Testing at random mid cycle numbers gives you a lot of information which helps you treat and dose. If you don't get midcycle data, how do you know how low his numbers drop? How do you know how his food affects him? How do you know that it's doing anything?
For us, preshot numbers were typically high because the insulin was worn off at around +10. If it is +10 and you are feeding, and his numbers are rising, with PZI you could shoot then. But then your next preshot is at a different time... probably 10-12 hrs later.
Yes, when you feed 1.5 hours before testing, you are testing a food elevated number. If you want to see how much the specific food you feed, raises his sugar, test before food, at 30 min, at +1, +2, +3.
the normal routine, as was stated is test, feed, shoot:
-test before food, to avoid a food spike number. Sometimes Cody is so excited I have to feed before I can test- but then I do it immediately. It's raising the numbers almost immediately.
-feed before shot, so you know he has food on board for the insulin- some cats refuse to eat and you have a problem.
-shoot as soon after preshot meal as possible to let the insulin start working on that food-( to let it make glucose available to the cells throughout his body.)
In one of your early posts I suggested a shooting schedule that looked like it might work (if you can leave for dinner during your 2-10 shift). (around 5;30/6:30?)
If you want to know the normal onset, nadir, and duration of PZI, its written in the PZI stickies. Onset about 2 hrs, nadir +4-8, duration about +10, but of course ECID. Hope this helps you figure out what is best for you guys.