Help with Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

raysofhope

Member Since 2012
Hi every one I am submitting this again , because I did submit it earlier but cant seem to find it on the forum/

Please look at Angels Spreadsheet and give a suggestion for tonight's shot!! I am at a loss.
Should I increase her dose or wait a day or so.. before another increase?

I am sorry I had to leave in the middle of this post So I just made it short.
I am adding the following.

Angel ate food at 5:30 am and I check her at 8:20 or so.
then she had food at 8:30 am . 10:30 am 1:30 pm then I checked her at 3:00pm She wants food about every 2-3 hrs.
She is not gaining any weight. has lost a little in the past few weeks. But I haven't been able to get her regulated either..
thanks so much,

Diana


she gets only canned food.. about 1-2tbls each time.
 
In looking at your spreadsheet, I would likely increase the dose a little bit to see if it lowers the numbers. I am sorry this is so late, but I just saw your post. I am thinking that an increase is warranted judging by the high numbers I am seeing in your spreadsheet. Monitor closely and try to get a few readings after you increase. I would go to .8 units since you don't want to move too fast. Let us know how it goes!
 
Thanks very much for the suggestions. this afternoon she was 335 at 3:00pm.
still too high, and after much deliberation and tears.. I decided to give her about .25 more at 3:30pm/. Her 9:00pm reading was 295!!! yea!! and she is eating and looking good.. I gave her about .60 and will be keeping a close eye on her.. my hope is she will level out and have a little lower numbers in the am. I may just have to dose her 3 times a day.. I am worried she will die on me if I cant get her lower without crashing.. I HOPE this works.
. nailbite_smile
 
Diane, I sure would increase the dose by .25 units every couple of cycles before I'd try dosing three times a day. She isn't even up to one unit yet. You can increase faster than you have been - every three cycles or so - if you are concerned with her numbers.

Dosing 3 times daily is complicated and can be dangerous. You don't want to add another dose on before the old one is sure headed up. It is done when the insulin is petering out before the 12 hours - not to lower the numbers. To get lower numbers, increase the dose overall.
 
Thanks ohmygod_smile By tomorrow morning I should know more and if she is down a little bit more than she has been, I will give her the .80 depending on the number I get. She has lost weight the last few weeks and I had her blood checked twice. Worried it could be a thyroid problem. But everything checked out so the only thing it can be is her needing more insulin. I had tried to raise it up to .80 and then on the 3 day she went way down. So that's why I am worried. I will try increasing it tomorrow. depending on what happens. Thanks for being there!!
 
Ok,, Now her numbers are up again 364 this morning :YMSIGH: gave her .80 this morning..and at 3:40pm she was 374 Now I dont know what to do??
she is still hungry wanting food about every 2 hrs also.. Anyone got any answers/?
 
I'd hold the .8 at least one more cycle before raising. Sometimes it takes more than one cycle for an increase to show up in the numbers. I think it is good she is hungry, right? Wasn't she having trouble getting enough to eat? How much are you feeding/how much does she weigh and is she underweight?
 
I agree with Sue about holding the dose for a while. At least that is what I found with Simon. The first day or two did not always tell the story of whether the dose was enough or too much and you should always increase slowly so you don't shoot past the optimum dose. Sue is really knowledgeable so listen to her! She is my Yoda on all things feline diabetes :lol:
 
The other thing that is important is testing for ketones. Especially since she wasn't eating well and had an infection.

All I can say, Diana, is that hurrying this process doesn't help. Increase the dose every 3 cycles or so if you aren't seeing lower numbers, but not every shot. Give the dose a chance before you try another. Giving too much insulin is more dangerous than giving too little. We have a saying "better high for a day than low for a minute".

If she is eating better and she needs to gain weight, feed her more and more often. That will help support her pancreas.
 
