Help with looking over SS and shooting full dose in the blues.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim3803

Member Since 2021
Jax is fairly new to Blues and Greens. I'm happy with the progress even though he's up to a high dose but also nervous with the green and blue numbers especially around shooting time. Just wanted some thoughts on my SS and if I'm going about it the right way. Thanks
 
I wouldn't have raised the dose to 7.5 when she was doing good at 7.25 but otherwise it looks pretty controlled. Good job.
 
I wouldn't have raised the dose to 7.5 when she was doing good at 7.25 but otherwise it looks pretty controlled. Good job.
Thank you Janet. I raised him to 7.5 since he still had some Mid-High 200's and it was a week he was on 7.25 and I use a human meter.
Do you think I should go back down if he winds up having a low PMPS number?
 
Yes but overall it looks good. :)
Thank you Janet. I raised him to 7.5 since he still had some Mid-High 200's and it was a week he was on 7.25 and I use a human meter.
Do you think I should go back down if he winds up having a low PMPS number?
 
Hi Im not a prozinc user but hete is what it says on the Prozinc Sticky I see today you got 70 @+6 , I would tag Janet again and ask if you should reduce tonight :cat:
Hold the dose for at least a week:

  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet should she reduce tonight ?
 
Hi Im not a prozinc user but hete is what it says on the Prozinc Sticky I see today you got 70 @+6 , I would tag Janet again and ask if you should reduce tonight :cat:
Hold the dose for at least a week:

  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet should she reduce tonight ?

Thank you, Jax was 95 PMPS so I would up giving him 7U. I’m so new to Greens they make me nervous about going too low.
 
Given that Jax has been on more than 7u of insulin, has anyone suggested that you may want to get him test4ed for a high dose condition. Generally when a cat is on over 5.0u, we suggest that you have you vet send off blood to the vet lab at Michigan State to test for acromegaly and insulin resistance (insulin auto-antibodies).

I'm tagging @Wendy&Neko who has a great deal of experience in this area.
 
I agree with Sienne. Once a cat gets to 6+ units and is eating a low carb wet food or raw diet, we suggest that people get their cats tested for acromegaly or IAA (insulin auto antibodies). Think of the latter like an allergy to the injected insulin in simplest terms. My girl had both conditions. And there are cats with lower doses also with those conditions, it's just that once they get to 6 or over, it's very likely one or the other is present. Research has shown 20-25% of diabetic cats has acromegaly, which is caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary gland that sends out excess growth hormone, and causes the diabetes.

Having said all that, you are doing a marvelous job with Jax!
 
I agree with Sienne. Once a cat gets to 6+ units and is eating a low carb wet food or raw diet, we suggest that people get their cats tested for acromegaly or IAA (insulin auto antibodies). Think of the latter like an allergy to the injected insulin in simplest terms. My girl had both conditions. And there are cats with lower doses also with those conditions, it's just that once they get to 6 or over, it's very likely one or the other is present. Research has shown 20-25% of diabetic cats has acromegaly, which is caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary gland that sends out excess growth hormone, and causes the diabetes.

Having said all that, you are doing a marvelous job with Jax!

Thank you so much I appreciate it, It has been mentioned to me before I just really need to look into now that he's up to 7.5U. I was trying to catch up on some vet bills and than boom 1,000 for his bacterial virus last week. I appreciate your help and will look into those test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top