AbyResq
Member Since 2016
I still can't figure out how to get Tuck better regulated. He's been on 1.4 units for many cycles and his numbers are still too high. He had several high flat cycles. I thought he needed a higher dose so I raised him from 1.4 to 1.6 last night. His blood sugar went from PMPS of 461 to 101 at +4. While not a hypo number the rate of drop seems awfully steep. He gets meals at his dose time and at +4. I fed him as usual at +4 and retested at +5 to make sure he wasn't still dropping.
Tuck's AMPS of 515, definitely suggests a bounce. I reduced his insulin to 1.2 assuming he'll be sensitive to insulin today. To recap:
PMPS - 461; fed a meal and shot 1.6 U
+4 - 101 (fed a meal, he always gets a meal around +4)
+5 - 124
AMPS - 515; fed and shot 1.2 U
+3 - 342
He's definitely had cycles where the nadir fell 50% below his PS number. The ProZinc protocol suggests this may indicate too high of a dose even if the nadir itself isn't a hypo number.
Can the ProZinc experts look at his sheet and tell me what you'd do now? Would you leave him at 1.2 U for a while or some other dose?
In other news, Oliver has a nice gentle curve. I wish his nadir were a bit lower but I'm really happy with the gentle curve. He's had some cycles go beyond +12. I'm leaving his dose alone to see if his body keeps adjusting and making better use of the insulin. I'm assuming the longer cycles may indicate that he's headed for a reduction in the near future.
Tuck's AMPS of 515, definitely suggests a bounce. I reduced his insulin to 1.2 assuming he'll be sensitive to insulin today. To recap:
PMPS - 461; fed a meal and shot 1.6 U
+4 - 101 (fed a meal, he always gets a meal around +4)
+5 - 124
AMPS - 515; fed and shot 1.2 U
+3 - 342
He's definitely had cycles where the nadir fell 50% below his PS number. The ProZinc protocol suggests this may indicate too high of a dose even if the nadir itself isn't a hypo number.
Can the ProZinc experts look at his sheet and tell me what you'd do now? Would you leave him at 1.2 U for a while or some other dose?
In other news, Oliver has a nice gentle curve. I wish his nadir were a bit lower but I'm really happy with the gentle curve. He's had some cycles go beyond +12. I'm leaving his dose alone to see if his body keeps adjusting and making better use of the insulin. I'm assuming the longer cycles may indicate that he's headed for a reduction in the near future.