Help with high numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.
First, could you start a new post after this? We typically start one post a day with a link to the previous one. It's easier than reading through the whole post to see what's new.

Second, the +2 can be very valuable, so I am glad you can get those tests at night. That test can say a lot. If the +2 is a lot lower than the preshot number, it typically means a more active cycle, and quite possibly low numbers. If you see a cycle like that, then it's good to give her access to higher carb food at night to keep her safe. If it's higher or roughly the same, then her regular lower carb food can be left out. A lower +2 can also tell us if there might be lower numbers at night that we aren't catching, so can impact timing of increases.

There is a phenomenon we call New Dose Wonkiness or NDW, that happens after a dose increase. It can mean slightly higher numbers in the first few cycles opafter an increase, as the depot stabilizes. Be patient, and you should see numbers improve as the depot builds.

Steep drops in numbers or going to lower numbers than she is used to can cause what we call bounces (see new to the group Sticky Note for description), resulting in temporary higher numbers.
 
OK will start a new post after this. Ok re +2 and have read NDW.

Have read bounces too - No signs of her going to even the numbers she started with let alone lower numbers yet.

Hoping the new food next week might do something positive.

Meanwhile have increased dose today to 2.75 as very concerned because numbers are consistently higher now than at diagnosis.

Thanks
 
Since Luna is eating dry food, the dosing method you would follow is called Start Low Go Slow. It is described in one of the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. For people whose cat is on wet food, TR is an option, that allows larger and more frequent increases when kitty is in high numbers.
Would then TR be appropriate dosing method for a raw free range chicken, organic diet (Rad Cat)? This has been/is Nelli diet for several years.
Thanks in advance.
 
Right now choices are Royal Canin diabetic dry or whiskas +1 .

...but numbers are yet again higher than yesterday with increased dose this morning. Makes no sense to me at all.

No idea which is best option of existing food but pretty despondent with trying to do everything right/slowly yet condition getting worse from what it was when originally diagnosed -her very highest Preshot numbers were early 400s.

Might as well just give her both/what she wants until new dry food arrives next week

Hi! You can ask for Ziwi peaks in spain, if you want, you can find it on couple of online pet stores, but few. My boy wont eat it tho, we are trying to fool him a bit but it doesnt really work, its not that palatable. I can not advice you on other food, because in my searches I have to take into account his IBD issue so the specifications of the food would be different and I cant seem to find any, anyway. What I did find is Orijen Regional, but it is dry and has 19% DM carbs. We used to give him Purina Diabetic management dry that has 17% carbs but not fit for his IBD.
If she eats wet, there are a lot of options, Im sure, on Zooplus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top