Thank you Janet. I raised him to 7.5 since he still had some Mid-High 200's and it was a week he was on 7.25 and I use a human meter.I wouldn't have raised the dose to 7.5 when she was doing good at 7.25 but otherwise it looks pretty controlled. Good job.
Thank you Janet. I raised him to 7.5 since he still had some Mid-High 200's and it was a week he was on 7.25 and I use a human meter.
Do you think I should go back down if he winds up having a low PMPS number?
Thank you Janet!!Yes but overall it looks good.![]()

Hi Im not a prozinc user but hete is what it says on the Prozinc Sticky I see today you got 70 @+6 , I would tag Janet again and ask if you should reduce tonight
Hold the dose for at least a week:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
- Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
- Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
@JanetNJ
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Hi Janet should she reduce tonight ?
I agree with Sienne. Once a cat gets to 6+ units and is eating a low carb wet food or raw diet, we suggest that people get their cats tested for acromegaly or IAA (insulin auto antibodies). Think of the latter like an allergy to the injected insulin in simplest terms. My girl had both conditions. And there are cats with lower doses also with those conditions, it's just that once they get to 6 or over, it's very likely one or the other is present. Research has shown 20-25% of diabetic cats has acromegaly, which is caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary gland that sends out excess growth hormone, and causes the diabetes.
Having said all that, you are doing a marvelous job with Jax!