Henry 6/10-6/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Member Since 2010
6/10
AMPS 364 3.8 U
+4 244
+6 220
PMPS 393 3.9 U

6/11
AMPS 402 3.8 U
+4 257
+6 261
PMPS 361 3.9 U

6/12
AMPS 399 3.8U
+4 258
+6 229
PMPS 315 3.9 U

6/13
AMPS 453 3.8 U
+4 290
+6 263
PMPS 355 3.9 U

6/14
AMPS 368 3.8 U

I have been incapacitated with muscle spasms again, and pain in breast. Went to doctor Tuesday and muscle relaxant was changed and starting to get better. Also had a mammogram and have large benign fluid filled cyst. Had several a few years ago that were benign. Everything checked out ok but very stressful! Haven't been on much to check on everyone but I am trying to catch up.
Henry is still getting ear drops to clear up fungal? infection and his ear is looking better but still will put drops in for a few more days.
 
I'm sorry you have been having health problems, Angela, and Henry too. No nice low surprises from Henry, but if he has had an infection that may have kept his numbers a little higher.
 
+4 270
+6 289 (taken right as a thunderstorm and heavy downpour was starting...Big Hen ran for his hiding spot under the bed as soon as test was done)
 
Sorry to hear about your health problems, Angela and Henry, too. I hope y'all are feeling better soon!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Sorry to hear you're both going throughsome stuff. Hoping you'll both be up and around and feeling good very soon!
 
Oh Angela, I'm sorry you and Henry are both having health issues, but I am glad that the cyst is benign.

Sending good health vibes to you both.
 
Angela, sorry you and Big Hen are both having health issues. I am so glad the growth was a cyst and was benign.
I hope you both feel better soon!

Keeping you and Big Hen in my thoughts and prayers.
 
I have been thinking about our longer term PZI cats and wondering if we are too cautious with the dosing, Angela. I notice several beans are thrilled with their numbers in Levemir but they increased by almost double in dose from their PZI days before getting consistently good numbers. Maybe we aren't giving these cats enough insulin to pass that glucose toxicity issue. (Did you read that thread?) What do you think about increasing Henry's dose when you will be around to monitor? I know he sometimes throws you a green when you have done that in the past, but maybe we need to accept that green and not back off?

Just my musings. If it sounds too scary, disregard.
 
Great observation, Sue! I have to get ready for work but I'll add more later tonight.
Carl
 
I've been doing some thinking lately.... I wish I'd done a better job of data collection and SS stuff when Bob was on PZI. Bob (I think) was probably "overdosed" when I was giving him insulin. I shot some pretty scary high doses into some fairly low numbers, and didn't get nadir tests while doing so. So I don't know how many times Bob lived in the greens. If I knew that for sure, I'd be more willing to encourage people to do what I did probably.

Sue is right. We've looked at a couple former PZIers who went to Lev, and yes, their numbers have improved. But they've also in a couple of cases increased their doses to numbers they never even considered shooting while on PZI. I'm thinking "you can't argue with success" though. Perhaps, in general, we shoot less than we need to? I know speaking only for me, a large part of that is "Hey, I don't want to be the guy who tells you to increase and then see your cat go hypo". That's just a self-defense mechanism in me. I understand "you hold the needle" and all that... but when you get to a point where you are advising a lot of people on a lot of different things, eventually, people start to think "Hey, he's been right before....." so there's a lot of "responsibility" that goes with being a person who is tossing advice out there to people, and I take that pretty seriously. So the natural tendency is to hold back at times, and be cautious.
Anyways... a couple of things...

1 - the whole glucose toxicity thing. Kitty needs to get out of the high numbers as quickly as possible. The sooner you get the numbers down, the less damage the body is taking, and the better the chances that healing and/or remission can take place. Even with the "L"s, if you read the studies that resulted in the protocols, the best chances of remission are in the first few months of treatment. 84% is a pretty impressive number, isn't it? The fine print though is
"More recent work has also shown that already treated diabetic cats which have not gone into remission with Caninsulin/Vetsulin and a low carb diet can achieve remission upon switching to Lantus. Significantly higher remission rates are achieved in cats switched to Lantus within 6 months of diagnosis (84%), compared to those cats switched later (35%)."
Nevermind the switching thing. What I find important is the rate of remission during the first 6 months vs. later. The sooner the numbers are controlled/regulated, the better.

