? Help with Charlie and vacation dose

charliesmom1

Member Since 2019
We leave for vacation tomorrow and it has been suggested I decrease his dose for the 5 days we are gone. So I'm thinking that means down to 1 unit and back to the 1.25 when we get home correct? Charlie's numbers have been all over the place, but today was AMPS 285 and now 128 at +3. He drops so quickly and those blues seem to indicate I should not increase to 1.5 but sure has had some high numbers too. Any help appreciated. Thanks
 
Yes, I would go to 1 unit while you are away. Provided he doesn’t earn a reduction today. Easier for petsitter to draw the dose, and leaving an old syringe with coloured liquid to 1 unit as a sample would be a good idea.

Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/now-charlie-is-reading-hi-for-amps.219244/

What is your feeding schedule? Just wondering if you could do a second meal around +2 or so, to slow down those fast drops. Fast drops cause bounces too.
 
Yes, I would go to 1 unit while you are away. Provided he doesn’t earn a reduction today. Easier for petsitter to draw the dose, and leaving an old syringe with coloured liquid to 1 unit as a sample would be a good idea. si fee

Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/now-charlie-is-reading-hi-for-amps.219244/

What is your feeding schedule? Just wondering if you could do a second meal around +2 or so, to slow down those fast drops. Fast drops cause bounces too.
He eats for his shot maybe a 1/4 -1/2 can of fancy feast. He is free fed and continues to eat both wet and dry all day. If I am home I can try to get him to eat more after his AM shot.

I agree the colored water syringe will help her and yes 1 unit would be much easier. I will see what his numbers are later today so make sure he doesn't go below 90.
 
Yes, I would go to 1 unit while you are away. Provided he doesn’t earn a reduction today. Easier for petsitter to draw the dose, and leaving an old syringe with coloured liquid to 1 unit as a sample would be a good idea.

Here is the link to your last post here, for continuity. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/now-charlie-is-reading-hi-for-amps.219244/

What is your feeding schedule? Just wondering if you could do a second meal around +2 or so, to slow down those fast drops. Fast drops cause bounces too.
Also what number do you think I should tell her not to shoot at? Thanks
 
Have a great vacation!

Are those numbers in the 120's??? He knows how to work the juice, those dives though are causing havoc....seriously Charlie....nice and easy.
 
Have a great vacation!

Are those numbers in the 120's??? He knows how to work the juice, those dives though are causing havoc....seriously Charlie....nice and easy.
Thank you Im looking forward to seeing my daughter! Yes it doesn't seem right that the past 2 days his nadir is at +4. Is this "normal"?
 
Thank you Im looking forward to seeing my daughter! Yes it doesn't seem right that the past 2 days his nadir is at +4. Is this "normal"?

It could be for Charlie. I also think he likes to bounce so if we could ever get that under control, he may just spread that nadir out further into the cycle.
 
It could be for Charlie. I also think he likes to bounce so if we could ever get that under control, he may just spread that nadir out further into the cycle.
Yes because for a good part of the day it seems he is not under the influence of insulin? Do you have an idea of a safe number I can tell the petsitter not to shoot at?
 
The SLG method, it’s not a published protocol like TR, says no shoot below 150 for newbies without much data yet. Eventually, with data, that number can be lowered to 90. Not that I would suggest that while you are gone. Will the petsitter be doing more that preshot tests?
 
The SLG method, it’s not a published protocol like TR, says no shoot below 150 for newbies without much data yet. Eventually, with data, that number can be lowered to 90. Not that I would suggest that while you are gone. Will the petsitter be doing more that preshot tests?
No she will come twice a day for preshot tests and then do insulin injection.
 
Back
Top