Hermione's Dosing Rollercoaster pt5

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShipsCat

Active Member
New thread time!

Finally a whole cycle out of red/black!
374 last AMPS
361 @ +4

314 for PMPS! 1.6u given

I stuck with the 1.6 to see where it would take us with this nicer PS number
 
I was so frustrated by the bounce I went out to dinner and a movie with friends ;)

430 @ AMPS, I'm going to go ahead and bump her up to 1.8u.

I was really considering trying to squint my way to 1.7u, but with the time change I'll be awake for nadir. I'd really like to get her to stay out of red/black. I worry about my little trouble maker.
 
I was so frustrated by the bounce I went out to dinner and a movie with friends ;)

430 @ AMPS, I'm going to go ahead and bump her up to 1.8u.

I was really considering trying to squint my way to 1.7u, but with the time change I'll be awake for nadir. I'd really like to get her to stay out of red/black. I worry about my little trouble maker.
Teasel, Maggie and Hermione are all messing with their bean's head at the same time. Hermione's telling you she needs a higher dose (same message from Maggie and Teasel) at this point in the dance. I admit to feeling reluctance when Teasel tells me this because it seems to be a sign of a sort of failure. It's not, though. They need what they need at a given point in time. And that will change - therein lies the crazy making stuff! o_O
 
Thanks for the reassurance, Kris! You hit it right on the head, I feel like I'm failing Hermione by not being able to get her numbers down.

Speaking of which, they're still awful :banghead:

484 @ +5 this morning
543 for PMPS. I went ahead with an increase to 2u. I'll be home to keep an eye on her and get some extra tests in. I'm not going to do a full curve, I'm running low on strips - they're supposed to arrive tomorrow but I don't want to run out!
 
Hermione is still being a cuddlebug, I need to remind myself that she's not stressing about her numbers and she's still feeling better than she was when she was first diagnosed.

350 @+7
 
274 for AMPS! 1.8u given

I gave her a tiny reduction because I'm super paranoid I'll be sleeping if she has a crisis. Fingers crossed!
 
274 for AMPS! 1.8u given

I gave her a tiny reduction because I'm super paranoid I'll be sleeping if she has a crisis. Fingers crossed!
Hurray! If you want to try even smaller tweaks, it's possible to eyeball between the half unit marks on the U100s. This allows 1.9 u, 1.7 u, etc. Nice tool to have for the ultra bouncy and reactive kitties we have. ;)
 
It didn't last, but I'm feeling a little less frustrated! Last time she was yellow for a preshot she bounced all the way up into the 600s so mid reds isn't as bad.

459 @+4
471 for PMPS 2u given
 
Well, she bounced right back up to black. Oh well. Patience, patience, patience...

555 for AMPS 2u given
 
Hi Kimi,
You've probably been asked but I don't recall your answer: when was this insulin vial started? Is there a chance that it's losing potency?
 
Hi Kimi,
You've probably been asked but I don't recall your answer: when was this insulin vial started? Is there a chance that it's losing potency?

This is her original vial started 8/24. My vet thought it should still be ok, and I tried a new vial on 10/31 for PM with not much change so I went back to the old vial. It's on my paper log but I didn't add it to the ss for some reason. I'm almost out of the old vial, should I just switch to the new one?

431 for PMPS, 2u given
318 @ +8

I had to take my dogs for their shots (and vote) and didn't put those numbers in the ss until now.
 
This is her original vial started 8/24. My vet thought it should still be ok, and I tried a new vial on 10/31 for PM with not much change so I went back to the old vial. It's on my paper log but I didn't add it to the ss for some reason. I'm almost out of the old vial, should I just switch to the new one?

431 for PMPS, 2u given
318 @ +8

I had to take my dogs for their shots (and vote) and didn't put those numbers in the ss until now.[/QUOTE

You only tried the new vial for one dose so you don't really have enough to judge whether it was truly more effective, given how up and down kitties like Hermione can be. I know that we want to squeeze every last bit out of an expensive vial of ProZinc but it might be time to switch to the new vial.
 
