Help with dosing & Vomiting

Barbara

Member Since 2011
I updated her SS with most of the info & as you can see her numbers have been increasing all week. I can’t test weekdays & I was trying to give her ear a break since I could tell she was staying higher. I went back to .50 today due to high AMPS. She took her last dose of clindamycin this morning. All her other labs were fine. Could the vomiting be due to high BG? She eats 2 cans FF Turkey pate a day but still begs for food, especially starting at 4 am!!! She’s driving me nuts. She’s still drinking more water than the other cats. Any advice?

Her BG really shot up at PMPS. She vomited brown liquid again right before PMPS. Did a ketone test (that was awful..got a Nova Max & it was difficult so I wasted 4 of those expensive strips!) & got 0.4 I posted on health was was told as long as she was under 2 it was ok. I’m so confused.....

Update Sunday PM not sure what to think about her curve today. I’m going to stay with the .50 for now. Can someone take a look at her SS & tell me what you think? Also any info on the vomiting that has now stopped. Why is she still screaming for food? Help!
 
Last edited:
Hi Barbara! I am not an expert by any means, but my girl Buddy has been on ProZinc since her diagnosis in February, so I thought I would try and help! Personally I would stay with the .50 units for now. It seems to be bringing her down to good numbers, which is nice to see! We adjust our dosage based on the Nadir as per the dosing protocol (in other words, adjustments should be made based on how low the numbers drop at mid cycle, rather than the preshot numbers) and based on the nadir, .50 seems like the right dose for now. To me, your curve looks very good, and I would be very happy to see numbers in the blue at mid cycle, to me this means it is working and the numbers are starting to head in the right direction

Hunger and thirst will likely go down as her numbers come down and she becomes more regulated. When numbers are on the higher side, it can be normal to be quite hungry and thirsty. Hopefully this should improve with time.

In terms of the vomiting, it could be a number of things. It could be as a result of high or low BG, so if possible, it would be a good idea to do a test when she vomits. My cat is sensitive to certain types of the fancy feast - we figured out that she would get sick on the days that she had chicken, so we took her off it - so it might be a good idea to track the flavour of food fed, to see if there is any connection.
 
Hi Barbara! I am not an expert by any means, but my girl Buddy has been on ProZinc since her diagnosis in February, so I thought I would try and help! Personally I would stay with the .50 units for now. It seems to be bringing her down to good numbers, which is nice to see! We adjust our dosage based on the Nadir as per the dosing protocol (in other words, adjustments should be made based on how low the numbers drop at mid cycle, rather than the preshot numbers) and based on the nadir, .50 seems like the right dose for now. To me, your curve looks very good, and I would be very happy to see numbers in the blue at mid cycle, to me this means it is working and the numbers are starting to head in the right direction

Hunger and thirst will likely go down as her numbers come down and she becomes more regulated. When numbers are on the higher side, it can be normal to be quite hungry and thirsty. Hopefully this should improve with time.

In terms of the vomiting, it could be a number of things. It could be as a result of high or low BG, so if possible, it would be a good idea to do a test when she vomits. My cat is sensitive to certain types of the fancy feast - we figured out that she would get sick on the days that she had chicken, so we took her off it - so it might be a good idea to track the flavour of food fed, to see if there is any connection.
Thanks! I’m really thinking it’s due to the high BG. She has not vomited since last night so I’m hopeful. I just wish I could get her out of those high PS’s I added it to her SS but don’t think I put it here....she’s so determined get more food if one of the other cats vomits she runs to eat it before I can get there! So gross! I wouldn’t doubt that’s happening more than I really know. I have one that’s allergic to chicken & has IBD so it’s not that unusual for him to vomit.
 
Back
Top