I will try tomorrow Am, so I can monitor closely. But here is a question, with a bouncy cat, that stays up for up to 3 days (as he did between the 25th and the 28th), wouldn't be dangerous to change doses based on those numbers? Should I wait to know that he is out of a bounce?
No it wouldn't, the dosing is based on how low a dose is taking a kitty we ignore the bounces, the high flat cycles we see in a bounce are a result of physiological reaction to either.
here is a definition of what we refer to as bouncing
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
In TR we wait a little longer on a dose if kitty is new to seeing green or blue, this gives us time for the bounce to clear and for CG to see if kitty can make it back to good numbers.
So if we look at your example. (for simplification, and illustration purposes I am going to ignore the skinny and fat doses)
Hercules started on 0.5u on Dec 21, he had a green nadir of 77 on the 3rd cycle, you shot a reduced dose on the 4th cycle due to a lower than usual nadir.
This resets the cycle count.
December 23rd now becomes cycle one on 0.5u, cycle 3 sees a green nadir of 97, because Hercules is new to greens you hold this dose for a minimum of 10 cycles (not 6). Cycle 10 bounce has cleared and he gets a nadir of 58 on the pm cycle of December 27.
With a 58, on TR you would have held that 0.5u, then waited to see where she landed once that bounce had cleared. (not much room for an increase with a nadir of 58) If the nadirs are not where you want them to be (usually normal range for TR) then you would take the dose up again, or hold for a little longer if nadirs are still in acceptable range.
In the beginning you may want to run dose increases by those with experience on the forum. Until you get a feel for Hercules patterns.
I tended to suffer from an ITF (itchy trigger finger) so checking with the forum kept me from taking the dose up too quick.
He has alsways been a food vaccum cleaner, and when I adopted his buddy she was hugely overweight.... so I need to figure out how to do it and how to check that it is working.... If you have some suggestions of where to look, I heartily thank you!
Hoover describes George exactly. He could never free feed, he would just stuff himself silly. He has become much better on the soft LC food, he's not anxious about food, but I swear he sets an alarm for his feeding times, you can set the clock by him.
Sepertating him from the civies is not a big deal for us, he's much older and grumpy and does not want to cuddle with them.
If you don't want to seperate them think of seperatin their food so they each only have access to their own food bowl.
There are microchip feeders that will only open for a specific cat, allowing them to free feed.
Or you can put the food in different rooms for each cat, giving them access via a microchip catflap.
You can make a feed station for each of them that only they can access, again via a micro chip cat flap.
One of our members made a private feeding station for her FD kitty, it doubled as a coffee table
here is the link to the thread and pictures of the finished item, it also includes a link to the instructions that she used to make it.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/private-feeder-enclosure-update.163525/
With George I used a feeder with four compartments that rotated, so that I could give him his snacks and have him eat small meals little and often. That way he got his snacks at night or when I was out. He got used to the noise it made and would run up to it the minute it went off, it also had the facility to record a message in your on voice calling him for a snack.