Help with dose for newly diagnosed cat | Page 2 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Help with dose for newly diagnosed cat

think it looks like his nadirs are around +7/+8 on daytime?
It does look like they may be a little later (nadirs) so.. good for Bub. He gets to eat longer.

I understand about the closed doors. With my underweight cats who need to be fed more, I frequently have to either feed one of them in a separate room so the others won’t steal their food, or I have to put the food thieves away in another room.
 
It does look like they may be a little later (nadirs) so.. good for Bub. He gets to eat longer.

I understand about the closed doors. With my underweight cats who need to be fed more, I frequently have to either feed one of them in a separate room so the others won’t steal their food, or I have to put the food thieves away in another room.
Yes to having little food stealing gremlins!

His PMPS was so close tonight. 11.5 a bit scary for me as it's the lowest I've shot. Going to stay up late and set alarms to keep a close eye on him overnight. Removing food a few hours earlier seems to have made a massive difference, he was really stropping by dinner time though.
 
And it came today (the blue!). I was just checking the spreadsheets of cats I haven’t heard from in a while :cat: and what do I see but a blue on Bub’s spreadsheet. I laughed because that was the last thing I said on September 30. I hope you two are both doing well.
 
Yes I was very happy 🥰 we're getting there, thanks for checking in. Bubs doing well I think we've worked out one of his new low carb foods was spiking his BG. But there's a couple others that everyone seems to like so food seems mostly sorted which felt like a daunting part to begin with.
 
Sometimes different food ingredients will raise BG in some cats — either certain proteins or particular ingredients— even if the overall profile is low carb.

If his numbers stay similar and his nadirs are higher blues, you can go to 2 units on 15 October.
 
Sorry just saw your messages, he's been off the last few days I was thinking I had triggered his pancreatitis with a too high fat food again- but he's done the most enormous poo this morning so I'm hoping that was it. I was doing a curve yesterday for the vet and his numbers were higher than I was expecting maybe caused by his not feeling well/constipated? Seems brighter today anyway.

Yes I'm using the food list shared here for, UK members as a guide, and the food that I think was causing a spike has a warning on there. As while it is overall low carb it does have 'various sugars'.

I've made a spreadsheet myself now that does the maths just from the product data, so I can easily input in the shop on my phone, I'm going to make a new post and share it. Should make my life easier and may help others who are new and struggling

Spreadsheet for calculating food values
 
Constipation can cause higher BG numbers.

It really looks like he needs that increase to 2 units.

When he is having a pancreatitis flare up, how does he act? Does he not want to eat? Can you tell that he is uncomfortable/in pain? Does he seem nauseated? What do you give him to help him?
 
Yes I think he needs to increase his dose.

So even when he had his initial bad pancreatitis he still ate, but less than normal. He also sat near food in the quesy kitty loaf position. He didn't throw up, he did have a major fever. He generally was weak and sad and was completely glued to me.

Since then he's had what I think are a few low level bouts of pancreatitis. Because he still eats and drinks I mostly just let him do what he wants and gave him doses of metacam for a few days. I've not given him metacam since his diabetes diagnosis because I'm not sure he can have it. I'm seeing the vet on friday so I can ask then.

How he was this last few days- subdued, still eating, stomach slightly potbellied, didn't see him sit in quesy kitty loaf position, felt warm not feverish (but this has been a symptom for months and heat intolerance was really what made me initially think he was ill)- so something probably has bunged him up and this wasn't pancreatitis in this case. Although he is still feeling fairly warm, again not to the point of fever.

I'm going to speak to the vet about his temperature again on friday. As the weather cools down and he is still having to seek out the cool kitchen floor it's becoming more and more odd. Whether he has chronic pancreatitis that's presenting oddly, an infection nestled somewhere causing mildly raised temperature, his diabetes is actually caused by agro and that's raising his temp ( seems to do that is some humans, haven't read it as a symptom in cats?), hyperthyroid- doesn't have any other symptoms or something else it just doesn't seem right.

I think I'm going to ask for a longer course of antibiotics for a start and then maybe blood tests after that. Also will ask about painkillers although now I'm monitoring his food so strictly I'm hoping there won't be any more pancreatitis
 
Yes Bubs doing ok, and I thought he was due a dose increase thanks for the confirmation.

I'm frustrated- vets was a bust. He doesn't want to regularly see nadirs below 10, so that just sets up a situation where I have to be very sparing with what I tell them/lie. Just makes it harder. No idea on why Bub is so heat intolerant just brushed past it.

Although having read around more it is a possible side affect of neuropathy. And when his bs has been mostly in range for a few days it does seem to be better- so maybe it's that, or just a food intolerance.

Anyway slowly slowly getting him into better numbers
 
He doesn't want to regularly see nadirs below 10, so that just sets up a situation where I have to be very sparing with what I tell them/lie
Many times it is better to just manage the diabetes on your own and not share too much information with the vets. Many members on this Board do that. Vets are afraid of owners letting their cats go into hypoglycemia, so they just tell you to keep them in higher blood glucose numbers to prevent that. I don’t think they have a clue about people who are actively tracking their cat’s BG at home and who are very familiar with all of their cat’s patterns (and who move slowly and carefully with dose increases.) I wonder how many cats are prevented from going into remission because of this? Or who are just prevented from achieving good BG regulation.

Does Bub currently have trouble walking or jumping due to diabetic neuropathy? Is he getting a methylcobalamin supplement for that (if he has neuropathy?)
 
I read through enough threads early on to know about issues with vets, with one member being banned from multiple vets! So I wasn't going to argue much, just agree and get out, but it's frustrating.

They are scientitsts or they should be, neither me or the cat are stressed by regular testing. But they only want me doing tests for curves maybe once a month- no other testing. Which means to them he has to sit at a much high bs to keep him safe from hypo's. It's fine, it's not going to change anything I'm doing with Bub but means I have to doublethink when I'm with them which is harder.

Yes his gait is off- both front and back leg ankle/wrists are sitting a bit low and he's a bit uneven and needing to rest a lot.
Something I brought up with the vet and you'll be unsuprised to hear was also brushed off. I've started him on the b12 advised here- the methyl? type
 
Back
Top