Hermione's Dosing Rollercoaster pt 9

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShipsCat

Member Since 2016
New Year, new thread!

Sorry I'm slacking on posting again. After I slept off the excesses of New Years Eve I went back to my best friend's house to help him clean up after the party - only coming back home to test Hermione & give her insulin. So here's the accumulated data to start 2017.

1/1 - 435 for AMPS, 1.4u given
304 @ +10
320 for PMPS, 1.2u given
144 @ +7!
1/2 - 582 for AMPS, 1.4u given

Bouncy bouncy, but I stuck with 1.4u. I'm not feeling adventurous this morning...
 
Yes, she sure is quick to hop onto her trampoline! I sometimes wonder if my cautiousness with dosing is part of the problem. But I'm back to work as of this week and won't be able to monitor her as closely - even if I wasn't always testing more while I was home this month I've been able to keep an eye on my little girl. I wanted to try to dose more aggressively while I was home, but then I chickened out :(

PMPS 502, 1.5u given
406 @ +5
AMPS 297, 328 after 30min stall - 1.2u given

I know I didn't need to stall with that AMPS, but after poor Denise lost Clara on Saturday I've gotten paranoid. I sleep so deeply I'm terrified Hermione will go hypo and I'll sleep through it!
 
Think of the stall as making sure she was going up not down. 20 minutes doesn't hurt anything and it will help keep yoiyoiu from worrying as much today!
 
We always have to do what we're comfortable with, Kimi. These rubber kitties of ours don't make it easy though. :confused:
 
Yes, I was stalling to make sure she was rising, I forgot to add that in my post. Our rubber kitties sure do make things tough for us beans!

344 for PMPS, 1.3u given

I went with a little increase since I'm home sick & can watch her.
 
434 @ +8 :arghh:

At least she was negative for ketones a little before I checked her blood sugar. She was hanging out on the sofa so I didn't think she was so high :(
 
Have you ever tried "fat" and "skinny" doses by measuring a dose and letting out a tiny drop? Hermione is so volatile (as is Teasel) that this might be another way to expand your dosing repertoire. She'll come back, Kimi ... :)
 
Sorry, I was really feeling crummy yesterday so I didn't turn on the computer. I made sure to give Hermione her insulin though :p I've tried fat & skinny doses when I was using u40 syringes, but the u100s are so small a drop seems like 1/4 measure anyway. I know I'll get her back, it's just frustrating for me when she's in really nice numbers then really awful ones...

1/4 AMPS 285, 319 after 30min stall 1.3u given
562 for PMPS, 1.6u given
315 @ +7
1/5 AMPS 293, 240 after 20min stall, 242 after 40min stall 1.1u given

The way she sometimes goes down after 12hrs makes me think I should have been stalling a little at yellow when she's had a good-sized drop from the previous pre-shot. Again, I'm feeling extra paranoid right now ;)
 
I mentioned the fats and skinnies because I swear they can make a difference for Teasel, although I don't use them often. I know that 0.1 u certainly does. These bouncy ultra sensitive kitties are special cases. o_O
 
MHO, you are underdosing in the am. Stalling in the 220+ range is being a little too cautious. Even if she drops (unlikely) it shouldn't be enough to influence your dose choice. The only time you need to stall is if she is too low to shoot. Then you want to be sure the number is rising, not falling and high enough to give a dose. The 1.6 on the black gave you a nice yellow amps. I'd give a little more for those yellows, especially the higher ones.

Having said that, I know she is unpredictable and you are rightfully cautious about increasing when you are not going to be there. But - if I were you AND I am not- I'd pick a cycle when you can catch the nadir and increase a bit on the 200s.
 
Sorry, I've been super sick. Hermione's still gotten her insulin on time, but I've been feeling too awful to turn on the computer. I'm definitely being too paranoid, and I'm sure that's contributing to her continued backslide on her numbers. I need to shake it off and get back to dosing with confidence. Thanks, Sue, for the reminder that being too cautious with my bouncy little girl isn't helping her! And I shouldn't have dismissed your suggestion of the fats & skinnies, Kris. It's mostly that I have a hard enough time squinting out the 1/4 doses on the u100 syringes :p I apologize for seeming like I don't appreciate your advice, I most definitely DO appreciate every bit of advice everyone gives me!

Here are her numbers for the past day and a half.

1/5 PMPS 355, 1.4u given
1/6 AMPS 455, 1.5u given
PMPS 490, 1.6u given
385 @ +9
1/7 AMPS 529, 1.6u given - 1hr early

At least I'm starting to feel human again, and Hermione tested negative for ketones the last two days. I should be able to get more tests in today than just AMPS & PMPS, assuming I don't have a relapse! The flu really knocked me out....

I'm also wondering if this vial of insulin is losing potency. I just realized it's coming up on 3 months old :( I'll try to stop by my vet tomorrow and get a new vial - she's only open for a few hours. Otherwise I'll get one Monday.
 
