Help with PMPS dose!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
I just reduced to 1 unit now PMPS is 195 so I didn't shoot. When I test again in a few should I stick with the 1 unit? My notes say to give a reduced dose unless it's over 250 but I just reduced the dose.
 
We usually use 200 as a no shoot number and you are awfully close. If you want, wait 20 minutes and test again. As long as he is near 200 and headed up, you should be good with one unit.

Joanna says no, soI defer to her. She must see something I didn't.
 
Ok, it's now 220 but she did eat. I'm only 10 hrs away from morning shot at this point. What do I do??
 
A couple carryovers from yesterday: no need to test every 2 hours, and no need to try to absorb what I wrote. If something sticks, great, if not, let it go. The rules tend to change day to day, so printouts will probably just land you really confused.

I'm not sure where the lower the dose under 250 came from? I'd be tempted to throw that out the window.

I would lower the dose a hair tonight. Today's curve is wonky & I'm not sure what to make of it. Typically if the +12 is lower than the mid-cycle, that is a sign the dose is too high. You could try either going back to 0.75, or try a skinny 1u, whichever feels better to you.
 
Ok, I will go with .75 but for future, just in case I can't get anyone on here. If she's under 200 no shoot - but when she gets over the 200 what do I do? I feed her & give insulin in the morning then have to leave about an hour later.
 
You might want to stick with the 0.75 for a couple days and see where it goes. I know I said to raise if the #s weren't good last night, but then today's #s are wonky, so maybe that wasn't right. The +2 today seems strange (could be from short duration on the lower dose last night, or could be something else), and then the straight line down to a lower +12 is weird too.

So I'm thinking maybe give 0.75 a little more time and see where you are. It might end up that you need something like a skinny 1u, but unless you are dealing with anything like ketones or she is really not doing well, I would probably go with the lower dose, give that a couple days, and if that doesn't seem to be working, then raise up.

Today could just we wonky too, sometimes you get oddball #s that aren't really a true picture - maybe there was some stress factor or something this morning that caused the +2 and +6 to be higher than they would be otherwise. Who knows.

The big rules are to always lower the dose if you see anything low (nadir under 50, PS under 150), and to be a little cautious if the PS is above 150 but still below your no shoot. In those cases you can either reduce the dose, or wait & retest in 20 minutes and if they are close to the no-shoot, then go ahead and shoot. Of course if you see something wonky like today where the +6 is higher than the next PS, that is also a cue to reduce the dose.

Hope that helps! Remember too you can always post on Health if you are panicked and don't get a quick answer here.
 
Thanks! I was trying to figure out if anything had been different. I thought that +2 # was strange. I just remembered something happened between her & my male cat in the middle of the night last night. They woke me up yelling at each other & when I got up she was laying on her side with her paw out to smack him. They do not like each other & he does sometimes pick on her. Maybe that could have stressed her out?
 
Could be. Typically they do rise by +2, before the shot really kicks in, only you didn't see a rise the day before. But then the dose from the night before was quite a bit lower comparing the two nights, so it could be you just saw the zoom sooner on the lower dose.

A lot of diabetes stuff you never really do figure out. I'd just get a few tests in on 0.75 for a couple days and see if it really is too low or not. Sometimes you can't judge by just one cycle, but then other times you can. :mrgreen: It's a confusing illness IMO.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top