Hermione PMPS 172 dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
135 after 1.5hr stall, so no shot this AM!

If I don't sleep through my alarm I'll get a few more tests after she's eaten.
 
Well, it was nice while it lasted! Hopefully we'll get back there soon :)

574 2hrs after a can of FF classic with no insulin on board. I need to sleep and if I give her insulin now I'll be at work when she'd need her next shot. I'm interested to see where her blood sugar is when I get up.
 
Likely a bounce from those lows last night, but she did hang on for a long time. She earned a reduction last night so maybe 2 over 250. (You have enough data and can monitor so I think you could start shooting at 200 -just lower the dose to maybe 1.75/2 on the first cycle you can monitor.). And maybe 2 on the pinks, 3 on the Reds and blacks still looks good.

Her numbers/doses are changing fast, with her throwing some lows every so often. Hard to keep up with, but good news overall. You are doing a great job!
 
492 now, I'm going to retest in 20 minutes to see if she's going up or down before I shoot.

I'm so excited by how long she stayed in the blue yesterday!
 
You don't really have to stall unless she is near your No Shoot number. At this level, a dose will be fine. She is very unlikely to go down any significant amount, if any. We consider here amps and 492 in the same range and not a significant difference. Are you thinking 3 units and some monitoring?
 
She went down to 462 in 20 minutes. I know it's still high regardless, but I was curious which way she is trending. I'll go ahead & give 3u. I'm staying home from work today to keep an eye on her :)
 
109 at +6. I wonder if she's going to hold in the 100s again tonight? I'll check again in 20 to see if she's rising
 
I got distracted by my neighbor's dog getting out and tested her over an hour later than I planned.

She's at 58! O.O

I gave her gravy already and am hoping she's on her way up. I'll admit I freaked out a bit at how low she is, but she doesn't seem any worse for wear.

The dog is safely home too.
 
Good catch. You're getting lots of experience with lower numbers, Kimi! Wow! Big drop. So now we know 3 is too high for the reds; I am surprised! . Another dose reduction. She is needing less insulin daily -
 
76 after 20 minutes. Whew!

I had to look at the meter several times before it really sank in that she was that low. I'm wondering if she was in hypo territory while I was chasing that silly dog :(

Yes, I'm surprised too that 3 brought her down this far.
 
79 now at +9.

Gave a little more gravy. Maybe I'm not giving enough? I'm giving her about a teaspoon.
 
She's surfing along in a good range, above hypo range. If you can hang out with her, it's a good place for her to be - as long as she doesn't drop. You can give a little more gravy if you want.
 
Ok cool. Whew!

73 at +9.5 More gravy

Thanks SO much for the reassurance! Last night I wasn't too worried because she was 70, dropping and I kept close track. Tonight with the testing gap chasing the dog and how low she was when she's normally past nadir I'm feeling a bit of panic.

She's her normal cuddly self, so I know rationally she was ok while I wasn't checking her. But still I feel like a bad kitty mom ;)
 
A surf is nice. I do hope she is high enough to shoot next preshot. You are doing fantastically with her, while she is a challenge, needing less insulin all the time.
 
Back to blue! 107 @ +10

I hope she's high enough to shoot this am too. Needing less insulin is good but I don't like this crazy rollercoaster much ;)

I should definitely reduce her doses a bit though, shouldn't I?
 
Yes, you'll need to reduce. Unless she bounces up fast, looks like you will have to skip again. Maybe lower all the doses we discussed by 0.25 or even 0.5. We need to figure out a way to get two shootable preshots a day. Nerve wracking, but really encouraging news!
 
122 at +11

I'm really thankful to the people who discovered the Freestyle Lite test strips work in the AlphaTrak. These last two nights have been hard on my supply! And yes, I did test them with the same blood drop to make sure they were on the right code. :)
 
Bounce! I hope we can figure out how to avoid these hypo cycles soon! I think we just keep adjusting the dose down - which is a great thing to be doing. You did a great job last night - you are getting to be an expert.
 
408 at +6 - I wish I'd been able to get a +6 yesterday to compare with today. We'll see where she is in a few more hours.

Thanks, Sue! I'm not sure I'd call myself an expert yet, though, I'm just getting better at following the advice of the awesome people here like yourself :cat:
 
1u wasn't enough to keep up with the bounce, she was 523 +11 and 503 for AMPS.

I went with a reduction to 2.75u and am staying home again to watch. Fingers crossed for low but not too low!
 
Whoooo! Doing great! :) I know it's scary but it's encouraging that she's responding so well!
I remember the first night I gave insulin - hypo and all the folks on here kept me going the whole way through! I did panic a bit the next couple of low numbers but having gravy food to steer made me feel much happier! :smuggrin:
 
Hmm. Not sure. Maybe a bounce, maybe too low a dose. Another thing I notice is when she has a long cycle and a low preshot, the next cycle tends to be high. Not sure why, but there does seem to be a pattern. Bounce probably.

Let's see how tomorrow looks.
 
I lowered her by .25u for the black PMPS, maybe I should go back to 3 for black and go 2.75 for red?
 
280 @ AMPS

I drew 1u, but didn't get a good stick and some leaked back out. I'm guessing she only got .5u
 
She bounced back to 518 at +11 and 574 for PMPS. But that she hit blue from high yellow on only .5u makes me super happy!

Since this thread has gotten long again I'll make a new one
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top