Hepatic Lipidosis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry & Tipper

Member Since 2011
Tipper's blood glucose was 574 at a check-up on 7/6. We'd noticed she was sluggish but were surprised by that result. She had a bout with diabetes in 2006 but went into remission after a few months on insulin. At the exam I mentioned that she seemed to have some mouth pain because she does this funny thing with her lip when she eats. The main focus of the visit was the diabetes and how to best treat her. Our vet suggested we try a low carb diet for a week or so. Did that. Lowered her BG but not by nearly enough. On 7/17 we started insulin at 0.5 unit once a day, then moving to twice a day as her BG was high at +12. She went back to the vet for another glucose check on 8/6. Still losing weight and her appetite had fallen off since starting the insulin. BG was still around 300 and vet recommended an increase to 1 unit per day. We agreed to start increasing toward that, monitoring her BG levels at home. I mentioned the mouth thing again and the vet (without looking) suggested we might want to schedule a dental if she kept doing it.

Long story short, her BG has been up and down since then, sometimes in the 100s, sometimes in the 300s, but her appetite continued to diminish. We were struggling to get her to eat last weekend and by Wed. she was just picking at her food. I even offered her dry KD kibble (which she loves) but she only took a little. I caught her in the litterbox and checked for ketones -- negative but noticed her urine was bright yellow. And she started having dry heaves. Yesterday I took her to a different vet. They looked in her mouth and she has very inflamed gums in the back on both sides. One side is so bad they said it's probably painful to even open her mouth. Urine sample taken via needle at vet was also bright yellow. Vet said it looks like hepatic lipidosis and we need to get her eating again, get her liver working, get the toxins out of her and address the bad teeth. Started her on SubQ fluids (100 ml/day) yesterday, also Clavimox (62.5 mg twice a day), Cyproheptadine (2 mg per day) and Denomarin for her liver. Today she went back to the vet, had an abdominal x-ray (nothing obvious but her liver is enlarged) and the vet added Baytril (22.7 mg once per day). Said blood results show obvious liver trouble and serious infection. Speculates there may be a hepatic abcess and also mentioned that at her age (she's 18) we could be dealing with a tumor.

I'm posting the yesterday's test results and the ones from last month -- and kicking myself for not posting last month's earlier. As I type them it's obvious something was going on with her liver 6 weeks ago but our vet was totally focused on the diabetes.

Tipper is not eating much on her own, even with the cypro. She's still having the dry heaves. I'm assist feeding her, but probably not enough just yet. Trying to get myself wrapped around this. She goes to her food bowl, but then turns away so I know she's nauseous. Is there anything that might help that? I'm still testing her BG and giving her insulin (only .4 Units since she's usually in the upper 200s but is not eating much). What do I need to watch for in terms of antibiotics and how that may interact with her BG levels? I know this is very serious, but as I said, I'm having trouble getting my head around this -- a week ago she seemed to be doing just fine except for being a little picky about her food. And most important, does anyone see anything else in the bloodwork that we should be paying attention to?

Thanks for listening,
Sherry

Tipper’s bloodwork from 8/19/11 and 7/6/11 (different vet offices) is below. The 7/6 results are in [brackets.] The 8/11 was done by Antech and the 7/6 by an IDEXX VetLab in-clinic lab.

Total protein: 7.9 g/dL (5.2-8.8) [9.1 g/dL (High) (5.7-8.9)]
Albumin: 3.1 g/dL (2.5-3.9) [3.1 g/dL (2.3-3.9)]
Globulin: 4.8 g/dL (2.3-5.3) [6 g/dL (High) (2.8-5.1)]
Albumin/Globulin ratio: 0.6 (0.35-1.5) [0.5]
AST (SGOT): 237 U/L (High) (10-100)
ALT (SGOT): 725 U/L (High) (10-100) [185 U/L (High) (12-130)]
Alk Phosphatase: 183 U/L (High) (6-102) [339 U/L (High) (14-111)]
GGTP: 5 U/L (1-10)
[GGT: 3 U/L (High) (0-1)]
Total Bilirubin: 7.1 mg/dL (High) (0.1-0.4)
[TBI: 0.3 mg/dL (0-0.9)]
Urea Nitrogen: 33 mg/dL (14-36) [45 mg/dL (High) (16-36)]
Creatinine: 2.5 mg/dL (High) (0.6-2.4) [2.5 mg/dL (High) (0.8-2.4)]
BUN/Creatinine ratio: 13 (4-33) [18]
Phosphorus: 4.0 mg/dL (2.4-8.2) [5/1 mg/dL (3.1-7.5)]
Glucose: 273 mg/dL (High) (64-170) [574 mg/dL (High) (71-159)]
Calcium: 9.1 mg/dL (8.2-10.8) [10.3 mg/dL (7.8-11.3)]
Magnesium: 2.0 mEq/L (1.5-2.5)
Sodium: 148 mEq/L (145-158) [161 mmol/L (150-165)}
Potassium: 4.1 mEq/L (3.4-5.6) [4.8 mmol/L (3.1-7.5)]
Na/K ratio: 36 [34]
[OSM calc: 356 mmol/kg]
Chloride: 114 mEq/L (104-128) [277 mmol/L (112-129)]
Cholesterol: 332 mg/dL (High) (75-220) [277 mg/dL (High) (65-225)]
Triglycerides: 112 mg/dL (25-160)
Amylase: 1227 U/L (High) (100-1200)
Lipase: 68 U/L (0-205)
CPK: 105 U/L (56-529)
WBC: 19.1 10**3/microL (High) (3.5-16) [10.03K/microL (2.87-17.02)]
RBC: 5.45 10**3/microL (Low) (5.92-9.93) [6.78 K/microL (6.54-12.2)]
Hemoglobin: 9.1 g/dL (Low) (9.3-15.9) [11 g/L (9.8-16.2)]
Hematocrit: 27.4 % (Low) (29-48) [32.6% (30.3-52.3)]
MCV: 50 fL (37-61) [48.1 fL (35.9-53.1)]
MCH: 16.7 pg (11-21) [16.2 pg (11.8-17.3)]
MCHC: 33.2 g/dL (30-38) [33.7 g/dL (28.1-35.8)]
[RDW: 20.7% (15-27)]
Platelet Count: 464 10**3/microL (200-500) [318 K/microL (151-600)]
Platelet EST: Adequate
[Retics: 12.9 K/microL (3-150)]
[%Retics: 0.2%]
Neutrophils: 14898 10**9/L (High) 78% (2500-8500) [5.95 K/microL (1.15-10.29)]
[%NEUT: 59.3%]
Bands: 0 /microL 0% (0-150)
Lymphocytes: 2674 14% (1200-8000) [3.01 K/microL (0.92-6.88)]
[%LYMPHS: 30%]
Monocytes: 955 (High) 5% (0-600) [0.62 K/microL (0.05-0.67)]
[%MONOS: 6.2%]
Eosiniphils: 573 3% (0-1000) [0.36 K/microL (0.17-1.57)]
[%EOS: 3.6%]
Basophils: 0 0% (0-150) [0.09 K/microL (0.01-0.26)]
[%BASO: 0.9%]
T4: 1.0 mg/dL (0.8-4.0) [0.8 microg/dL]
Urinalysis
Color: Dark Yellow
Appearance: Slightly Hazy (Clear)
Specific Gravity: 1.020 (1.015-1.060)
pH: 6.0 (5.5-7.0)
Protein: 1+ (High) (Neg)
Glucose: 3+ (High) (Neg)
Ketone: Negative (Neg)
Bilirubin: 2+ (High) (Neg)
Urine bilirubin verified by Ictotest
Blood: Trace (Neg)
WBC: None (0-3)
RBC: None (0-3)
Casts: None seen
Bilirubin crystals: 2-3
Amorphous Crystals: 11-20
Bacteria: None seen (None)
Epithelial Cells: None seen
 
