Rupert and Angie
Member Since 2019
Hi everyone,
Firstly, I've been lurking here for a few weeks since Rupert was diagnosed on December 11 but this is my first post so please bear with me. I need help with Lantus dosing so hope I'm in the right place. But first back story...
Rupert is my 12-ish year old (I got him as a rescue so not sure exactly his age) baby. He's been in great health since I got him 6 years ago but I took him into the vet after he had been peeing outside the litter box a couple of times and drinking a lot more water. He also has some weakness in his back legs (trouble jumping) which I'm guessing is mild neuropathy (the vet didn't seem concerned about it but I, of course, feel terrible).
Rupert had high numbers at diagnosis (459, or 25.5 for me since I'm Canadian) which the vet suggested we try lowering with a diet change first. So, he went on Purina DM for a week (I know this isn't the greatest food from all the info here, but wanted to stick with it at first since it's what the vet suggested). He had always been getting wet food in the morning and evening (Friskies pates) but was also allowed to free-feed on dry food. So, I removed dry food entirely for him and his sister (his sister still gets Friskies).
He was still high when I took him in a week later so he was prescribed 1 unit of Lantus. He weighs about 12 lbs (5.4 kg). I gave him his first 1 unit dose the evening of December 18 but think I might have gave a fur shot. I didn't test before his morning shot on December 19 (my vet only said I should test once a day, which I now know is too little) and gave him the next dose the morning of December 19. By that evening, his PMPS was 142. My vet wanted me to skip his shot if he was under 180 so I called her to confirm. She thought he might be on too high a dose so said I should skip that shot and then start him on 0.5 units the next morning as long as his BG wasn't under 180.
His BG was 372.6 the next morning and I gave him his half unit. So he's been on a half unit dose since December 20. I've updated my spreadsheet (hopefully I've done correctly) and his numbers are all pretty high. I was away for 4 days over Christmas (which I felt awful about but have parents in poor health as well) and my friend gave him his Lantus but didn't do BG testing.
I did his first full curve on December 29 and his lowest point was 309. Since it's the holidays my vet is in and out of the office so I couldn't get her opinion about raising his dose.
So, last night (December 31) after a PMPS of 356 I gave him a 1 unit dose instead of 0.5. This morning, his AMPS number was 185 and I was worried since it was close to 180 so didn't give him anything this morning. I'll test again tonight and am not sure if I should continue with 1 unit (I know 180 isn't too low but was worried about how low he could have gone overnight if he was at 185 before his scheduled dose).
Anyway, looooong story short - does it make sense to increase his dose to 1 unit? Should I be riding out 0.5 units even though it's been 12 days and doesn't seem to be lowering his numbers?
Thank you in advance for any advice. I'm completely overwhelmed with all this and feeling like I'm not doing enough to help Rupert. It's kind of breaking my heart.
Firstly, I've been lurking here for a few weeks since Rupert was diagnosed on December 11 but this is my first post so please bear with me. I need help with Lantus dosing so hope I'm in the right place. But first back story...
Rupert is my 12-ish year old (I got him as a rescue so not sure exactly his age) baby. He's been in great health since I got him 6 years ago but I took him into the vet after he had been peeing outside the litter box a couple of times and drinking a lot more water. He also has some weakness in his back legs (trouble jumping) which I'm guessing is mild neuropathy (the vet didn't seem concerned about it but I, of course, feel terrible).
Rupert had high numbers at diagnosis (459, or 25.5 for me since I'm Canadian) which the vet suggested we try lowering with a diet change first. So, he went on Purina DM for a week (I know this isn't the greatest food from all the info here, but wanted to stick with it at first since it's what the vet suggested). He had always been getting wet food in the morning and evening (Friskies pates) but was also allowed to free-feed on dry food. So, I removed dry food entirely for him and his sister (his sister still gets Friskies).
He was still high when I took him in a week later so he was prescribed 1 unit of Lantus. He weighs about 12 lbs (5.4 kg). I gave him his first 1 unit dose the evening of December 18 but think I might have gave a fur shot. I didn't test before his morning shot on December 19 (my vet only said I should test once a day, which I now know is too little) and gave him the next dose the morning of December 19. By that evening, his PMPS was 142. My vet wanted me to skip his shot if he was under 180 so I called her to confirm. She thought he might be on too high a dose so said I should skip that shot and then start him on 0.5 units the next morning as long as his BG wasn't under 180.
His BG was 372.6 the next morning and I gave him his half unit. So he's been on a half unit dose since December 20. I've updated my spreadsheet (hopefully I've done correctly) and his numbers are all pretty high. I was away for 4 days over Christmas (which I felt awful about but have parents in poor health as well) and my friend gave him his Lantus but didn't do BG testing.
I did his first full curve on December 29 and his lowest point was 309. Since it's the holidays my vet is in and out of the office so I couldn't get her opinion about raising his dose.
So, last night (December 31) after a PMPS of 356 I gave him a 1 unit dose instead of 0.5. This morning, his AMPS number was 185 and I was worried since it was close to 180 so didn't give him anything this morning. I'll test again tonight and am not sure if I should continue with 1 unit (I know 180 isn't too low but was worried about how low he could have gone overnight if he was at 185 before his scheduled dose).
Anyway, looooong story short - does it make sense to increase his dose to 1 unit? Should I be riding out 0.5 units even though it's been 12 days and doesn't seem to be lowering his numbers?
Thank you in advance for any advice. I'm completely overwhelmed with all this and feeling like I'm not doing enough to help Rupert. It's kind of breaking my heart.
