Hermione PMPS 172 dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShipsCat

Active Member
After several days of nothing but red and black PS numbers Hermione had a lovely blue 172 today for PMPS!

I'm going to recheck in 15 more minutes (which will be 30 from PMPS) and haven't fed her dinner yet. If she's rising what - if any- dose should I give?
 
Beautiful! If she is rising and closer to 200 - like in the 190s+, I think maybe 2.2 And plan on a +2. Could you do a +6 too? 2.5 on a higher yellow gave you a 86 midcycle a few cycles ago so I think it is too high, especially going into overnight.
 
Also, it's mid afternoon here (I'm in Ohio) but I work nights so monitoring after PMPS is easy for me. I had dinner plans tonight but I'm cancelling them to keep and eye on Hermione ;)
 
I would rather see a rise before the shot. Is she dying for food or can you stall longer? Could you give her a little snack to Todd her over?
 
She's making sad faces at me about not getting her fancy feast but she can wait ;) I'll retest again at 20 more minutes.

What is the shoot/don't shoot point? I hate to keep you glued to your computer just to give us advice - although I SERIOUSLY appreciate it!
 
In the beginning, we think it is safest to use 200 as a no shoot number, because you have little data to suggest what she might do, how much she might drop. Once you have data, you can lower that number to 190/180. For me personally, I never advise a shot under 180 but some people do shoot 170 - and monitor carefully.

The other problem here is that we are not sure she is rising. If she'd surf at 172 for a few hours, a dose could drop her lower than we want. I'd like to see a rise, even to 180. Then I'd suggest lowering the dose - maybe to 2 units with careful monitoring.

I will be away for 30 minutes or so. Hope this gives you enough info to base a decision on...
 
We're at 210 after 1 1/2hrs. Since 1.75u brought her into green at 214 I'm giving her 1.75u again and will be monitoring her :)

What do I do for the next shot? Still at 12hrs? I know you will all be asleep at 1-2am like normal people ;)

Thanks a TON for being here for us!
 
THe dose sounds good. You can shoot 30 minutes early with no problems, as long as you are sure she is rising. We might expect a bounce from the low numbers. But I would reduce the dose a smidge so you get a shootable pmps.. So even if she is in the reds, I'd try a 2.5?
 
Thanks! I couldn't drag myself up to check her at +6 but she's 300 now at +11

I'm glad I checked to see if she's rising or falling for PMPS
 
303 for AMPS but she's feeling a little punky. I think its a hairball again, normal temp and she ate 3/4 of a can of FF. Reduced her dose to 2u and keeping an eye on her.
 
Nice blue 124 at +5! I'm glad I gave her a smaller dose since she didn't eat all her breakfast.

She's also back to her normal happy self. I didn't see her throw up a hairball, but I'm sure I'll find it later ;)

What do you all use as a hairball remedy? I noticed the stuff I used to use is basically sugar (malt syrup is the first ingredient) so I've stopped giving it to Hermione. She's semi-longhaired, and her litter brother who she grooms constantly IS a longhair. I brush them both, but Hermione has always been a bit prone to hairballs.
 
I think some folks use petroleum jelly. Might post on Health and ask? Or do a search on Health?
 
I think some folks use petroleum jelly. Might post on Health and ask? Or do a search on Health?

Awesome, thanks Rachel! It was a hairball, she threw it up in the bathroom on the tile floor. She's a considerate kitty.

And more awesome news, our PMPS is 189! So following the advice Saturday I'm stalling and rechecking in a bit. :)
 
Last edited:
325 at +5

I guess I could have given the 1.75u I gave Saturday after all. Not being around to monitor her makes me paranoid ;)
 
No worries. Every dose and every cycle gives you info. So now you know that level may need a little more insulin. But first and most importantly is that he is safe. And if you can't monitor, safe is always better.
 
I would have done exactly what you did. You got good info for next time, but as Sue said, she is safe, which is most important.
 
Thanks! I tend to second guess myself a lot, but having her high is WAY better than having a hypo - especially when I'm not home. I need to keep reminding myself that she's not going to get to normal levels right away!

I actually woke up for a +6 this morning, which is disappointingly 370. Now back to bed with my night-shift self...
 
Probably a bounce from the lower pmps. If this starts to look like a pattern, you could consider 13/11. So shoot the pmps at +13 rather than +12 (giving it time to rise) and shoot the amps at +11, before it rises so much.
 
That may be what she needs, Sue. She seems to be quite a bit higher at AMPS than PMPS lately.

PMPS is 263. Weird that it's lower than AM +6. I'm waiting 20min to get another test to see if she's headed up or down.

Once again thanks for all the advice!
 
322 after 20 minute stall. Gave 2.5u.

Her blood sugar is all over the map today :(
 
Last edited:
So she's at 66 now, I've called work. Should I recheck in another 20 or offer her a little high-carb food now?
 
You're using an AlphaTrak, right? Yes, I'd give a little high carb - pour the gravy off the food and give her a teaspoon or two of that. (You don't want to fill her up.) And test again in twenty minutes.
 
I think I'd give a little more gravy. She has come up a bit, but you need three rising tests before you relax. We need her moving into the 100s.

Nice job, keeping calm and doing all the right stuff.
 
She's at 91 now. I gave her a little bit more gravy.

I try to save my freaking out for after a crisis has passed ;) But having all the knowledge here really helps!

Should I lower her AMPS dose since she went so low?
 
Good. Looks like she will start up, but I'd still monitor awhile. The gravy raises the number. Once it is gone, she could drop. Not likely, but possible.

Yes, she earned a reduction. The 3 on the red and the 2 on the pinks look okay. Maybe just lower the dose for a yellow - maybe 2/2.25 for a mid 200, leaving 1.5/1.75 for numbers nearer 200? How does that sound? If you are around, maybe the higher of the choices; if you can't be around, maybe the lower? It's hard to know exactly what to do, because her numbers are lowering.
 
We're up to 101 now. I'll be sure to check her more tonight.

Those numbers sound great. I really can't thank you enough for all your help!
 
122 for AMPS! Stalling a bit to see which way she's trending. But it's down a smidge from an hour ago
 
124 after 30 min, 136 after an hour stall. Going to check again after 30 more min but looking like I might be skipping!

Hermione is getting grumpy about her delayed meal and I've got a terrible track record of sleeping when I should be testing near nadir ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top