Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Member Since 2010
My sister and family just left to go back home on Monday.
My mom had to have her 15 year old kitty, Coal that I told everyone about that was having spinal issues from arthritis and dragging back legs put to sleep the afternoon before my sister arrived to visit. She was getting worse by the day and didn't even want to get off her mat to scoot around, potty, eat or walk in the sling.
It was heartbreaking for both my mother and I. We raised her from only a few days old. Her littermate Amber was acting very depressed even before Coal died, but shes perked up a little now.
Our vet came out to Mom's house to give Coal the injection and she passed peacefully in Mom's lap. We buried her in the backyard between 2 turkey oaks.
Mom really did not have time to grieve before my sister came in and I know it will hit her hard now; Coal always greeted her at the door if she was gone and came home.

I am so far behind on my ss I don't know when I will catch up but will try to do it soon.
Henry went to the vet last Wed. just for a check up and vacs. All his bloodwork was normal except for glucose of course. Ketones were neg.
His eye pressure was elevated in both eyes ( he has Glaucoma) and we added back in a second eye drop that we discontinued before when his pressure went down to normal. He had a recheck yesterday and pressure was down in both eyes one to normal level and the other had dropped 5 points.
Hes been running in the mid to upper 300's for AMPS, few days lower 400's and upper 100's to low 200's at nadir and mostly lower to mid 300's for PMPS. Yesterday he started at 360 and was down to 193 by 3 1/2 hours from shot and surfed along.
I will try to get some recent BGs posted for him later.
Going to catch up on everyone now.
 
So good to hear from you Angela. Sounds like Henry is doing good. Sorry to hear about your mom's cat. I know it's so hard to loose a kitty that you have had for so long. Sounds like he went peacefully. It's always better when they can die in their own house and not the vet.

lori
 
Glad to see you, Angela. Sounds like Henry is still up to his usual tricks. I am sorry to hear about your Mom's kitty. It is so hard to lose our precious friends.
 
Hi Angela, I am sorry about your Mom's cat. It is so hard to lose our babies.

Tell BIG HEN we want to see some Greens and Blues!

Like I told Lisa, I won't comment on the Spreadsheet!!!!
 
Hi Angela -

Just popped over to check in on my PZI friends, and there you were! Sounds like Henry is being really good for you. Does the Glaucoma or the (I'm guessing steroids in the) shots impact his BGs? My dog Kirby had glaucoma and between her and several other kitties in the house, it seemed like we were "frequent flyers" at the vet opthamologist! But like I've said before, "I don't go to the GP for eye issues; why should my pets?"

Good for you, staying on top of everything! How's your grandma doing? Sorry to hear about your mom's cat; nice that you could be there with her.

I'm not a daily poster any more, and when I do, it's either on Lev or Lantus TR. Most of the time, Grayson & I have been on the [closed group] Acro site on Facebook. He seems to be doing well - either we're finally getting close to the dose, the insulin resistance is breaking, or the SRT is starting to kick in (although it's only been 4 weeks - kinda soon).

Hope to see you here again soon. Take care,

Lu-Ann
 
I'm so glad Grayson is doing well, Lu and glad to hear from you.
Henrys still doing pretty good. Had an pressure recheck last Tuesday and its coming back down.
He had some kind of swelling on his right side I noticed it on Friday, he had vacs about a week and 2 days prior to that and don'r know whether this is where he had shots? It has went down now and seems to have a big scab there so I thought maybe it was an cyst or something that drained. For now I'm keeping an eye on it.
He needs to have his teeth cleaned again (had them done last July) and since his bloodwork was all normal other than glucose at his checkup will only have to have pre procedure EKG so will save a little on costs. Hes scheduled for cleaning on Sep.11.
I am working on ss now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top