 are generally higher. How about trying a fat .8? (generally defined as a little more than .8 but not one unit. Might be easier than trying to measure .9?)

It looks like you are close to a good dose, allowing for some bouncing.

It looks like you thought shooting in the scruff gave you better numbers. Good info for you to have - part of that ECID thing.

Hope others will chime in before your pmps.
 
I always found vomiting to effect Kitty's numbers--but, not upward! Generally speaking, the two vomiting episodes that I recall for Kitty, drove her numbers down. I attributed it to the loss of food and carbs that she normally would have kept in her system.

It might be my computer, but I tried to open you SS with no luck. Can someone confirm that the link works?

I shoot Kitty in the scruff always. This is just my opinion, but I think the most important thing about where you dose (scruff, flank etc) is to keep it consisitent. I cannot attest, that Kitty gets better numbers on shooting in the scruff vs other areas, BUT as long as I am shooting in a consistent place, my data is consistent and I know what to expect.

Does the SS link work?
 
Kim -

I can open the SS when I click the link and have had at least one person tell me they could see it. Not that computer savvy, so I'm not sure beyond that. Hopefully, someone else will come and let us know whether or not they can see the SS.

What you're saying about vomiting bringing lower numbers makes sense to me...and about being consistent with where you shoot. I kept reading that you needed to change up the area, so Doug tried rotating below scruff (kind of shoulder area) to hip to hip but the numbers seemed better below the scruff area. And, I had posted another time wondering if Hershey's hip surgery could impact absorption. Anyhoo - so lately Doug has been rotating in the shoulder area.

Time to test - feed - shoot...

Libby
 
Vomiting or diarreah definately effects the numbers in a downward fashion for us. Asher got into some cooking herbs or olives that made him sick in Dec. and we took him down to 1 unit (we usually shoot around 3 or more) and worked our way back up on dose until his eating was normal and nothing was coming out of either end in a bad way :oops:
 
Re: Hershey's # - wouldn't appreciate some input

Thanks, y'all. I, too, was pretty sure vomiting (even a little) decreased Hershey's numbers before, but was trying to find something to explain his numbers.

We went ahead with the .8u at 2:30p - you can see his +4 was (146); +6 (160) and +9 (166), keep having more questions than answers -

- Why was +4 lower and was it the nadir? If so, why so early?
- I know ECID and every day is different, but sometimes half of the day way high and half the day moderate numbers?

:YMSIGH:

Wow - Donna - sounds like you had an eventful Dec. Hershey seems to have gotten worse about wanting to eat things - having to make sure nobody drops crumbs or potato peels or anything that doesn't get cleaned up. Never a dull moment, huh?

His numbers have been higher and we were thinking of a slight increase, but with this afternoon/evenings numbers should we stick to the .8u for a little longer and see? Thoughts??

Thanks a bunch!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
My cat had 2 days were he vomited one day and didn't eat well for the next 2days. His numbers were way low. Not eating does effect the numbers to lower.

Hope your Hershey will get better soon!

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top