Help! Worried about potential of overdose

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieP and Ninja

Member Since 2012
Posted in the main forum also: My cat Ninja’s numbers have been very high for the last month (400’s and 500’s, with just a few high 300’s), despite very gradual increases in her Lantus (starting at 1unit b.i.d. on 6/4 and ending at 2 units on 7/3.

I switched out her Lantus vial yesterday (thinking maybe it was bad) and started immediately getting some odd numbers: 276 (she’s never been that low) at AM +6 but then a HI (over 600) PM pre-shot number just 6 hours later. So I’m thinking, “Well maybe it wasn’t the Lantus after all.” Talked to vet and she recommended we try 3 units b.i.d. which I started last night.

Ninja’s PM +5 reading (after the first increase to 3 units of Lantus was 435). Today, her AM +6 was 344. But after her PM shot, her number fell to 191, despite eating a somewhat high carb dinner (I am still transitioning her from high carb dry).

As noted above, her PM +1 this evening was 191. I was concerned her number would dip much lower because of the 3 units given just one hour earlier – so gave Ninja a little more high carb food. Her +3 number rose a little to 213 and I will check her again at +6 just to be sure the 3 units don’t cause her to go too low.

I KNOW THAT 213 IS NOT A LOW NUMBER, but my concern is for tomorrow morning. At what pre-shot number would it be safe to shoot 3 units – or should I drop her back to 1 or 2 for awhile? I guess what I am asking is… assuming the original Lantus vial may not have been effective (which seems the most likely explanation since her numbers were dangerously high for a month on the old vial, and now are dropping more than 200 points with the new one), my question is…should Ninja even be at 3 units at all?

So if you can tell me, a) at what number do you think it would be safe to shoot 3 units tomorrow morning; or b) would you advise dropping Ninja down to 1 or 2 for awhile… and if so, what number should I be looking for. Example: If AMPS number is between 200-250, ok shoot 1 unit; If AMPS number is between 250-300 ok to shoot 2, etc. Thanks!!! I don't want to overdose Ninja!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top