Help with dosing!!1/18 Tess new in LL AMPS189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
This is the lowest AMPS I've ever gotten and we're supposed to start Lantus this am. Should I feed? and test again in 20 min?
 
Re: 1/18 Tess new in LL AMPS189

We're starting at 1u. Yes, we'll be home except if we need to go to vet. She might have a UTI.
 
Re: 1/18 Tess new in LL AMPS189

ok, post your next test number and if u can EDIT your first post here and add to your subject line HELP WITH DOSING so more eyes are on it, ok?
 
Re:Help w/ dosing 1/18 Tess new in LL AMPS189

Just tested at 298 and fed. Her numbers were all over the place yesterday and I had to start a new vial of strips.
 
Re: 1/18 Tess new in LL AMPS189

hi again,

sorry I meant EDIT your first post in THIS thread, no need to start a new thread....one thread/condo for each kitty per day, can u EDIT your subject title in THIS thread please to get eyes on you.
 
I need to be able to have Tess on a 6:00am schedule so I will give her the Vetsulin now and Start her this evening or tomorrow morning. I know a tight schedule is important with Lantus.
 
Good morning Ann!

It sounds like Tess wanted to surprise you this morning! Just like a cat.

For future reference, if you need to stall a shot, and this does happen, do not feed. Re-test in 15 - 30 min. If numbers are rising, you are likely good to shoot. However, in some cases, you have to repeat the stall and re-test process. You don't want the test numbers to be influenced by a food spike.

It sounds like you need to shoot at 6:00. Does this give you time to get a test in before you leave the house? If not, you may want to consider a different shot time if this is at all feasible for your schedule.

If your second test was an AMPS of 298 (I couldn't tell if this was a typo since this # isn't on your SS but is in your post), it was likely just find to start Lantus if this was comfortable for you. Remember, it is going to take several days for Tess to build her shed. I completely understand your wanting to be home when starting the dose, though. For having been at this for only 10 days, you are doing an incredible job with home testing!
 
I didn't feed after the 189, but when the next test was 298 I did feed her. sorry I didn't change the spreadsheet. In a case like this one do you change the AMPS and make a note of it on the side? I wasn't sure how that worked.

Yes, if I shoot at 6:00am I can do a +1 test before I leave. That has to be 7:30 at the latest. It's only one day a week, but that sort of decides everything. Believe me, I would not be getting up at 5:30 if I didn't have to. Not a morning person! ~O)
 
I can completely relate - I'm not a morning person either.

You can mark something in the comments that you shot late or indicate in the AMPS or PMPS box. Your PM shot also needs to be 12 hrs from the last shot.

With the jump up in numbers, you would have been find to feed and shoot this morning. You did great! The 298 would be your AMPS. The 189 would have been your PM +12 (or whatever time it was). Does that help to make it clearer?
 
Hi Ann! And, welcome to your first day in LL...

Looks like you had an exciting morning!
It is much busier here in LL than Vetsulin land :mrgreen: , but we will be watching for your posts..

Are you starting Lantus this evening.. If so.. just post your PMPS and someone will be here to help you..
 
This was indeed an eventful day. The storm they've been talking about for a week blew in from the Pacific and the power was out most of the day. thankfully it came back on a little after 5pm. I wasn't looking forward to drawing a dose of insulin by candlelight. The cable / internet just came back on.

Power was out at the vet too although they had a generator for limited power. Unfortunately, she was so scared when they took her back to get the sample, she peed all over the vet! ohmygod_smile None left for sample, so back tomorrow.

I want to start the Lantus tomorrow as I'll be awake to keep and eye on her4 during the whole cycle.

What do you recommend for testing? How many and when? Also feeding schedule. I thought I read here (somewhere) that cats should not eat during the cycle?

Thanks for all the support.
 
Ann & Tess said:
I want to start the Lantus tomorrow as I'll be awake to keep and eye on her4 during the whole cycle.
What do you recommend for testing? How many and when? Also feeding schedule. I thought I read here (somewhere) that cats should not eat during the cycle?
Thanks for all the support.

Hi Ann, glad u made it thru the storm!
Couple of questions. if you're starting today (01/19/10) this morning, if you can grab a +11 and open a new thread/condo for the day,
post your number, and we'll go from there.

As for testing, you will be home to monitor for the day yes?
If you click on this link viewtopic.php?f=9&t=157
scroll down and you will see a list called "how to do a curve"...like this:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - when the insulin is strongest or works the hardest

How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number. (AMPS/PMPS)
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

This doesn't mean you need to test every hour of the cycle, but the key hours are usually +3, +6, +9, +11 plus your preshot tests.
Depending on how the numbers go thru the cycle, you may want to squeeze in a couple extra tests in there too.

When u have to be away, we always suggest an "out the door" spot check, plus when you get home a "in the door" spot check, then there's the "before bedtime" spot check.
You'll want to collect as much data as possible around your daily schedule.
You'll also want to forget all about how vetsulin worked for Tess, cuz you are starting fresh.
Also, most kitties tend to hit lower numbers in the evening, so that before bedtime check is really important.

As for feeding, I believe feed as much as Tess will want, have food on board after preshot numbers (breakfast/dinner) however, you do not want to feed after the +10 mark in both AM/PM cycles.... or you will see a food spike in ur preshot number. A little treat is fine.

It's also suggested to feed smaller meal portions as well thru out the day. If u have a timed feeder while you're away, that would be good.

Others will be along to help out thru the day, again, when you get your +11 number (one hour BEFORE you want to shoot) begin a new thread. We also ask that you link the previous day's thread to your first post. Please read the information stickies again on posting, there is one floating around here that gets bumped up often "cleaning up LL" this one gives you info on posting and helping to keep the forum tidy.

Remember - if you have an urgent question, you can EDIT your first subject line of ur first post example: "01/19 Tess NEED DOSE HELP!" like we did yesterday....you'll want to add a reply to the last post so the thread gets the bump to the top.

When u post a reply or update in your daily thread or when u get a reply ur thread/condo gets "bumped" to the top, this is all in the "New to the group" stickie up top.

Good luck today and again, welcome to Lantus Land!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top