I am really scared and feel very helpless. My cat, Ivy, got diagnosed with Diabetes two months ago. She is only 3 years old and weighs 8 1/2 lbs. She was the runt in the litter. She got diagnosed when I brought her in for a UTI. I should have recognized the signs before hand as she at a ton and drank a lot of water and had problems walking but I did not put two and two together. The vet thinks something is causing her diabetes because she is so young but they don't know what. All of her liver enzymes were really high as well. So she had a round of Clavomax which cured the UTI and they started her on 1 unit twice a day of Prozinc. After three weeks she went back to the Vet and tested her fructosomine and that wasn't good so they raised her to two units twice a day of Prozinc. Her BG is always around 300-370 no matter what we do. She now has another UTI one month later and she has has swollen lymph nodes in her neck now for two weeks. She is back on Clavomax but now won't eat. I also changed her diet to a low carb one. It is the B.F.F. Tuna and Chicken. Previously she was on all dry food. The vets are now just shooting in the dark as they don't know what is wrong with her. She just doesn't seem well and it is heartbreaking for me and I don't know what to do. I know we need to get the Diabetes under control to stop the UTI's. I know from experience they hurt a ton. I don't know if she should switch to Lantis. I also don't know what to do about the underlying issue as well. Does anyone on here have a cat with Diabetes so young?
Any help is appreciated.
Any help is appreciated.