Hi Jill! It's newbie Melanie (and Ninja). Is this where we are supposed to post now related to Lantus questions – and not the general forum? For what it’s worth, I found this article helpful:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/dummies.htm -- once you get past the beginning stuff (keep scrolling down), it talks about goals of regulation, what curves should look like, when to increase dosages and what to look for. If you have already read, just disregard.
Since I am new too, this all seems pretty complicated to me as well; but I think this article does a pretty good job of explaining things. The good news is that the article says, once you get your kitty regulated - you will "get a big chunk of your life back" ... which was music to my ears. LOL!! From what I am reading, it looks like the hard part is in the beginning -- finding out what dose and type of insulin works best for your kitty -- to keep them their BG in the 100 to 200 BG range most of the day.
I think the frightening part for newbies (like me) is understanding...for example, if my cat Ninja has been receiving 1.5 units of Lantus for one week and is still consistently running numbers in the mid-300's, and the vet instructs me to increase her by ½ unit (to 2 units, twice a day) – is it likely that 2 units is going to put her into a hypo state? In other words… how much would an additional half unit of Lantus typically lower BG numbers in the average cat who is running numbers consistently in the mid-300’s (and yes, I know there is no such thing as an average cat …LOL). Do I have to test Ninja every hour and wake her from sleep to see if she is breathing…etc -- or is this 1/2 unit increase likely to drop her to 300 -- or is there anyway of knowing??
My vet said to test Ninja as normal and send her the results at the end of the week, and that if I could get a curve in this week (or two) that this would be helpful as well.
PS to Jill: You spoke in a post on Sunday about difficulties getting Caesar’s BG testing (having to apply additional restraint) – and I can completely empathize with you. I thought I had the discovered the secret of wrapping Ninja in a blanket (using a modified burrito technique), but Ninja has now decided that this is a game where she gets to play Houdini –I wrap her up and she gets to escape. She seems to enjoy that. LOL! But , honestly, I wasn’t laughing Sunday; in fact I was crying. She escaped 3 times and I finally had to let it go. Like another poster said, our anxiety translates to the cat’s comfort level – and when I’m screaming at Ninja and crying, the odds of creating a stress-free experience for her is zero. I just have to accept that I am not going to be perfect at this; keep trying, and let it go when the stress builds too high. Just wanted to let you know I am with you in spirit on the trials and tribulations of BG testing; and hope that once Ninja is better regulated, the stress will lessen.