Thanks everyone, I feel a tad better, I am a mess latlly with this, she used to be 14 lbs and held her weight pretty good until we went to all canned ,she was holding around 12 lbs bu2 weeks ago she was 11.2. Now I have to weigh her but I bet she is less. I will let you all know. I am almost afraid to look.i am feeding her about 1-2 tbls of friskies about every 2 -3 hrs. She won't eat more than that at a time.in the morning she will eat about a half of a can. I even feed her at 1:30am 4:30 and 6:00 am then she gets her breakfast and shot at about 8:45 -9:00 am. This all started about 2 months ago that's when she started getting sporadic in her readings.
 
You might see if she likes grazing on frozen pucks. Lots of use freeze the food (I use a cupcake pan as one can of FF fits in each one.) and leave it out so they can eat as it thaws. As a completely alternative idea, have you tried adding warm water and making a gravy with it? Or crushing up some dry treats on top - Bonito Flakes or PureBites dried meats?
 
Hi Diana....

I agree with Sue (my Yoda too) and Simon'sMommy. Hold de dose. :smile:

Would it possibly help if you let her food out so she can graze when she wants to? Cats are naturally grazers....maybe that is what she is used to and will help her. Just be sure to pick up food 2 hours before AMPS + PMPS tests so they are not food influenced.
 
Thanks Sue
For the great idea ,unfortunately I have 5 other non diabetic cats in the house also, one of them is ALWAYS ready to finish Angels leftovers..so leaving anything out would not really work. I do give her halo liv a littles salmon when I test her a few pieces and the chicken at night if I am jus to tired to get up, I keep them by my bed I go through a jar a week..Anything to help Angel :-D she is a very special cat, someday I will tell you her story..
 
Yoda and I probably do look a little alike and are probably about the same age. How about

A marathon, not a sprint, this sugar dance is.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yoda and I probably do look a little alike and are probably about the same age. How about

A marathon, not a sprint, this sugar dance is.

Shall I ask Deb & WInk to post the patience pants over here? :smile: I remember getting them a few times in the beginning. :lol:
 
Well that may explain some of it.. 2hrs? ok I ll try to make sure about that from now on.. wasn't sure on the time after food.
thanks again, sorry to be such a bother.. But Sue and you guys are helping me keep sane over here.

Diana
 
You are not a bother. The only stupid question is the one not asked. We are all paying it forward for help we received and we want to help. . PS. I think Diane would look good in purple patience pants. :mrgreen:
 
Yes I'll take purple!! Hey Angel ate a little at 6:00 am and she was starving by 8:00 but I was trying to wait a little bit more like you recommended 2hrs, anyway she started eating ,I gave her her shot ,then she threw up :cry: maybe she does have an acid stomach? I bought the Pepcid ac original formula .is that right? And can I give it to her now or when?? Also her bg was 360 gave .80
I guess I'll have to wait til when? To give her the Pepcid it's 9:35 She is now wanting some food , feeding her ....
Oh well only ate about 1/2 teas.
Thanks
 
Yes, you can give the Pepcid. I think it's 1/4 tablet crushed up in food. Did she eat too fast and that was why she threw up? If so, smear the food around on the plate so she has to slow down. You might start keeping track (over in the remarks section) of what she eats when she throws up and see if there's a particular brand/flavor.

Can you get a midcycle today? If the numbers are flat, then maybe increase to one unit tonight. And be sure to get a ketone test in.
 
Hi thanks , I just checked her and she was 328 I was worried she might have been going down too,fast. I called my vet also to see if he has any suggestions.

Anothe ?? Where do I put the remarks? Do you mean on the ss?

At first I thought she may have eaten too fast, but she didn't eat that much.. Another day of stress :cry:
 
Yes, there is a column on the right of the spreadsheet for any pertinent notes - food change, illness notes, behavior observations, etc.
 
Yes I'll take purple!!
I'm always happy to lend out patience pants. Ok Diana, you asked for purple patience pants, so here are some for you from my vast, never ending lending closet. Use them well. ;-)



Remember, this sugardance is a marathon, not a sprint. It will take time for Angel to feel better. Hang in there. We are all here to help, even if it's something as simple as loaning out some patience pants or helping you to relax and laugh a bit.

