Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - until PMPS...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
AMPS (304) +12.5, trying to move shot time and he doesn't seem to like me moving it the other way - shot .5u, will be gone much of the day and .6 starts at (300)

Happy Saturday!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)


AMPS (304) +12.5 at 7:30am - Given .5u
+6 (324)
+9 (351)
 
Re: Hershey 3/17

What the heck is he doing today? If his PMPS comes back down then you have an inverse curve and you should lower the dose.

Lets wait and see what happens then and go from there.
 
Re: Hershey 3/17

AMPS (304) +12.5 at 7:30am - Given .5u
+6 (324)
+9 (351) (scratches head)

Doug gave the shot, but he does it the same way, every time - gives shot while eating, rubs him (also checking for fur shot). So, what's going on??

Robin - You said if he comes back down at PS, then inverse curve and reduce shot. But, what if he doesn't?? Guess it's pretty pointless to speculate until we see the PS at 8pm :YMSIGH:
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

He might be, wait 20 minutes and retest, don't feed.

I'll go look at ss, we need to reduce the dose.
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

I don't see how. There's no dry food where he can get to...not even any higher carb cat food besides Oreo's...and I think his is 8% today...We generally stand right there while Oreo eats and remove his bowl when he's finished...I'm racking my brain trying to figure where any carbs could've come from...
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

I'll confess, I have suspected that the dose might be too high but there wasn't any data to support it until today.

I was going to ask you if you wanted to try a reduction experiment today but you said that you would be out most of the day so it would not have been a good time to try it. Now we know.
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

I was afraid I had reduced it too much because we reduced the scale by .2u on 3/11 and today's (304) should've been .6u by the scale - we only shot .5u.
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

:20 retest (318)

Actually tested (282) and I thought that odd, so scraped some onto my nail and that same blood from my nail was (328). So, tested his other ear and got the (318), which sounds reasonable. Enough of a rise to feed/shoot, but how much???
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

Since it's rising but within meter varience and not rising much....

Either wait another 15 minutes to make sure or reduce by .2u.

Stay on tonight so we can figure this out before morning, ok?
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

The biggest problem with continuing to wait is that I can't stay to shoot tomorrow morning past 8:30 and it's already 8:45. He hasn't done well any time we've tried to move his shot time up more than :15 at a time. So, reduce by .2u - so you're saying give a .4u? Do you think that's okay or do I need to wait? I want to do what's best for him...
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

Yeah, I had just said the same to Jessica about not rising much and meter variance...so, maybe I have learned something :-D
 
Re: Hershey 3/17 - Rising all day - so far...

:20 retest (282) left ear (306) right ear. Left ear was small drop of blood. Right ear was large drop, but it hovered and sipped the blood instead of drowning in it. EVERY time I switch ears I get a very different reading. I read you're supposed to alternate, but if you're getting different readings, doesn't that cause a problem?
 
So it's the same and not dropping. I'd go with .4u for tonight.

We'll need to talk about how much you want to reduce the scale for tomorrow.
 
Hershey was THRILLED to finally get to eat!!!! .4u down and away at 9:15pm

And...that means what about tomorrow? And the difference in ears? any thoughts??
 
I don't have any experience with different ears because I could only get blood from Harley's left ear.

How comfortable do you feel with taking .1u off of the scale? Would you like to take more off?
 
Taking .1u off is fine with me or more, if you think we should try it. I am clueless and depending on your expertise :cool:
 
Ugg! I'd like to take a .2u off of the scale but I don't want him to lose his momentum either. You choose the path you want to take. Small steps down or a dramatic drop in dose that may take a few days to get back the momentum.

Although taking the .2u off the last time didn't go wrong.

It's up to you.
 
ugh - How would it be to take another .1u off for a few days and see how it goes??? We're gone a while on Sundays, but I'll be home most all day the better part of the week. So, either one works -
 
I hope Grayson didn't tell Hershey some of his secrets for getting into the cupboards and finding things to snack on or make into casseroles! There were several times they stopped whispering when I walked into the room... :shock:
 
haha, Lu - I've learned to keep things on lock-down around Hershey. Doesn't mean he wouldn't like to try some new tricks, though - I'll keep an extra eye on him ;-)
 
Until just recently, no one has EVER gone in either the base lazy susan (where the food is to make casseroles), or the breadbox (except Reggie - on a mission for catnip!). Grayson has NEVER gone in the cupboards. Paulo likes to sleep in the cabinet to the left of the sink, and Peaches under the bathroom vanity, but no one else messes w/ the kitchen cabinets.... or at least didn't!

So be warned... Grayson may have been telling all kinds of secrets (of things his siblings have done, that is) to Hershey. He may be plotting his next mischievious adventure as we post! :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top