Help with looking over SS and Prozinc dosing advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like you're seeing a bounce right now, but he's coming down nicely. Actually looks like a few bounces this past week. Many times bounce-breaking cycles drop them lower (and often trigger another bounce....). Don't let it worry you, he'll even out over time as he's spends more time in lower numbers.
Thank you so much for your reply, I appreciate all the information and help. I'm still so new to all of this. I'm trying to do everything I can and am just hoping for him to be regulated soon. He's already up to 5U I'm hoping he doesn't need another increase.
 
Thank you so much for your reply, I appreciate all the information and help. I'm still so new to all of this. I'm trying to do everything I can and am just hoping for him to be regulated soon. He's already up to 5U I'm hoping he doesn't need another increase.
I'm up to 12U as of this morning :confused:

Have you picked a dosing method yet?
 
I'm up to 12U as of this morning :confused:

Have you picked a dosing method yet?
oh wow 12U. Awww your kitty is a cutie he looks so tiny like my Jax. I'm not sure about the dosing method. I've been taking all the advice on increasing from the lovely ladies on this forum and going by the prozinc dosing guide.
 
oh wow 12U. Awww your kitty is a cutie he looks so tiny like my Jax. I'm not sure about the dosing method. I've been taking all the advice on increasing from the lovely ladies on this forum and going by the prozinc dosing guide.
He's actually a bit of a big boy! Picture makes him look teeny lol

There's two dosing methods for ProZinc that are in the sticky. There's SLGS where you do a curve once a week and potentially increase based on that, and do reductions any time BG goes under 90. The Modified ProZinc Method (MPM) allows you to be a bit more aggressive and increase more quickly, but requires closer monitoring.
 
Oh yes ok I guess I'm a mix of both at the moment. I won't increase unless I know I'll be home for a few days to monitor and test throughout the day. I usually will wait about a week before an increase if I see no difference in numbers or I get an Ok from someone on here that I've been chatting with.
 
First time in the blues for dear sweet Jax!!!!!! Exciting to see that. Next is to try for some greens, but you likely have a ways to go yet before reaching that milestone.

Keep up the good work.

We’d love to see a few later pm tests.To make sure he’s not dropping lower in the evening.
 
I haven't been on here in a while. Jax was at a standstill and then he was bouncing a bit but the last few weeks he has been mainly in the yellows and blues for the first time. Tonight for PMPS he was 97 which was a total shock to me. I quickly read through the Prozinc dosing guide and it said to skip the shot if he was that low. There were other options but I went with that. I was in a bit of a panic not knowing what to do. I'm hoping I didn't make the wrong choice.
@JanetNJ , @Deb & Wink
 
I haven't been on here in a while. Jax was at a standstill and then he was bouncing a bit but the last few weeks he has been mainly in the yellows and blues for the first time. Tonight for PMPS he was 97 which was a total shock to me. I quickly read through the Prozinc dosing guide and it said to skip the shot if he was that low. There were other options but I went with that. I was in a bit of a panic not knowing what to do. I'm hoping I didn't make the wrong choice.
@JanetNJ , @Deb & Wink
You can also stall for an hour or so and see if it’s going up
 
I haven't been on here in a while. Jax was at a standstill and then he was bouncing a bit but the last few weeks he has been mainly in the yellows and blues for the first time. Tonight for PMPS he was 97 which was a total shock to me. I quickly read through the Prozinc dosing guide and it said to skip the shot if he was that low. There were other options but I went with that. I was in a bit of a panic not knowing what to do. I'm hoping I didn't make the wrong choice.
@JanetNJ , @Deb & Wink
Looks like it’s been an hour. Why not test now and see what it is. If it’s gone up you can shoot at least a partial dose.
 
You can also stall for an hour or so and see if it’s going up
If this happens again I will stall. It’s been 2 hours. 5:30 is his dinner and shot. I was just so shocked seeing that number for the first time and for his insulin time.
 
Looks like it’s been an hour. Why not test now and see what it is. If it’s gone up you can shoot at least a partial dose.
If and when this happens again if he is below 150 is it best to give a partial or skip? And how much would be a partial?
 
Yes he was high this morning. 402. I figured that as well. Ok thank you for your help. I appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top