Hermione's Dosing Rollercoaster pt2

Status
Not open for further replies.
I hope she does too! I was absurdly happy about yesterday's steadiness, even though it was red-red-pink-pink-red ;)

At +8 she was a lovely 149 but I was too lazy to turn on the computer.

For AMPS she was 239 so she got 1.25u again. I hope she doesn't have a crazy high bounce for a change.
 
Thanks!

420 @ +3 but she's always had a huge spike from food. She gets low cal Fancy Feast, but it always kicks her bg up
 
480 for PMPS, 2.5u given

I wonder if I should bump the 1.25u I've been giving for yellows to 1.5u if she's had a big swing leading up to it? I'd only do it if I was around to monitor her, since we had that one big drop with 1.25u on a yellow. Could it be too drastic a drop from the 2.5 I'm giving for the reds? Maybe I should try holding a middle dose like 2u for a few cycles to see if she's better on a steady dose? I'd have to do that on a weekend when I'm home in case she goes way low on it.

Or maybe I should just keep doing what I'm doing with the sliding scale. I'm just throwing things out there, to be honest. I feel like I'm trying to push water uphill...

Hermione is still happy and sassy and she's gaining weight for the first time in years. I definitely need to stop obsessing about the numbers so much and remind myself that even though her blood sugar is a crazy rollercoaster she's obviously feeling fine ;)
 
And because she always keeps me on my toes...

109 @ +6

I'll be keeping a sharp eye on her since she usually has a late nadir
 
I know right? 2.5 had seemed a great dose for blacks & high-to mid reds, then suddenly it's too much. She sure likes to keep us guessing!

79 @ +7, gave her some gravy lovers.
 
I think she is reading over your shoulder and thinking, " Mom is thinking she understands me. Time for a switcheroo "

One thing I would suggest is to give regular low carb when she is in the 70-75+ range and see if that is enough to being her up or flatten it out. Save the gravy for that drop from 70 to 68? That might help with the bump from carbs when she is back up?
 
I'm sure she did just that! She's often sitting on my lap while I'm putting numbers in her ss ;)

I didn't even think of giving her regular low carb, which actually makes perfect sense. She always gets a pretty good food bump from her regular ff classics. I just panic a little when she gets low like that out of the blue.

She's up to 100 at +8
 
I'm sure! But for now I get a bit freaked out ;)

173 for AMPS, stalling for a while. Should I try 1.5u for her yellow? I'm staying home from work tonight since I got no sleep
 
Hi!
If Hermione was mine I would (since you are home today and able to monitor) give 1.5U. Are you comfortable with that dose?
 
219 after 1hr stall. 1.5u given

I'm comfortable giving that little increase for yellow, especially since I'll be home to keep watch. The past few days 1.25 hasn't been enough to keep her from red/black territory. And if she goes low, I'll try steering with her regular food this time
 
Great! And from my experience when you are doing this for a longer time, and you are home to monitor and you get indeed a PS that is lower than normal, you can be a little daredevil with the dose. It's fine as long as you are there to monitor.
And just like you've said, you know how to steer her up if needed!
I'm curious to see the numbers today! ;)
 
Haha i've had the same thing with Baco... bouncing... It's hard but the saying here goes 'bouncing will stop, when bouncing will stop' we all have a nice pair of patient pants that we put on when our kitties bounce around ;)
 
I should have gone with my gut. Waited and now she's at 630 :banghead:

Sticking with the dose plan, tho, and giving 2.5u
 
199 @ +6 & 129 @ +7!

Looks like I may need to lower my black/red dose! I'm thinking maybe the black for PMPS was the 1.5u wearing off instead of an actual bounce? She hasn't cleared a bounce in less than 12hrs before.
 
I think that black PS number was a bounce... Try to ignore it and go on with what you are doing.
This look great though! Those blue midcycles are really nice!
 
199 @ +6 & 129 @ +7!

Looks like I may need to lower my black/red dose! I'm thinking maybe the black for PMPS was the 1.5u wearing off instead of an actual bounce? She hasn't cleared a bounce in less than 12hrs before.

Hard to know, but I guess a bounce too as it was so quick. If she is clearing the bounces faster, that is good news. Time to look at 13/11?
 
186 after a 1hr stall.

Other than that little hiccup for the last PMPS I'm super thrilled with these numbers!
 
Thanks! Just when I was getting discouraged by her crazy numbers, this happens!

214 after a 2hr stall. 1.5u given
 
And probably at least a partial fur shot. There was quite a bit of wetness when I withdrew the needle from her skin :banghead:
 
I know, but I feel awful for Hermione. She finally gives me nice numbers and I blow it by rushing the shot. I'm sure I stuck it right though the tented skin. I'm going to go ahead and give her PM shot a bit early. Hopefully we'll be back to blues again over the weekend!

504 @ PMPS 2.5u given.
 
480 @ +3

I'm happy she didn't have a huge spike after eating. Hopefully that means we'll have nice blues again!
 
145 for AMPS at +13

Stalling again. Glad to see my poor needle skills didn't set us back too far.
 
166 after 2hr stall!

So that's 15hrs after her last shot. One more hour and I'm going to skip, it's getting where it will make my shot schedule conflict with my work schedule. Crazy that this would follow another missed shot with yesterday's fur shot!
 
She does make this difficult. All I know to suggest is to reduce that pmps dose. @Bobbie And Bubba, is this another kitty with a late nadir?

The only way I know to deal with this is to wait until she starts to rise and give a lower dose. The problem is that she may not be high enough in 12 hours to shoot, so you'd have to wait until she is and shoot again.
 
Last edited:
I don't think so because I see the numbers going down through the cycle the majority of the time other than the other way around. It looks like she hung on to the 2.5 dose for 15 hours and is clearing a bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top