jayrosen1576
Member Since 2014
Hi all,
This is my first post on this forum but I've been doing a ton of research and the info I've gathered from this forum has been great. So Humphrey was diagnosed in July of 2014 after I noticed him drinking excessively and urinating a lot one day. Thought he had UTI but his BG was in the mid 400's. I switched him to 100% wet food and his bg went down to the mid 300's and my vet suggested we try ProZinc. I started him on 1U and over the course of about 45 days, his nadir #'s were never below 220 even having him on 4U twice per day. After some extensive research of my own, I discovered the tight regulation method suggested by Dr Hodgkins (http://yourdiabeticcat.com/protocol.html).
I have Humphrey on TID using Dr Hodgkins' method and I am seeing some much better numbers but they still seem all over the place. Never in the green but I am suspecting panicky liver. His drinking and urination levels have been normal for about a month now. Any suggestions / advice?
- Jason
This is my first post on this forum but I've been doing a ton of research and the info I've gathered from this forum has been great. So Humphrey was diagnosed in July of 2014 after I noticed him drinking excessively and urinating a lot one day. Thought he had UTI but his BG was in the mid 400's. I switched him to 100% wet food and his bg went down to the mid 300's and my vet suggested we try ProZinc. I started him on 1U and over the course of about 45 days, his nadir #'s were never below 220 even having him on 4U twice per day. After some extensive research of my own, I discovered the tight regulation method suggested by Dr Hodgkins (http://yourdiabeticcat.com/protocol.html).
I have Humphrey on TID using Dr Hodgkins' method and I am seeing some much better numbers but they still seem all over the place. Never in the green but I am suspecting panicky liver. His drinking and urination levels have been normal for about a month now. Any suggestions / advice?
- Jason