Henry 3/3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
AMPS 461 Gave 1.5 since he was considerably higher than yesterday AM instead of bumping down.
+4 294
+6.5 345
Much higher this afternoon than usual.
I can never figure out what kind of day he'll have. I have noticed when he stays in blues from +4 - +12 he usually has higher BG's the next day. Should be able to give a shot tonight tonight with these BGs . Keeping paws crossed,
Tomorrow I will be dropping him off at vet after his shot in the morning so they can get a urine culture to send off and see if he needs to continue antibiotic after Sunday. I am going to make sure he eats a whole can of FF before he goes because he refuses to eat while there, I always send a can of food and some chicken treats but he won't eat them. I'll send his meter and strips so they can check him at least at +6 and watch if getting low since he won't eat there. He usually will not pee there either until almost closing time at 6:00 so he usually is there awhile which he doesn't like. A normal culture done there is usually 25.00 but since this was gram negative it has to be sent to CA and costs 90.00 plus they charge a little to check his BG but not like if I don't bring his meter and strips. :(
 
Can they do a needle aspiration in his bladder? That is what my vet does.

We do seem to have a number of kitties that do well one day with nice numbers and bounce the next day. Not sure what that means.
 
I will ask about the needle aspiration if he doesn't go within a reasonable amount of time. Usually at home he doesn't go that often since we have been treating the diabetes, he'll go early morning, mid afternoon to early evening and then late night.
Will post his +12 after 9:00 pm.
 
Angela&Henry said:
I have noticed when he stays in blues from +4 - +12 he usually has higher BG's the next day.

That can be liver training - a cycle of nice #s (with no steep drop and no dangerous lows) followed by a cycle of reds I have generally seen explained as their liver reacting to #s it isn't used to. If they spend enough time in the good #s, that should settle down on its own. Not sure if that is what is happening in his case, but it could be.

Did you end up giving a shot the last 2 nights? I didn't see a dose in the SS, but maybe you just haven't entered it? Not sure. If you did skip the shot, I would say go ahead and give a lower dose instead - if he is over 150 but below 200, maybe try 1u or something, hopefully that would help him keep the #s from going so high overnight, without undue risk of low #s.

You might want to try 1.75. I'm not sure what's going on, but I probably wouldn't reduce the dose especially with these higher #s today. Unless he drops to a blue PS tonight, then that could mean the dose is actually too high.

It's really confusing with the variance he's got between the AM & PM PSs. If you end up getting some bed-time data, hopefully that will help make some sense of it. Sometimes one key data point can really shed some light on what is going on. Could be he his hitting green #s overnight and then having either real rebound, or maybe liver training, from that. And then that might explain the drops during the day too, if it's rebound wearing off combined with the insulin working. Or it could just be not enough insulin, and he is going higher overnight. Puzzling, but hopefully as you get more data it will make more sense. It's only been a few days at BID, so maybe just too soon to tell.
 
Well he's plenty high for a shot tonight; +12 280 gave 1.5 U, still this is lower than his +6 BG and +4 BG, and much lower than AMPS today. I think I will stay at 1.5 for a few days longer. tomorrow will be stressful while hes at vet during the day they will test him but don't know how accurate it will be with him being stressed and also he usually won't eat there.
I just can make no sense of these BGs.
I am headed to bed if I wake up during the night I will test him to see.
As soon as I get to Wally World I am going to get him a self feeder.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top