Hi, there. I'm so sorry Tipper has Hepatic Lipidosis.

I can't really help interpreting the blood work or anything, but my non-diabetic cat, Daisy, had this about 3 years ago. She was completely jaunidced (when the vet showed me how yellow the whites of her eyes were, and her ears, I couldn't believe I hadn't noticed). Anyway, she was an obese cat who just went off her food one day and I couldn't get her to eat anything, which is what ultimately caused the HL. We ended up putting in a feeding tube and after about 2 weeks, she was stabilized and started eating on her own, and the HL went away.

Did your vet discuss a feeding tube as an option? My regular vet had actually thought she was too far gone and needed to be put down, but I took her to a specialist vet and they put the tube in and sure enough, she eventually started eating on her own again. She was about 12 at the time (now she's 15 and healthy).

So, I just wanted to mention that and maybe it's something to discuss with your vet, although maybe she's too ill for the surgery.

Sorry I can't help with your specific questions about the blood work.

i hope she gets better very soon.
 
Yes, the new vet mentioned a feeding tube as an option. She wants to do an ultrasound on Monday to get a better handle on the liver situation and I think we should discuss the tube options then. What sort of tube did your kitty have? I've just started reading about this and there seem to be different kinds. Thank you for the reply, it's good to hear a success story. Tipper has always been a good eater and of all the cats we've had, I never dreamed she'd be the one who ended up with HL.

We had another cat with HL about 10 years ago. Feeding tube was never mentioned as an option and we just weren't able to get enough food in him and he got worse and worse. It was awful. So good to know it doesn't have to end that way now.

Sherry
 
Hi, Sherry.

We got the tube in the stomach, but I've heard the tube that goes in the neck works well too. I had to blend up her food and feed her through the tube ... I was supposed to do it 6 times a day, but had a horrible work schedule and was only able to do it like 3 times a day, but it worked out. It was difficult at first, - Daisy is not a cooperative cat. More than one I ended up sprayed with arms covered in ground up cat food (yuck) But, thankfully, we got through it. If you are going to get a tube, the sooner the more likely it will be successful, from what I understand.

Here's some info about both kinds:http://www.catinfo.org/?link=feedingtubes

Hope that helps. Let me know how things go with Tipper. It's so frustrating when they just won't eat. I really hope she will recover...PS...glad you found a new vet!
 
Oh Sherry! Im so sorry to hear about your kitty!! My cat Garland got FHL after a bad episode of DKA last week. She has a feeding tube in right now (e tube). Its the ONLY way we can get food into her. I use recovery and mix it with clinicare to make it slushy to push it through the tube. Its hard work, but totally worth it in the end. Sending good healing vibes to your little one!
 
Well, Tipper had no interest whatsoever in food this morning, in spite of the cypro. So I'm still syringing food into her. Chose to use some Science Diet which we had (used to feed it to her) since it's pretty smooth and probably not something we'll be offering her as regular food in the future. Not sure if this is a valid concern, but I worry that she'll hate anything she gets by syringe. Anyway, her BG was pretty high this morning, I guess because I got quite a lot of high carb food into her yesterday and last night. Now wondering if I should be doing this with a lower carb food since high BG makes it harder for her to metabolize enough food. Maybe one of the EVO foods?

I'm sorry to hear others are in the same boat with HL, but it's really good to hear that this can be dealt with successfully. Thanks so much to all who have responded and best wishes to your fur babies.

Sherry
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top