Yes, with the Pepcid AC, regular strength, it's no more than 1/4 tab. I liked to put it in a large bore, blunt tipped syringe, add a tiny bit of water to dissolve it and squirt it into Wink's mouth. You can also give it in a bit of cheese or pill pocket or wrapped in a tiny bit of ham or turkey. Something your cat loves to eat. Better to give the Pepcid time to work first before you feed, 15-20 minutes at least. I used to do it as I prepped everything else for the day.
 

Attachments

  • purple patience pants.jpg
    purple patience pants.jpg
    8.8 KB · Views: 367
Thanks!! Love the pants.they did make me laugh.. Anyway Angel was quite sick this morning. Almost took her to the vet, but we are expecting a nice/snow who knows what today and my husband would have had to come home from work to take her.( he would have) but anyway she is better now, and eating ok the vet is supposed to call me hopefully tonight with his thoughts. I am going to try the Pepcid tomorrow. I can't get to my pc now and I can't edit my ss on this tablet. So I am letting you know at1:00 her bg was 180. Probably because she wasn't eating.. I am wondering now how much to give her tonight? I guess I
WilL have to see where she ends up.

Thanks again for the pants ,I probably could use some calm down pills too :-D
 
Interesting how her numbers drop when she doesn't eat. It suggests that food really impacts her numbers higher. That's good info to have. You could use it if she would eat a whole meal at a time. Then you could quit with the small snacks and see if her numbers stayed lower overall. Maybe if her appetite improves.

I'll try to watch for your pmps.
 
Angel was sick for most of the morning.. I did get her numbers on the ss. Gave her a few eyedroppers bb food about 1:30 and 2:00 she started to pick up. then ate small meal at 4:00. at 7:00 was starving I felt sorry for her and gave her some food . she ate about 2 teas. of friskies.. tested at 8:45 was high. maybe the food effected her? gave her.80 again. afraid to push it tonight. I need a couple of hrs. of sleep. Tomorrow will try the pepcid. Do you think I should keep her on the .80? or up it tomorrow?
 
As long as you will be around, I'd go to one unit. I am not so worried about her dropping low in general, but if she throws up, then your number could dip low.

What does your vet say about the vomiting? Have you been keeping track of the food and can connect it to anything there? Nagging here - have you gotten a ketones test?
 
Vet thinks vomiting is due to not enough insulin or her being hungry from high bg readings wanted me to feed her science diet ohmygod_smile I told him that's 16% carbs!i would think about it..NOT.

Also he never told me about the ketone testing. But when I had her bloodwork done he's said she was fine on the ketones ,I know now they can fluctuate too, I don't know if I could even get a sample to test her we have 5 other cats using the same litter boxes. I can sometimes catching her peeing.But would the strip work in the clay litter? I think sometimes I need a new vet, but in this area vets are either ridiculously expensive. Or a million miles away ,we are 45 mins from town. my vet Has a diabetic cat who has been on insulin for 12 yrs, 4 to 8 Units 2xs day!! But Dilenger is quite plump. Where Angel is loosing weight..
I wonder which is better?.

Angel was 413 gave her 1.0 and 1/8 Pepcid, Just want to make sure she doesn't have a reaction to it..
 
Yes, ketones change rapidly. I'd suggest a test every few days while she is high. Oliver would not let us watch him pee so we got some aquarium gravel (some people use dried peas or beans) and put him in a room with it in a clean litter box. He had to "christen" the box and because the pee didn't get absorbed in the gravel, we could swoop in and get a sample.

I have always thought Science Diet was the reason Oliver became diabetic…….
 
Do you know what the treatment is for high ketones?
And which strips do I need? Tried a few pieces of dry evo to see if it might fill her up .but hey she wouldn't touch it, she would much rather have the 30% carb food that's not good for her ! That the other cats have..I never give her that though she would eat it in a min, if Iam not watching her..
 
Thanks for the info..

took her readings 8:00am 413! now at 2:30 396! this doesnt seem to be going anywhere fast.. :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top