Here we go again....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dana & Ninja

Member Since 2019
PMPS IS 156. I’m for 20 minutes but can’t stall longer than that because I have to work in the morning and won’t be here 12 hours later for the AMPS. Does that make sense. If he isn’t above 200 in 20 minutes do I skip his PM shot?
 
Hi Dana--I was hoping someone with more experience would be along for you....But I wonder if you might try a lower dose instead of a complete skip? (Assuming his numbers were going up?)
 
1.5

As you gather more test points from BG tests, you can lower the pre-shot number for your threshold. The threshold of 'stop and think' before giving this shot.
 
Last edited:
Not really a 911 situation. That would be if the BG readings were <50 mg/dL

Would you please remove the 911 from the title? Thanks Dana.
 
You have 60 minutes leeway on Prozinc. So if you need to stall and give the insulin 1 hour later than usual, you can still give the shot at the normal time in the next cycle.
 
Plenty high to give him his shot. You might even decide to give Ninja the 1.75U dose.

Rising number, from the 156 to the 195.
You won't be shooting insulin into a falling BG number.

1.75U should be fine.
 
Will remove the 911. I just wanted some help. I hate that I don’t know what to do in this situation. I worry if I skip he will be bouncing. I worry if I give the shot he will go hypo. Sorry. Just wanted help.
 
Last edited:
I just checked him he’s at 195.

When you stall, what you're stalling for is to see if the number goes up without food...you can see that he was at 104 at +8 and had climbed to 156 by PMPS.....right there that tells you that the last shot is starting to wear off and it's probably fine to go ahead and shoot.

Now you've stalled though and the number continued to rise, so that's even stronger evidence that the last shot is wearing off and it's safe to go ahead and shoot.

Hang in there! You'll get it!
 
Dana, you actually did know what to do.
You got a lower than normal BG reading at your pre-shot test time.
So you stalled without feeding and retested in 20 minutes.
That BG 20 minutes later was higher.
So you knew you would be shooting insulin into rising BG levels.

You are not used to giving insulin with the lower numbers - yet.
You'll get there.
 
When you stall, what you're stalling for is to see if the number goes up without food...you can see that he was at 104 at +8 and had climbed to 156 by PMPS.....right there that tells you that the last shot is starting to wear off and it's probably fine to go ahead and shoot.

Now you've stalled though and the number continued to rise, so that's even stronger evidence that the last shot is wearing off and it's safe to go ahead and shoot.

Hang in there! You'll get it!
Thank you! Whew! What a roller coaster!!
 
Dana, you actually did know what to do.
You got a lower than normal BG reading at your pre-shot test time.
So you stalled without feeding and retested in 20 minutes.
That BG 20 minutes later was higher.
So you knew you would be shooting insulin into rising BG levels.

You are not used to giving insulin with the lower numbers - yet.
You'll get there.
Lol! I’m like deer in the headlights when this kinda stuff happens!! I panic with my kitty, but not with my human patients!!! So weird!! Thank you Deb!! You are Ninja’s angel!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top