Hi AJay, I don't usually like to give dosing advice but, if it was me, I don't think I'd reduce the dose further at this point. Please make sure you're keeping an eye on ketones, as well.Having reduced Ches' dose as vet was ever increasing it, as were the numbers...
AMPS is now 39.6! Hold dose or reduce further?
Seriously scary numbers.
He is eating and drinking well





Agreed @Tuxedo Mom . You have NO idea the levels of panic going on round here. This has been going on so long...
You can be sure I am under NO illusion of how serious high numbers are and the risk of Dka...
I have just subq'd 35ml to be sure he is keeping up hydration
They never reached below 20 @Tuxedo Mom . He was fighting inflammation at the time tho.
He always hovered between 20 and 30 Big bounces in between those


He's just about maintaining weight. Not greatly gaining.
I've put him on plant based enzymes for his pancreas on the basis it's going to be going thru a hard time whichever way we look at it.
His probiotics include s boulardii at high doses. Felini Complete is being intro'd carefully to make sure he doesn't reject it. B12 is 1 capsule a day.
This is way out of my comfort zone![]()
I think you're in one of those uncomfortable spots where you have to do something but there's no clear path ahead. I feel your frustration and we're trying to help. At the same time we're aware of the precarious situation and want to be careful in the comments we make.I just can't win.![]()
I'm living on a knife edge, every. single. day.
This is way out of my comfort zone. I am turning to you guys for constructive help.
I am not far from throwing up from the stress of all of this. Pretty much every single day.
Do I increase or decrease? What do I do?
You HAVE to believe me I AM doing everything I can for Chester. Sleep deprivation for a month doesn't get any easier. Yes I'm freaking out!
I feel so ridiculously alone and that I'm fighting a losing battle without a prayer of getting anything right here.
Vet WILL NOT change insulin. Feels it's easier to stabilise on Caninsulin because it doesn't depot.
I think you're in one of those uncomfortable spots where you have to do something but there's no clear path ahead. I feel your frustration and we're trying to help. At the same time we're aware of the precarious situation and want to be careful in the comments we make.
I'll just throw this out: it's possible that on top of all his issues he has some glucose toxicity built up from spending a long time in high numbers. The 2.75 u dose that helped at the end of August isn't cutting it anymore. The way through glucose toxicity is by carefully increasing the dose, 0.25 u at a time, and not letting him stay long at an ineffective dose - 3 or 4 cycles max. You're at your wits' end so why not try 3.0 u tonight and tomorrow AM/PM then up it to 3.25 u for 3 cycles, then 3.5 u for 3 cycles and so on. Testing at +2 can give an idea of where he's headed. Ketone tests daily.
Does this help?
OK. Give 3.0 u tonight and go to 3.25 u tomorrow. Caninsulin is in and out so every dose is a new situation.He's only dropped to 2.75 this morn. Is that going to fire things again?
Vet WILL NOT change insulin. Feels it's easier to stabilise on Caninsulin because it doesn't depot.
He's stopped eating KrisJust today, from late morning

I just have one more question about the insulin-- has it been the same pen/bottle since you started Caninsulin
I'm glad you're taking a break for now. I stand by my advice to try the dose increases as a first step. That's my reasoned thinking from a long distance away (Canada) from your immediate situation. You have to try something and that seems a reasonable way to go.@Kris & Teasel Believe me, I am taking deep breathes and trying to relax. I've got a cracking headache from all of this so have been lying down for the last 2 hrs. Ches has been left well alone to chill in the kitchen.
I'm out of my depth. No experience of this st all. That's why I need reasoned thinking here. I wouldn't have a clue! It just seems one minute we're reducing the dose, next going up. It's Ches's life n I'm terrified
@Squalliesmom Hes not on an appetite stim as he's not really needed one tbf. Once on fluids at the vet he's always eaten well.
I did ask yesterday at the vets but didn't get an answer. We were talking bout pain meds and other bits at the time
I'm glad you're taking a break for now. I stand by my advice to try the dose increases as a first step. That's my reasoned thinking from a long distance away (Canada) from your immediate situation. You have to try something and that seems a reasonable way to go.
Check hydration level with the scruff pinch test or touch his gums to assess for tackiness. Pinch that stays up or tacky gums = dehydration. Given his issues and the way he can turn on a dime, why not ask the vet about meds at home: antinausea medsd like Cerenia or the human chemo drug Zofran (ondensatron), appy stimulant like mirtazapine (can maker the act weird) or the human antihistamine, cyproheptadine. You have pain meds. Many here with complex kitties keep a whole pharmacy at home once they're experienced in using the meds.
OK re pain meds. The other meds would be good for you to have. I can get Cerenia and mirtazapine here from the vet and cyproheptadine is (or used to be) a non prescription behind the counter med at a human pharmacy. The rules are probably different in the UK.I'm cat walking Kris- or at least watching. He's parked off under the hedge now.
I don't have pain meds as in the uk Bupe is only available in injection and vet, much as he trusts me, won't let me have it in case he were to react badly, on an off chance.
I've given him a Famitadine. I might have to beg for appetite stim again before surgery closes![]()
I'm cat walking Kris- or at least watching. He's parked off under the hedge now.
I don't have pain meds as in the uk Bupe is only available in injection and vet, much as he trusts me, won't let me have it in case he were to react badly, on an off chance.
I've given him a Famitadine. I might have to beg for appetite stim again before surgery closes
I've also given him 35ml subq a few hrs ago, to be on the safe side
Mirtazapine works and some kitties tolerate it with no side effects. The weird effects include yowling, restlessness, etc. Can you buy cypro at a human pharmacy? People here could advise on dose.
Mirtazapine works and some kitties tolerate it with no side effects. The weird effects include yowling, restlessness, etc. Can you buy cypro at a human pharmacy? People here could advise on dose.





