Henry Jul 1- July 8 and question about U40 syringes for PM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Member Since 2010
We are still at same increase of June 30, 4.1- 4.2 for AM and 4,3 for PM
Numbers are about the same, some days flat, some days drop at nadir.
I will be leaving Tuesday morning for a few days, DH has given two shots so far and was able to do so w/o difficulty.
Want to ask a question about syringes....I normally use the 3/10 cc's made by Ulti Care that contain 12 units and have markings for each unit.
I have run out of those, have more ordered and have Ulti Care syringes, 1/2 cc that hold 20 units and have markings for each unit with only numbers at each 5 unit mark that DCIN had sent me.
I drew up 5 U water in the 3/10 cc syringe that holds 12 units I normally use, then shot it into a cup and used the larger 1/2 cc syringe that holds 20 U and drew 5 U and they seem to be the same; the syringe on these just looks bigger. This is all I have to shoot with tonight, Just would like to confirm they are the same?
Both have 1/2 inch needles and are for U40 insulin, manufactured by Ulti and have red caps.

Jul 1
AMPS 445 4.1 U
+4 274
+6 264
PMPS 424 4.3U

Jul 2
325/423/466 no idea whats right , all taken within 1-2 minutes of each other 4.1 U
+4 343
+6 376
PMPS 352 reduced slightly number dropped a little 3.9 U

Jul 3
AMPS 414 4.1 U
+4 301
+6 250
PMPS 321 4.3 U

Jul 4
AMPS 433 4.1 U
+4 320
+6 240
PMPS 402 4.3 U

July 5
AMPS 430 4.1 U
+4 306
+6 267
PMPS 341 4.3 U

Jul 6
AMPS 444 4.2 U
+4 320
+6 250
PMPS 398 4.3 U

July 7
AMPS 425 4.2 U
+ 4 352
+7 256
PMPS 399 4.3 U

Jul 8
AMPS 444 4.2 U
+4 262
+6 234
PMPS 350 4.3 U
 
Re: Henry Jul 1- July 8 and question about U40 syringes for

Angela I wish I could answer your question about syringes. Syringes are the one thing that scare me & I don't know much about. I find them confusing.
Since you posted this afternoon & nobody responded. Post it in health. You will get a response maybe a little quicker. It seems PZI is quite lately.

Way to go DH for taking care of big Henry!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: Henry Jul 1- July 8 and question about U40 syringes for

Well I just gave him his shot with the 1/2 cc U40 syringe.
Just found out from Hock's the 3/10 cc U40's I had ordered are on backorder and are holding up my whole order including his Bayer test strips. I have to call them tomorrow.
I did find this in archives so I think we are ok:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=19456
Thanks Jenn.
Makes me nervous nailbite_smile any change, but I am sure they are the same...1 unit is first mark on 1/2 cc, on the 3/10 cc each unit is marked with a number, on the 1/2 cc only 5 unit intervals are marked with a mark and 5 U measurement, each mark w/o number is 1 U. The 3/10cc holds 12 U and the 1/2 cc holds 20U.
I just am used to the 3/10cc, all we've ever used, both have red caps and are marked on package for U-40 insulin.
I had to shoot early tonight to start getting ready for when I leave Tuesday morning, the DH will have to give his shots Tuesday night through Thursday morning.
 
Re: Henry Jul 1- July 8 and question about U40 syringes for

Syringes should be fine. Larger capacity generally has a wider barrel & may be harder to read, but dosing should be consistent.
 
Re: Henry Jul 1- July 8 and question about U40 syringes for

Angela,
If they are both u40, then you're good to go. Lots of variables depending on who makes them. Outside or inside diameter can be different. So can the thickness of the walls.
If you are familiar with beer cans at all...put a can of Budweiser, a can of Coors light, and a can of Michelob ultra side by side. Don't look at all the same, but they each hold 12 ounces...
Carl
 
Re: Henry Jul 1- July 8 and question about U40 syringes for

Gotcha, the beer can comparison works for me.... :lol:
 
Re: Henry Jul 1- July 8 and question about U40 syringes for

Wish Henry would decide to go lower for you. Maybe when you get back from your trip, another small increase?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top