Help with shot decision 89 AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emma Hefton

Member Since 2021
Charlie has been on 1 unit insulin, only last night reduced to .75, this morning his BG is 89 and I am just learning about SLGS. I read to hold a dose for 1 week unless they drop below 90, then reduce immediately. I also read something that might have indicated I need to hold the shot. Do I reduce to .5 right now or do I skip this one? We skipped his first shot yesterday morning for similar reason.

Thanks!
 
Looks like the food change is having a big effect!

I would reduce to 0.5U, yes. As for shooting this morning, I would only shoot if you can monitor all day, and feel comfortable doing so. You've shot green numbers before, but this is happening quite fast :).

Have you posted on the Lantus board at all? They have a lot of experience with this insulin. It can get a little tricky, following the SLGS rules with a cat in a hurry, like Charlie. Have you considered doing TR as a dosing method?
 
Due to the other cat in the house, the only food I can leave out for him to free feed on is the Dr. Elsys kibble, and because he will be having kibble I was told I can't do TR and that I should do SLGS.

I'll hop over to the lantus board. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top