? Help with numbers! (newbie who may have shot high)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harukyo

Member Since 2019
Hello everyone,

I'm very new to home testing. The first tests were a breeze and this second day has been tears and frustration. Kyo's levels have been mostly flat from the 200-299 range from AMPS and PMPS but for today's PM shot she read 153mg/dL. I gave her the usual 1.5u ProZinc that she has been on and now that I'm reading more about how youre supossed to stall feeding and test again I am concerned that I gave her a dose too high instead of skipping the dose. Please help, I am so stressed out and trying desperately to absorb so much information in so little time. Shes on Purina DM dry, (I know), I'll be moving her to FF classics wet once I get more BG readings and learn how to adjust insulin. I have Karo syrup on hand and I'm going to test her again at +3, I just need help interpreting the tests that I DO have. Please refer to my spreadsheet.

Thank you for reading, any help/advice I will be so thankful for.
 
Firstly don't panic, take a deep breath. You are testing so that will tell you whether you need to intervene with HC food or Karo syrup. I don't use ProZinc so I'm can't really help you out with this but I would suggest you edit your Thread title to add the ? prefix. To do this go to Edit Thread, you will see before your title "no prefix" if you click on this you get a drop down box with no prefix, ? or 911. Select ?, this will draw more attention. Best of luck, hope Kyo stays safe for you.
 
Firstly don't panic, take a deep breath. You are testing so that will tell you whether you need to intervene with HC food or Karo syrup. I don't use ProZinc so I'm can't really help you out with this but I would suggest you edit your Thread title to add the ? prefix. To do this go to Edit Thread, you will see before your title "no prefix" if you click on this you get a drop down box with no prefix, ? or 911. Select ?, this will draw more attention. Best of luck, hope Kyo stays safe for you.
Thank you so much I will do that right now.
 
Thank you for the advice! @Chris & China (GA) I am definitely planning on a test at +2! In another thread I crossposted to the ProZinc forum I was told that if her +2 is higher than her PMPS then we may be out of the water. Do you think I should leave some access to food overnight just in case?
 
I have been where you are! As someone said to me, there is a steep learning curve with FD. It can be very overwhelming at first but remember you are in control because you are testing and you have the tools you need. Sometimes it helps me to reread the hypo stickie, and I’ve never actually fully needed it. Because I was testing. :)
 
I have been where you are! As someone said to me, there is a steep learning curve with FD. It can be very overwhelming at first but remember you are in control because you are testing and you have the tools you need. Sometimes it helps me to reread the hypo stickie, and I’ve never actually fully needed it. Because I was testing. :)
@AliceMeowliss&Cassandra Just a reminder of that from another person is really nice right now, I appreciate that so much. I will be back in 30ish minutes to give an update for our +2 reading!
 
Do you think I should leave some access to food overnight just in case?

The answer I usually got, to my dismay, but which was always right: you don’t know until you test next. You might need to stay up awhile after that or set alarms and take naps, or things could be alright. You will hurt your brain worrying ahead of time when you just don’t have the data yet to dictate which direction to go.... with a little more time and data you’ll get to know your cat specifically and be able to make more educated guesses. Someone will be up and check in with you tonight as you go through sorting this out. :)
 
Fed 1/4 a can of FF classics pate (Ocean white fish) @ 12:40PM (in between +2 and +3). Reading at +3 was 93mg/dL.
 
You should also keep a few cans of something you know is high carb like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers. Not only is the gravy high in carbs, if you need something "medium" carb, you can mix a 20% with a 10% to make something that's 15%!

You want to continue testing until it's been at least 2 hours since you HAD to feed to keep her from dropping or to raise her BG.
 
@Bron and Sheba Hello! Yes, it will be in about 20 more minutes! I will updated as soon as I can get that test done and it will be our +4 reading! Thank you for looking over us!
 
@Bron and Sheba Hello! Yes, it will be in about 20 more minutes! I will updated as soon as I can get that test done and it will be our +4 reading! Thank you for looking over us!
Happy to help. I see you are also posting on the Prozinc page......that's good.
She is quite safe at the moment but as we don't have any data on how she reacts to insulin, we need to be cautious and test and gather the data.
 
Okay! sorry about the delay, that was a tough one. Shes getting fed up with me and her ears are getting sore :( +4 @ 97mg/dL though! All the testing is paying off!
 
Okay! sorry about the delay, that was a tough one. Shes getting fed up with me and her ears are getting sore :( +4 @ 97mg/dL though! All the testing is paying off!
Ok so that is much the same number as the last time, so quite safe.
I would give just a teaspoon of low carb food and test again in one hour.
Are you using both ears? It is hard in the beginning but you are doing a super job!
What do you think @Jenna Josie ?
 
