Henry 1/14- 1/18

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Very Active Member
1/14/12
AMPS 418 @ +10 3.5 U
+4 245
+6 250
PMPS 432 @ +14 3.8 U

1/15/12
AMPS 430 @ +10 3.5 U
+4 284
+ 6 305
PMPS 387 @ +14 3.8 U

1/16/12
AMPS 440 @ +10 3.5 U
+1 312
+4 255
+6 331
PMPS 341 @ +14 3.8 U

1/17/12
AMPS 455 @ +10 3.5 U
+4 270
+6 220
PMPS 299 @ +14 3.8 U

1/18/12
AMPS 424 @ +10 3.5 U
+4 262
+6 242
PMPS 297 @ +14 3.8 U

Today will be day 5 of increase of PM dose to 3.8
Look at the +1 on 1/16 at +1 almost 130 point drop, just checked on a whim.
Everything on ss is updated.
Got another vial of PZ today as current one won't last until his apt. on Jan.31
Have been depressed and not felt like posting BGs, feel like a failure.
 
Don't feel like a failure. He's spendin most of the day in decent numbers-just shooting sky high at the end of the cycle. At least he's not STAYING that high all day. Hang in there. Hope something works.
 
Thank you Lisa. His PMPS have been a little lower, maybe the increased dose at PMPS is helping him, I'll give it a bit longer to see.
 
Angela, I'm feeling the same way right now. Not sure what the weather is like where you live, but in Kentucky, January is fickle. The temperature keeps bouncing around, 50 for a few days, then down to 15, then back up to 50 (with three tornados?!), now back down to the teens... The daffodils are poking their little shoots up through the soil one day, only to freeze the next. People here are starting to go a little nuts...January is making people crazy. Literally.

...and the same thing is going on inside my house. Melville was doing well for a week or so with lots of blues and yellows. Now, we're back to reds and pinks. He's starting to get cranky, which makes giving him his shots difficult.

I am curious about your dosing schedule. It seems like you have a +10/+14 pattern going on. Could you tell me about this? I'm curious about the circumstances behind it. (Sorry if you've gone into this already. I'm having trouble keeping track of everyone's cats).

Eric
 
Hi Eric, yeah thats what the weathers been like here too, in the 20's at night 40's during the day, then a few days later in the 50's at night, 70's during the day, back and forth.
Everyone is cranky here too and I have had a horrible cold since Friday.
The reason for Henry's unconventional shooting schedule is because his AMPS has always been much higher than his PMPS, and by giving his PMPS shot at +14, I was hoping to get the AMPS down lower since its a shorter time until his AM shot by giving the PM shot at +14. Until October his PMPS numbers were always in the 200's and sometimes 150< range with long duration. For awhile, this seems to have been working, his AMPS BGs were in lower 300s and upper 200's until October when he had a bacterial infection on his face that my vet thinks was caused from an allergy, food or ? that he scratched and rubbed that got infected. He took antibiotics and I applied anti-bacterial ointment and the bumps cleared up, but ever since hes had the higher AMPS's and his PMPS's have also been higher. Hes had a recurrence of the rashy bumps again lately that I am treating.
The 12/12 schedule just didn't seem to work for him, Joanna and Sue suggested I try the 10/14 schedule to try to lower his AM BGs.
 
Angela you are not a failure, I have the same problem with callies ps alway in 400's but her mid cycle numbers have been ok so we dance on dancing_cat this is such a hard dance and most of the time it sucks ! when you see other kitties go otj in such a little amount of time ( which I am happy for eveyone of them) thats what I strive for, for callie it makes you think what am I doing wrong (nothing) we do the same as them every day it just ECID hang in there you are doing great and your not alone ! :smile:
 
Angela,

Don't give up! Looks like Henry responds better on 3.5u(ie. 16th and 18th). Maybe just stay at the 3.5 for at least 3days, stick to the 12 to 12 schedule and see what happens. My cat, copper, has the same problems. One day he is good, the next bad. Gets frustrating because sometimes it seems they take 2 steps forward and 3 steps backwards. Your Henry needs you!

Just keep posting and keep us updated. Everyone here is so supportive and encouraging. We all are and have been through the same thing.

Hang in there!

Lori
 
Oh Angela,
please dont say that, or feel that
you are so wonderful with Henry and he is so lucky to have you as his mama..
this is just a really tough disease, that is all
hopefully the increase will help the numbers come down
just give him alittle time to settle into it
Hang in there and I hope you feel better soon!
Denise and Shakes
 
There are NO FAILURES here! We all know how frustrating this dance can be, but these are the LUCKY cats! You are doing everything possible for Big Hen. Keep your head up and keep dancing!
 
Oh Angela,
I'm sorry you're feeling down in the dumps and I must tell you, I know exactly how you feel. From my logical side, I know that all kitties aren't capable of going OTJ, but from my emotional side, I wonder what the hell I'm doing wrong and why I can't get Alex OTJ. It can become frustrating and depressing.

As other have expressed though, just think how much better off Big Hen is with you as his caretaker. Even though the numbers may not reflect it all the time, you are doing a wonderful job with Henry.
 
Angela, I agree, the are no failures here. We are all doing the best we can with new problems thrown at us all the time.
Big Hen is SO lucky to have you as a momma. You hang in there thru good and bad. Many people wouldn’t do that.
Kudos to you.
This is that depression time of year. I fight it everyday. Less light with the shorter days, and up here in the great white north it is cold and gray and blahhhhhhhhhh. (I know you MN folk have it rougher than me, you are tough!) I am sure there is something down there that makes winter blahhhhhhh too.

Spring will come, better numbers will come. We have to be positive.
 
Thank you all SO much!
I usually am optimistic but just have been so discouraged lately.
Thanks everyone for reminding me what is important and I will try to remember that he is so much better than when we first started and hes feeling really good, running up on all hocks now, chasing his brothers again and doing all the things he liked to do before FD.
I get discouraged, then I come here and all of you, your kindness and support lifts me up!
I will post Henry's numbers in a new thread later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top