Sorry, I've been super sick. Hermione's still gotten her insulin on time, but I've been feeling too awful to turn on the computer. I'm definitely being too paranoid, and I'm sure that's contributing to her continued backslide on her numbers. I need to shake it off and get back to dosing with confidence. Thanks, Sue, for the reminder that being too cautious with my bouncy little girl isn't helping her! And I shouldn't have dismissed your suggestion of the fats & skinnies, Kris. It's mostly that I have a hard enough time squinting out the 1/4 doses on the u100 syringes :p I apologize for seeming like I don't appreciate your advice, I most definitely DO appreciate every bit of advice everyone gives me!

Here are her numbers for the past day and a half.

1/5 PMPS 355, 1.4u given
1/6 AMPS 455, 1.5u given
PMPS 490, 1.6u given
385 @ +9
1/7 AMPS 529, 1.6u given - 1hr early

At least I'm starting to feel human again, and Hermione tested negative for ketones the last two days. I should be able to get more tests in today than just AMPS & PMPS, assuming I don't have a relapse! The flu really knocked me out....

I'm also wondering if this vial of insulin is losing potency. I just realized it's coming up on 3 months old :( I'll try to stop by my vet tomorrow and get a new vial - she's only open for a few hours. Otherwise I'll get one Monday.
Hi Kimi,

I hope you're on the mend. Being sick and still having to tend to "special needs" kitties (I'm including Nutter in there!) is challenging.

I didn't for a moment think you were dismissing the fat/skinny suggestion. I know how hard those micro fractions are to measure out. I just estimate the best I can - I look for a little air between the plunger and a syringe mark for 0.25 u and try to get the plunger barely up to or barely over a mark for a fat/skinny. We can only do what we can do.

Re dosing confidence: I'm trying to be a bit more confident dosing a little higher when Teasel gives me a good number. I waver sometimes and feel bolder at other times. We have good reason to be this way with such unpredictable kitties.
 
I'm glad I didn't come off like I was discounting your advice, Kris! It's hard enough communicating only through words on a screen, but when I'm sick I tend to get snippy in person so I feared I had done that here too. I'm feeling much better, thank you! Hermione has been feeling just fine while I'm feeling crummy, and Nutter is still chugging along in his cocked-head drunk-walking way.

More tests in today, since I'm no longer one of the walking dead ;)

466 @ +5
475 @ +8
451 @ +10
471 for PMPS, 1.4u given, shot given at +11

I gave a bit of a reduction because I got a brand new vial. I'm wondering if the AM shot was a partial fur shot (even though I didn't see any wetness or smell insulin) or the old vial is just that weak now.
 
I'm glad I didn't come off like I was discounting your advice, Kris! It's hard enough communicating only through words on a screen, but when I'm sick I tend to get snippy in person so I feared I had done that here too. I'm feeling much better, thank you! Hermione has been feeling just fine while I'm feeling crummy, and Nutter is still chugging along in his cocked-head drunk-walking way.

More tests in today, since I'm no longer one of the walking dead ;)

466 @ +5
475 @ +8
451 @ +10
471 for PMPS, 1.4u given, shot given at +11

I gave a bit of a reduction because I got a brand new vial. I'm wondering if the AM shot was a partial fur shot (even though I didn't see any wetness or smell insulin) or the old vial is just that weak now.
I've never gone longer than about 2 months with a vial of ProZinc because Teasel's doses are larger than Hermione's and I also save the last bit of a vial as backup in case I drop/break the new one. I approach a new vial with caution as well.
 
I hope you will start seeing some lower numbers, Kimi. If not, and after giving the new vial time to effect any possible changes, I'd start increasing per the protocol.

Sorry you have been sick!
 
Thanks Sue! I'm feeling almost normal today :) Hermione has been getting such small doses I didn't realize how old this vial is - I've still got almost 1/4 left. But whether I was too sick to tell if I've given a fur shot or the insulin is too old, her numbers on the new vial are better so far (knock wood!).

400 @ +4
254 @ +7!

Fingers crossed she stays out of red/black tonight!
 
147 for PMPS!

Stalling. I'm supposed to go to lunch with family tomorrow so I'd rather not feed and wait 2hrs. Although Hermione will do what she'll do.... ;)
 
PMPS 559, 1.4u given

Likely a combination of a bounce from the lovely blues and my cs dose being too cs ;) I actually got my family to only eat lunch so I was back for +11, which is when I gave her shot. I meant to do a mid cycle when I got up, but I was running late so it got skipped.

I am really glad it was mainly old insulin causing her high numbers. I put the date I opened this vial on the top of the box instead of the side so I have to see it every time I give a shot!
 