2 - Protocol - This is something that I think (and Sue and I have discussed recently) we really need with Prozinc. I hope "L" users don't take this the wrong way, because it isn't meant as a slight in any way, but they have it "easier" than we do with this. There is a published protocol that they can follow. Very clear cut guidelines and rules to follow for doses, and when to increase or decrease their doses. While they can have all sorts of wonky stuff going on just like we do, their protocol is sort of like an "autopilot" to some degree. IF something isn't working, then you take the next step. You increase by .25. stick with it for X days, and then reevaluate and adjust accordingly. I used to think they tested a lot more, and around the clock. But while some of them do, they aren't required to do that. A lot of us test just as often, or more often, than a lot of them do. The major difference is that they have a set of rules that tell them what to do next. We don't. We have lots of history, and lots of spreadsheets to look at, but we don't have a study that set out a clear protocol of "what to do next". You can look and google but there isn't a "Prozinc Protocol" out there for us to follow. There is a study that tested Prozinc against the PZI IDEX or whatever it was called. But that study was done simply to verify that Prozinc was a good enough alternative to the old PZI, so that Prozinc could be marketed as a suitable replacement for an insulin that was being discontinued.
So what we need is some guidelines, some proven method of using Prozinc that will help all the P kitties out there. So what do we do? Invent one? Can we somehow compile a set of "rules" or guidelines to follow? I don't know?

Anyway, didn't mean to hijack your thread, Angela. But what Sue mentioned makes sense to me. Henry is already getting pretty high doses compared to many kitties. And the numbers, at times, have been really decent. But maybe you could increase when it's possible to monitor, and see if he can be "forced" into the greens, ignore any bounces, and just see if by making him live in greens and blues more often, then maybe his overall numbers will come down? What has always confused me with Big Hen, and one of the reasons I don't "advise" much in your threads, is that I just don't understand why sometimes it looks like he does great, and then for some unknown reason, it just stops happening. I don't "get that". He's a mystery to me.

Sorry for rambling...
Carl
 
I appreciate the input, Carl and Sue.
And I think you may be right about the glucose toxicity idea and how some of us tend to be more cautious in dosing.
I don't understand Henry's ups and downs either.
Especially the high AMPS. Now at least most of the time, he doesn't have the long duration with low PMPS numbers.
I think I will try to increase a little; hitting the 4 U mark scares me a bit.
What really confuses me is sometimes when I have backed down a little, he gets better numbers for awhile.
There was a period where he was getting really good numbers back before he had his teeth cleaned and before he had the outbreaks of bumps around his eye/ear that I think was an allergy.
Nothing about it makes sense to me.
At least lately hes been under the 400 mark for AMPS most days.
What really confuses me is on the days he is in the 400's in the morning, most times he gets more of a drop at nadir percentage wise than on the days he starts off in the 300's, at lot of times hes kinda flat on those days or doesn't get as much of a drop percentage wise on the same dose, that I don't understand.
I still cannot get into my spreadsheet to update for some time, sorry. I have contacted Google.
Thanks for your help.
When I am going to be home for several days most of the day, I will try increasing again. I am worried when I am going on a trip to the beach with family in early July about how hubby will do with giving him his shots. Neither of us has done the shots alone. Hes great with testing, estimating dose if changing and drawing up insulin, hes just never actually given him the shot, I've always done it.
I will update his BGs for yesterday and today later.
Thanks Sue for always keeping an eye on us and Carl your advice is usually spot on.
None of us would know what to do without your help.
 
Hello Angela and Everyone,

Angela, wishing you and your sweetie quick return to good health.

I agree with Sue and Carl's musings. Although I had not updated Pudge's ss since starting tid (cycles flew by too fast and I'm all thumbs with computers - my old stalling one!), I mostly chased BG numbers rather than strict cycles. I do wonder if my thinking that ProZinc didn't last in Pudge fully 12 hours was a function of his not being on high enough dose rather than duration of ProZinc. I chased the magic BG of 200. With great trepidation, at times, I injected a bit more insulin at unscheduled times, such as when his BG was rising past 200 (I'm not advocating that anyone else do this: very scary) which in retrospect seemed to function like the larger dose which, most likely, I should have given him at PMPS or AMPS.

I was so exhausted by the constant vigilance, pokes, and injections that I cried on many occasions and I'm not a weepy person - I'm more of a fighter. If Pudge ever needs insulin again, I'll give him higher doses.

Best wishes to all the beans and kitkats, Sophie (and Pudge, Angel and Spitfire)
 
Angela,

So glad to hear it's benign. I know that can be scary. Sorry to hear about Henry's whooo's too. I get so frustrated too when i can't figure out copper. He goes good and than bad. FD is a strange disease. Very unpridicable. I know what you are going through!

Hope the new doses work well for Henry and your recovery is good!

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top