Ginger&Bailey
Member Since 2010
Hello All,
I am fairly new to the diabetic kitty world - I had the great pleasure of talking with Dr. Lisa Pierson who gave me some invaluable advice and direction on treating my kitty Bailey. Turns out my vet was giving him too high of a dosage on insulin! He is on Lantus, twice a day.
Dr. Pierson helped with his dosage and numbers, etc. If his BG is above 200, give him 1 unit. If his BG is between 150 and 200, give him 1/2 unit. If his BG is under 150, do not give him a shot.
I am on the schedule now of checking his BG and giving his two shots at 6:30am and 6:30pm. My question is - if his BG is under 150 and I do not give him his shot, do I not give him his next shot until his next scheduled time? I am asking because his BG will go up after I feed him, etc., and if I don't give him his shot because it's under 150, but continues to climb throughout the day, do I just wait to give him his unit until his next scheduled time? Or do I give him a unit if his BG gets higher throughout the day? Obviously it would completely throw the schedule off, etc., if I am constantly changing his shot time according to what his BG does after I skip a shot, etc.
Does this make ANY sense? Sorry if not...I just want to make sure I am doing the right thing. I know I am not to give a shot if his BG is under 150 - but what if it is over 150 an hour later? Do I give it to him then? Or do I wait until his next "scheduled" shot so I can keep it on consistent times? I live alone and work, so trying to do this is challenging if I am not there all day, etc.
I am fairly new to the diabetic kitty world - I had the great pleasure of talking with Dr. Lisa Pierson who gave me some invaluable advice and direction on treating my kitty Bailey. Turns out my vet was giving him too high of a dosage on insulin! He is on Lantus, twice a day.
Dr. Pierson helped with his dosage and numbers, etc. If his BG is above 200, give him 1 unit. If his BG is between 150 and 200, give him 1/2 unit. If his BG is under 150, do not give him a shot.
I am on the schedule now of checking his BG and giving his two shots at 6:30am and 6:30pm. My question is - if his BG is under 150 and I do not give him his shot, do I not give him his next shot until his next scheduled time? I am asking because his BG will go up after I feed him, etc., and if I don't give him his shot because it's under 150, but continues to climb throughout the day, do I just wait to give him his unit until his next scheduled time? Or do I give him a unit if his BG gets higher throughout the day? Obviously it would completely throw the schedule off, etc., if I am constantly changing his shot time according to what his BG does after I skip a shot, etc.
Does this make ANY sense? Sorry if not...I just want to make sure I am doing the right thing. I know I am not to give a shot if his BG is under 150 - but what if it is over 150 an hour later? Do I give it to him then? Or do I wait until his next "scheduled" shot so I can keep it on consistent times? I live alone and work, so trying to do this is challenging if I am not there all day, etc.