Hermione an I were watching football so I missed a nadir shot because I wasn't paying attention to time :banghead:

449 @ +10
434 for AMPS, 1.4u given - shot given at +11
 
They say challenges build character ... ;):)

You, me and all the beans of extra-bouncy kitties are certainly chock full of character, aren't we! :p

My internet was out yesterday and finally got repaired while I was at work today. Stupid rural internet, always breaking.

1/9 PMPS 495, 1.5u given
325 @ +8
1/10 AMPS 504, 1.6u given
411 @ +6
PMPS 368, 1.4u given
134 @ +7!

I'm going to chalk the past few days' high numbers to a prolonged bounce. I'm sure the weaker insulin combined with my paranoid extra-concervative dosing affected her sensitivity. I think I've managed to shake that freaked out feeling.
 
You, me and all the beans of extra-bouncy kitties are certainly chock full of character, aren't we! :p

My internet was out yesterday and finally got repaired while I was at work today. Stupid rural internet, always breaking.

1/9 PMPS 495, 1.5u given
325 @ +8
1/10 AMPS 504, 1.6u given
411 @ +6
PMPS 368, 1.4u given
134 @ +7!

I'm going to chalk the past few days' high numbers to a prolonged bounce. I'm sure the weaker insulin combined with my paranoid extra-concervative dosing affected her sensitivity. I think I've managed to shake that freaked out feeling.
Ah yes, the periodic freak outs ... I have those occasionally when I see some nice numbers or if I have a fur shot and lose confidence in shooting. You're right, though, they do subside.
 
514 for AMPS, 1.6u given
232 @ +4
473 for PMPS, 1.6u given

I'll be home tonight to watch her, so I decided to stick with 1.6.
 
Well, predictably enough I slept through my alarm :banghead:

PMPS 334, 1.4u given
287 @ +7

I'm not sure if the PM shot didn't all go in? Seems a very small drop for just past nadir.
 
182 @ +3
178 @ +6

I went out with friends once I was sure she was going to be in a safe range. Sometimes going out for beers with human friends is more interesting than watching TV at home with my four-legged friends ;)

415 for AMPS, 1.5u given

Bouncy bouncy. If I'd been home a little earlier I would have tested at +11 and likely given her shot then. But not an unexpected bounce for those nice blues!
 
182 @ +3
178 @ +6

I went out with friends once I was sure she was going to be in a safe range. Sometimes going out for beers with human friends is more interesting than watching TV at home with my four-legged friends ;)

415 for AMPS, 1.5u given

Bouncy bouncy. If I'd been home a little earlier I would have tested at +11 and likely given her shot then. But not an unexpected bounce for those nice blues!
Yes, we need a reminder sometimes that there's life beyond FD! :)
 
I'm a bit of a homebody anyway, but it still felt really nice to go out with my friends!

189 @ +5 - I gave her 3 Temptations treats to keep her from getting too low while I went back to sleep
81 for PMPS!! I had no idea, she was snuggled up to me and acting completely normal when I woke up. She didn't even eat more than her normal few bites of kibble from her dish. I'm thinking this is another one of her late-cycle visits from Mr P & I gave her 1/2 of her dinner and retested in a few hours
159 2 1/2hrs post meal!
191 after 40 more minutes, 1u given :)
 
One things settle in, maybe we can figure out how best to deal with her bounces and drops. We had a pretty good plan before things went south, right?
 
One things settle in, maybe we can figure out how best to deal with her bounces and drops. We had a pretty good plan before things went south, right?

We did have what I thought was a good handle on things before my attack of paranoia and the old vial of insulin. Now its wacky-time in Hermione land!

317 @ +4 last night
349 for AMPS, 1.4u given
65 @ +7!!!

I gave her a little of her Primal freeze dried food, and I'm going to recheck her in a few minutes. She was in her chair looking lazy, not distressed and not eating from her bowl of YA.
 
91 after 15 minutes.

If she was being a normal cat I wouldn't have given her any food at +7 and just retested in 15min. But with yesterday's unexpected green PMPS and the fact that she seems to be feeling a bit punky I didn't want her to get into real hypo territory. My vet is closed today and the nearest ER vet is 40 minutes away.
 
109 @ +7h 45 min.

She's also feeling more like herself, following me around and answering me when I talk to her. If Hermione doesn't talk back to me she's not feeling herself - that's how she got her name. She's got wacky hair and she has an answer for everything ;)
 
Lovely to see the blues and greens. Time to reduce the dose a smidge?

I think so, she's definitely being more sensitive right now!

248 for PMPS, 238 after 20min stall. 1u given. PMPS at +13

I stalled to see which way she's headed, it's within strip variance so I'll consider her holding steady. I was going to give a tiny increase for yellow to see if we could even out AM & PM but now I think it may be bouncing from the greens?
 
It'll be interesting to see how one unit does.. The 1.4 looks good for mid pink, but glad you were home. A lovely nadir but wouldn't have wanted more of a slide.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top