Alrighty I will give another teaspoon of the DM wet food! I've tried to rotate ears now yes. She has a yeast infection in one ear and so it was especially sensitive for her but the medicine seemed to help and I've been able to use both ears to try and draw blood from. @Bron and Sheba
 
I think the 6% DM helped there. (FF fish varieties are more or less “carb-less,” if that’s a thing.). Since she’s slowed her drop, you might give her another tablespoon to tide her over through her (likely) nadir and give her ears a break.

(Though if it were me, I’d feed her and get one more test in an hour just to be extra-sure :)).
 
You guys are the best. Again, cannot thank you guys enough. I'll be doing one more test to be safe at +5 and if her levels are still okay, I think i'll call it there. I can take over from here and in the event anything takes a bad turn I know how to post for an emergency *knock on wood*. @Jenna Josie @Chris & China (GA) @Bron and Sheba @AliceMeowliss&Cassandra, I owe you all coffee. Seriously, let me know if I can buy you a Starbucks sometime. :coffee:
 
Neosporin pain relief ointment is good for the ears, especially in the beginning.
You can pop it on the ears in between tests and it will relieve any pain and inflammation that might have appeared. Not sure where you live but it is not hard to pick up in the US.
 
You guys are the best. Again, cannot thank you guys enough. I'll be doing one more test to be safe at +5 and if her levels are still okay, I think i'll call it there. I can take over from here and in the event anything takes a bad turn I know how to post for an emergency *knock on wood*. @Jenna Josie @Chris & China (GA) @Bron and Sheba @AliceMeowliss&Cassandra, I owe you all coffee. Seriously, let me know if I can buy you a Starbucks sometime. :coffee:
Would love a coffee but might be a bit hard to manage from Australia:joyful:
I'll stick around.
Let's see what the +5 is before we make a decision. All these numbers have been propped up with food so we need to make sure she has reached nadir and will be safe
 
One last question. Due to all the feeding and stuff, how should I expect to proceed for the AMPS? If its in the 200 range shoot our normal dose (1.5u) and if its lower than 200 (like the level for PMPS tonight) then stall for 30 minutes, test again. And if its not up to 200 then feed and skip the shot, correct? (Sorry if thats a stupid question)
 
There is no stupid questions
If the number is 200 or above, shoot the usual dose of insulin after food
If it is below 200, stall and DONT FEED, post and ask for assistance, and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BSL is coming up on its own.
As long as you haven't fed any food in the 2 hours before the AMPS, the number shouldn't be food influenced..
If the number is below 200 after 20/30 mins ask for assistance and someone will tell you what to do.
 
There is no stupid questions
If the number is 200 or above, shoot the usual dose of insulin after food
If it is below 200, stall and DONT FEED, post and ask for assistance, and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BSL is coming up on its own.
As long as you haven't fed any food in the 2 hours before the AMPS, the number should t be food influenced..
If the number is below 200 after 20/30 mins ask for assistance and someone will tell you what to do.
Perfect! That's the exact clarification I needed.
 
Not yet, but I think kyo is getting a little crabby from all the tests so it may just be a little minute ...
 
Oh, there it is! Yay!

That’s a good number, and yes, time for bed (for those of us not in Australia :) )!

She may actually run a little high at AMPS tomorrow from her adventures tonight, so don’t be surprised if that happens
 
+5 @ 141mg/dL!! I think we are through it now *sigh of relief* Kyo is ready to sleep and so am I :cat:
Yes I think she should be ok now. Have a good sleep and I'll look in on you tomorrow and see how the morning went.
You did very welll. Sometimes having to deal with something that isn't quite straight forward is when we learn a lot. And there's is a lot to learn in the first few weeks of FD, but already you have made giant leaps forward..
Hope Kyo's ears settle down. Have a look for that ointment I mentioned. It's good.
 
Oh, there it is! Yay!

That’s a good number, and yes, time for bed (for those of us not in Australia :) )!

She may actually run a little high at AMPS tomorrow from her adventures tonight, so don’t be surprised if that happens
Thanks @Jenna Josie for helping out tonight. It's always good to have another person around.
Only 6.15 pm here on Monday night in Oz. Just about to get dinner but was waiting for the BSL to come through before I started. Fed the cats though as they were hungry and asking for their dinner. Raw chicken wings on the menus for them tonight.
 
@Bron and Sheba I made my grocery list for tomorrow including the ointment and FF gravy lovers! Goodnight everyone, thank you again for helping us get through this. And I totally know what you mean, I feel like I've learned so much from this experience, not to mention all the testing experience. I hope to continue to get better and will continue to keep our spreadsheet up to date! @Jenna Josie Appreciate the heads up about the AMPS! I'll keep that in mind. Goodnight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top