Hi,this is our first day of the curve. He was just diagnosed eight days ago. His 6am number pre-food, pre-shot was 265 so he got his two units of Vetsulin. 8 am he was at 168 and now at 10 am he's at 50. He's eating his treat right now, he seems ok. Isn't 50 way too low?
Good news - he's at 71.How is it going? Have you given him food and test again?
Definitely have to reduce dose.
Isn't 50 way too low?
He was under 200 yesterday morning so he didn't get insulin. That's the only one I skipped so far. I'll see how the rest of the day goes.Hi Rhonda! Nice catch! If you're using a human meter, 50 isn't 'way too low' but it is at the bottom of the 'normal' range. It's not time to panic but time to do exactly what you did - just feed him some of his regular low carb food. That will naturally bring him up just like it did. GOOD JOB!
That's a quick steep dive tho' but what I can't tell since I can't see your previous numbers (spreadsheet) yet is if it was a 'bounce' breaking causing it or is your dose high enough to cause that steep dive. If it were a bounce breaking then the dose amount may not have really been an issue but if his numbers yesterday/last night was lower, the dose may indeed need to be backed down just a tiny bit. That spreadsheet gives us SO many clues!!!
HUGS! Good job! You're sailing now!
He was under 200 yesterday morning so he didn't get insulin.
Wow old school pen and paper graphing!I'm trying to post the graph I did - not sure it's working. Wondering if this is "normal" - it dropped from +10 to feeding time tonight. Obviously, no shot tonight. View attachment 32515
If he needs a shot in the morning I will lower it. I was a little concerned at the drop before feeding tonight. Maybe it's a good thing though.Wow old school pen and paper graphing!
It's too steep of a drop. That's why we said to lower the dose.
When you're doing a curve it's best to test every 2 hours to see the full action profile of the dose. You can post a graph of your data again if you like. Setting up a spreadsheet like the one we use here is the easiest way for you to track data and for us to assess it before giving advice.He was at 381 this morning so I gave insulin but I only gave one unit instead of two because of how steep his curve was yesterday. Should I test again at four hours or six hours?
You could try some strategic testing in the middle of the cycle between +4 and +7 to see how low he goes.I did the curve yesterday. I thought I'd give him a break today, maybe test again at noon.
Generally, yes, coinciding with the 'peak' action of the insulin.And the nadir is the low point of the day?

Perfect. Much better. Stick with 1 unit for a while.I just did at 10 am (4 hours after shot) and he's at 133. He was at 50 yesterday at this time. Today I gave one unit instead of two.