nslade001
Member Since 2018
Hi, I posted earlier today in the caninsulin forum, and am grateful to have received a reply, but am still awaiting a response on using different syringes for tonight's dose. I thought I'd also post here in the hopes of getting a faster response? (Shot time is in ½ hour!)I hope that's ok. Here's the original post:
My cat Willow (17yo) was pronounced diabetic from a urine sample I brought to vet for testing for UTI on Saturday the 10th.
Went in on Monday and all other blood tests and abdominal x-rays were normal.. Absolutely amazing to me, as I'd thought she was in chronic kidney failure for years due to pupd.; BG was almost 30. She was extremely stressed. We brought her home and back to clinic for testing her curve through the day. Vet wanted to start her on a "rounded up" dose of 3 units caninsulin twice daily (after we said we wanted to start low and were switching her to low carb) but we said 1 unit, which she was ok with.
So, I've been testing at home and we've skipped the last two injections because she was under 11.1, and if the trend follows she'll be under tonight.
What do i do? Keep skipping doses? She's not "normal range" but too low for insulin?! Lower dose twice daily ( currently supposed to be on 1 unit twice daily)?? Please help.
She was moved over completely to low carb canned yesterday (friskies and fancy feast)... I'm stopping friskies and will keep her on Fancy Feast only.
Other notes: she's not obese. The last few months have been stressful due to us caring for a parent with Alzheimer's (lots of different nurses in and out) and fostering greyhounds. She's been on a high carb wet diet most of her life with some kibble. She had IBD for the first half of her life. The past while she isn't pooping regularly (we've *just* started working on that). And, we're packing house to move next week, a 12 hour drive (over 3 days) to a new home. So stress to come.
Thanks so much, with love,
Nikki
The reply I received mentioned trying a small dose tonight if she's under 11.1, like .25 or .5 units.
My 2nd question was, is it ok to give insulin under the 11.1, and if I switch to a u-100 syringe, I give between the 1 and 1½ marking to equal .5 unit caninsulin, correct?
Is there a photo of a 0.3 cc u-100 syringe showing how to read it correctly? I'm so nervous
I apologize for the novel,
Nikki
My cat Willow (17yo) was pronounced diabetic from a urine sample I brought to vet for testing for UTI on Saturday the 10th.
Went in on Monday and all other blood tests and abdominal x-rays were normal.. Absolutely amazing to me, as I'd thought she was in chronic kidney failure for years due to pupd.; BG was almost 30. She was extremely stressed. We brought her home and back to clinic for testing her curve through the day. Vet wanted to start her on a "rounded up" dose of 3 units caninsulin twice daily (after we said we wanted to start low and were switching her to low carb) but we said 1 unit, which she was ok with.
So, I've been testing at home and we've skipped the last two injections because she was under 11.1, and if the trend follows she'll be under tonight.
What do i do? Keep skipping doses? She's not "normal range" but too low for insulin?! Lower dose twice daily ( currently supposed to be on 1 unit twice daily)?? Please help.
She was moved over completely to low carb canned yesterday (friskies and fancy feast)... I'm stopping friskies and will keep her on Fancy Feast only.
Other notes: she's not obese. The last few months have been stressful due to us caring for a parent with Alzheimer's (lots of different nurses in and out) and fostering greyhounds. She's been on a high carb wet diet most of her life with some kibble. She had IBD for the first half of her life. The past while she isn't pooping regularly (we've *just* started working on that). And, we're packing house to move next week, a 12 hour drive (over 3 days) to a new home. So stress to come.
Thanks so much, with love,
Nikki
The reply I received mentioned trying a small dose tonight if she's under 11.1, like .25 or .5 units.
My 2nd question was, is it ok to give insulin under the 11.1, and if I switch to a u-100 syringe, I give between the 1 and 1½ marking to equal .5 unit caninsulin, correct?
Is there a photo of a 0.3 cc u-100 syringe showing how to read it correctly? I'm so nervous
I apologize for the novel,
Nikki