You only tried the new vial for one dose so you don't really have enough to judge whether it was truly more effective, given how up and down kitties like Hermione can be. I know that we want to squeeze every last bit out of an expensive vial of ProZinc but it might be time to switch to the new vial.
 
I agree. Her numbers have been crazy and it might be the insulin losing potency. Starting the new vial this morning.

AMPS 293, giving a small reduction for new vial and better number - 1.8u given
 
I know. I just want her to be better and feel like I'm letting her down.

401 @ +9

Maybe she needs a little increase? Or should I wait until I can do a curve this weekend?
 
I know. I just want her to be better and feel like I'm letting her down.

401 @ +9

Maybe she needs a little increase? Or should I wait until I can do a curve this weekend?
I think you could try an increase. She's been high for a while so you might need to give her a nudge.
 
I like those two yellow preshots, Kimi. It does look like, in both cases, 1.8 was not enough. (It could also be a bounce but she stayed high and flat during both those cycles, which I am thinking not enough insulin). Maybe stick with 2 - if you can monitor - or a fat 1.8? Maybe worth a try?
 
Hurray for that PMPS! I like those yellows that are starting to appear even though she's still bouncing. Positive sign I think ...:)
 
I'm definitely pleased with the yellows we're getting, but she's still bouncing like crazy :(

462 @ +6

I didn't think to test her earlier because she was snuggling with me, which normally means she's in decent numbers and feeling great.
 
I'm definitely pleased with the yellows we're getting, but she's still bouncing like crazy :(

462 @ +6

I didn't think to test her earlier because she was snuggling with me, which normally means she's in decent numbers and feeling great.
It's hard to look beyond the high bounce numbers to see what the dose is really doing. The mid-cycle numbers are important for that unless the whole cycle is high. That can mean the dose is just too low or it can mean they're getting less responsive to the insulin because of too much time in high numbers. Sort of sounds like the same thing but it isn't.
 
After the bounce at +6 I ordered a pizza and watched football with Hermione at my side ;)

505 for AMPS again, 2.2u given
 
After the bounce at +6 I ordered a pizza and watched football with Hermione at my side ;)

505 for AMPS again, 2.2u given
I think that was the perfect remedy for any upset a bounce might have caused you. It's easy to forget that they're just numbers and this is a long term process. Way to go, Kimi! :D
 
I think that was the perfect remedy for any upset a bounce might have caused you. It's easy to forget that they're just numbers and this is a long term process. Way to go, Kimi! :D

Thanks Kris! I'm learning that if her numbers stress me - and she's still feeling fine! - I need to do something to distract myself. Of course, I'm a life-long Browns fan so I'm used to disappointment ;)

But no disappointment for PMPS today!

142 for PMPS! I even double checked with an AT strip (FS strip was 146, I only put the AT strip # in my ss if I have to double check. My ss is cluttered enought)!

I've got a lunch appointment so I'm going to stall until I get back in an hour or so.
 
Thanks Kris! I'm learning that if her numbers stress me - and she's still feeling fine! - I need to do something to distract myself. Of course, I'm a life-long Browns fan so I'm used to disappointment ;)

But no disappointment for PMPS today!

142 for PMPS! I even double checked with an AT strip (FS strip was 146, I only put the AT strip # in my ss if I have to double check. My ss is cluttered enought)!

I've got a lunch appointment so I'm going to stall until I get back in an hour or so.
Very nice! I find that the FS strips always read a small % higher than the AT strips.
 
Lunch ran late but it didn't matter!

145 after 2 1/2 hour stall! I gave her half a can of food because she was sitting at her dish and crying. I'll test her again 2 hrs after she ate.
 
283 2hrs post meal.

I'm giving 1.8u. I'll be home to watch, and I'll test several times to see how she reacts. Last time we got here 1.5 wasn't quite enough to keep her out of black in 12hrs. This is going to mess up my sleep, but I don't work again until Monday ;)
 
180 @ +9!

She's definitely liking the doses above 2u so far. Should I try 2u for PM if she's up in yellow again? I'll be home to watch & test.

Potato chips are also a great answer to life's problems!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top